interview with SOULJACKER

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes. We all have lots of different experiences from different bands over the years, but now it's all about SOULJACKER! This is the one we've all been waiting for.
What made you play music? Boredom, I think? I was brought up in a sleepy village with very little to do of an evening. I'd mess around with a keyboard, drum machine and guitar making up songs for hours from my early teens.
What are your names? How old are you? We have Laz on drums, Rob on bass, Dan on guitar and me (Andy) singing and playing guitar. Dan and I are in our 30's. Rob and Laz are slightly older... 😉
How did you form? We formed in Wrexham, North Wales this May. Rob and Laz are old friends and local Welsh boys. Dan is from Manchester and I'm from Chester. We've known eachother for years and after lots of mixing and matching, we all got it together to achieve a real SOULJACKER sound!
What is your genre? If we had to give ourselves a genre, it would simply be 'Alternative Rock' it's the best description as I believe we have a varied and unique rock sound. We touch on indie, grunge, punk and psychedelia. Personally, I'd like to push even more boundaries in the future too.
What is your inspiration? Relationships, life, sex, drugs, everyday experiences and music.
Where do you write/rehearse? I write at home and we jam it out twice a week in our own rehearsal space up in the hills of North Wales. We call it SOULJACKER HQ.
Do you think your musical ability has developed over time? Absolutely! I think we all feel that we're at a pinnacle and playing the best music we've ever played before in a band. Laz is a phenomenal drummer, a serious contender for the best in Wales! Dan oozes excellence and fluency in his guitar work and Rob is solid as a rock on bass! Combined with my songs, it's something really special to us and we're loving it!
How do you write? When I write, it can start with anything. It can be a beat, a riff, chord sequence or a melody in my head. I just build from whatever that foundation is until I have a complete song. It's a bit like a craft, with no time limit. Some songs take 10 minutes to complete and some take 10 years!
Do you play any cover versions? We have performed 'Morning Glory' by Oasis live on a few occasions. It's a crowd pleasing filler that we do pretty well.
What's the smallest audience you have played to? We have played a gig in front 2 people before now. It happens. We still enjoyed playing anyway.
How was your first gig? Our first gig was very well received. And we appreciate it. It was a festival in Chester just a month or so after our first jam. For a first gig, I don't remember it being a nightmare at all. We got a big cheer at the end and plenty of positive feedback!
How was your last gig? The last gig was in Wrexham, supporting American band 'Bloody Knives'. It was a great gig with a great little crowd.
What other gigs have you done this year? This year has been pretty crazy! On top of the 2 gigs above, we've performed on 5 radio stations and at about 10 different festival around the North West/ North Wales. I think Wrexfest and Brymbo Rocks were our favourites.
What gigs do you have coming up? We have 3 more North Wales gigs this year and next year we will be promoting a single and planning to do lots of Festivals across the UK so keep an eye out!

Kommentera här: