interview with Crypitus

Have any of you played in other bands? I haven't played in any bands seriously besides Crypitus
How is it that you started playing music? My older brothers friend had a sick ass bc rich warlock and I realized that I wanted to play guitar myself. I started when I was in 6th and haven't given up since. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Doug Friend - 21 - Guitar and Vocals
Zach Patch - 28 - percussion 
Peter Snee - 26 - guitar 
Have you had other previous members? When I started the project I had a drummer by the name of Logan Hayes, we were old time best friends but had a falling out in 2015, no hard feelings against him. In 2016 I revived the project with Pete, and then we found Zach as a drummer. Perfect trio if you ask me. We implemented a bassist named Hunter in the summer but unfortunately his heart wasn't in it. Missed practices missed shows missed recording, we felt it was better for the project to part ways. We do have some amazing bassists in the wings though!
Did you make music even when you were young? I have been making music since I started playing music
Where are you from? I grew up in a place called Satans Kingdom Vt. Seriously look it up, its real! And I did actually grow up there!
What year did the band form? We started May 2016 with our current line up
What's your style of genre? Its kind of a mix of metal sub genres, a blackened thrashy death metal sound with a progressive rock twist. We've even been called psychedelic thrash! 
What inspires you? My girlfriend pushes me to do what makes me happy
How often and where do you rehearse? We practice atleast twice weekly in Zach's basement 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Self booking is working well for what we are doing currently
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Im currently not looking for a label, and Im not sure if I like the idea of a third party taking over my music and royalties. 
What are your songs about? My songs range from the subject of isolation, political turmoil, the madness that can lay in a persons mind, and general dystopia
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Most of the songs we are working with right were written by me, kind of backlogged with old songs Ive wrote. 
What language do you sing in? We sing in English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? One time we played a show to pretty much one person. Hahaha early days. Thats how we met our friends in An Unction in Braille and we've have had an amazing time playing with them. The most we've ever played for is 50-60 people which is pretty consistent when we play away from home
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Mostly 20-60 year old. The older dudes tend to respect our old school sound!
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We have an arsenal of like 12-13 songs we play live but we have been playing alot of our demo songs lately to put our best foot forward "Tundra" "Breakdown" "Thunder"are usually crowd pleasers
Do you have a regular place you play live often? We recently lost the bar in Rutland where we used to have a "thrashing Thursday" pretty much ever month, we have relocated but are still unsure if it will be permanent. 
What was your first gig like? Our first gig was interesting, tiny bar in rutland tucked in a corner about the size of a minivan. Ive learned to love real stages though haha
What was your latest gig? Our latest gig was in Brattleboro Vermont at Metropolis, put on by promotorhead (those guys treat us right!) Sick thrash metal show, Crypitus, Epicenter, Grave Knight and Jeopardy! The crowd seemed way bigger in that little bar but, the energy was no joke 
Where have you played live this year? We played in Burlington Vt, Manchester NH twice, Agawam MA, Westfield MA, Chicopee MA, Rutland Vt, Brattleboro VT. Its been a fun year so far!
Where do you plan to gig the coming year? We have a couple shows line up in new turf for us, CT and ME. But I want to hit other states like  RI, NJ, or NY. Spread the name far and wild
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We started our merch early, all pooled in cash for stickers, then turned into Tshirts, bumper stickers, soon we will have a copy of our demo "exhibit 1: prelude to the dead world" as well as tshirts with the artwork on them as well!
Where can people buy your merchandise? People can buy our merch directly from us, find us at a show or message the page and we can work out the shipping!
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think online downloads are just fine, but theres still real people out there that would spend money for a physical copy!
What do you think of my work? Looks good! Cant wait to see more interviews!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? They say any publicity is good publicity, plus people often time don't stop and wonder what we are all about so hopefully the way people look at us may change. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I grew up on old school thrash metal, those dudes will alway be my inspiration 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Nothing happens till you make it happen!
How do you get psyched for a gig? The ride down is usually enough to get me psyched! But good music and good friends gets me stoked. 
Do you have any new material? So much it'll make your head spin!
What are your web sites?
How can people reach you? They can either reach us on Facebook or send me an email at [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? Progress! Play more, farther and better!

Kommentera här: