interview with Morktra

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes I have played in several bands, Incarceri 9 being the most notable.

How is it that you started playing music? I started singing in a band at 17 and picked up the guitar at that point

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I'm Frank Murphy. I'm 44 years old. I play everything.

Have you had other previous members? No

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes

Where are you from? South eastern United States

What year did the band form? I started writing songs for my solo project in 2010

What's your style of genre? Acoustic Dark alt rock

What inspires you? Life and death

How often and where do you rehearse? Most every day

How have you developed since you started with the music? I always making progress and learning new techniques and ways and subjects to write about.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Philosophy, space, history and fantasy.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes I've been talking to a local company and hope it all develops into me playing more and more profitable gigs.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? No I'm not but I'm not opposed to it.

What made you decide to make this music? I had no choice really. It just had to come out.

What are your songs about? Life, death, sorrow, existence, love

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Me

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Usually lyrics

Do you compose in a certain enviroment? No

Have you done any covers live? Yes

What language do you sing in? English

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 10 to 20 usually

What ages are most of your concert attendants? adult

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Mostly the same

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No

What was your first gig like? It was someones back yard

What was your latest gig? It was an art show

Have you had to cancel a gig? yes

Where have you played live this year? The Bohemian gallery in Bay St. Louis MS and The Julep Room in Ocean Springs MS

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Nowhere

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I have my first album for sale

Where can people buy your merchandise? https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tales-from-the-deathless-tree/id954696377

https://morktra.bandcamp.com/

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I'd rather them buy art but not much I can do about it

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Has put more emphasis on live shows to make money

What do you think of my work? You do a lot of good spreading the word for artist. I thank you.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? It will possibly expose my work to more people

Do you have any role models or idols? I have influences but no idols or role models. I thinks I'm mostly influenced by Nick Cave, Jerry Cantrell, and several others.

Why do you think that they exist? Don't know

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? You can be inspired by anyone

What have been your biggest obstacles? Time

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Do your thing

Do you have any new material? Yes I'm working on a new album

What are your web sites?

Patreon

https://www.patreon.com/morktra

iTunes

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tales-from-the-deathless-tree/id954696377

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Morktra/132514296806152?ref=bookmarks

Bandcamp

https://morktra.bandcamp.com/

Reverbnation

http://www.reverbnation.com/morktra

Wordpress blog

https://morktra.wordpress.com/

How can people reach you? the websites above

What are your plans for the future? to keep making music

Do you have something to add? Keep it real and you cannot go wrong

Kommentera här: