interview with Maycown C. Reichembach

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, I played in several projects, but my main one was always my only career that was developed almost 20 years ago.
How is it that you started playing music? By the influence of my father. Then I had classes with a local teacher and after listening to Jimi Hendrix, my life was never the same again.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Right now in the band besides me, there's Mariano Cabral in drums and Nicolás Migliavacca in bass. They are young guys ... lol!
Have you had other previous members? On my recently released album, I invited Simon Phillips (Toto's drummer, Jeff Beck, The Who), Felipe Andreoli (Angra's bass player), Oscar Feldman (George Benson's saxophonist). But generally live we are a power trio, and it really works!
Did you make music even when you were young?
Yes, I wrote my first music when I was 11 years old, I remember that my schoolmates liked it ... but I started doing it really only some time later.
Where are you from? Argentina Brazil
What year did the band form? I started instrumental music with the first demo at 16 years old ... that is, 20 years ago.
What's your style of genre? Rock, jazz, funk, fusion, blues, experimental and world music.
What inspires you? The universe, All the truth there is there.
How often and where do you reherse? Once or twice a week, in the drummer's studio.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I always invested all my time and energy in my passion and unconditional love for music. I always had my goals clear, and I do not stop until I realize them.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I am a producer, arranger, orchestrator ... I do custom work. And I teach many guitar lessons, I really love doing this.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I think that in addition to playing well and having a product of the level, you have to have professional people who understand the business and help your "brand" grow, otherwise nothing will happen. When you understand the business of music, it is like turning on the light in a dark room. Everything will light up and you will keep walking and growing in search of what you want.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I'm on an independent label from Miami / US called New World Records and my music is distributed on all the digital platforms of the world.
What made you decide to make this music? Instrumental music is subjective, it means that what that music generates in me, it will be very different from what it is in general, because it acts according to how you interpret it. And that seems magical to me.
Do you compose in a certain invironment? Not really, the inspiration does not choose, it simply appears and I have to write it or record it, as simple as that.
Have you done any covers live? Yes, I like to replay songs by Jimi Hendrix and Mike Stern.
What language do you sing in? In the language of the angels.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Instrumental music has adepts of all ages. I've seen older people enjoy my music with the same intensity as young people, it's inspiring to see that.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? On the current "Way From Home" tour we do most of the songs on the album and we change the order, but usually they are the same songs. These songs really mature at each concert.
What was your first gig like? 22 years ago ... very funny indeed.
What was your latest gig? We are on the "Way From Home" tour and we play in Argentina before an audience full of people. Now we are about to play several dates in Japan.
Where have you played live this year? Argentina, Brazil and Japan.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We are preparing something very special for the countries that we have not been to yet. It will be very special!
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? A few years ago, mainly CDs and T-shirts.
Where can people buy your merchandise? On my website: www.reichembach.com
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think it's not right. Because the artist invests a lot of money to do a job well done and has to be paid in some way. Then the listener out of respect and admiration for the artist would have to support "buying" his music.
How do you think the music industry has changed because of this? Yes, and a very profound process of change follows ...
What do you think of my work? I have not heard it yet
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I think everything is valid, we should not underestimate anything or anyone.
Do you have any role models or idols? I've had yes, but not currently. I am in another stage of my life, more spiritual ...
Why do you think that they exist? The industry, business, lol!
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think it's easier to find inspiration in those who have already made history. In any aspect of life, the oldest are the wisest.
What have been your biggest obstacle? Finding myself and discovering that obstacles do not exist, only my mind creates it.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Prepare and follow your dreams, do your best and never let anyone tell you that you can not.
Do you have any new material? Yes, my new album "Way From Home" https://itunes.apple.com/mx/album/way-from-home/1332586855
What are your web sites? www.reichembach.com
How can people reach?
https://www.facebook.com/maycownreichembachofficial/
https://www.instagram.com/maycownreichembach/
What are your plans for the future? Continue traveling around the world to show my music and get to reach more people with my music.
Do you have something to add?
Yes. Watch my new video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSEuvkcl82o and subscribe to my channel: https://www.youtube.com/maycown

Kommentera här: