interview with Michael Medall

What´s the name of your band? I run by my birth name, Michael Medall. 

How was the band formed? We are constantly developing and growing into something much bigger than just an emcee and a DJ. I feel really blessed to have been surrounded by such inspiring and positive energy growing up in music. Sometimes I feel like we're not even fully formed to this day. I just want to keep developing, learning and connecting with likeminded musicians of all kinds and from all walks of life. 

Can you tell about your band? I consider our group as a movement of organic and real music that we truly feel in our hearts. We have our moments where we like to turn up and have a good time, but when it all comes down to it we want to extend our passions in the purest form possible. 

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? I'm the lead emcee and I'm from Madison, Wisconsin. My current DJ (DJ Pain 1) is also from Madison. My manager Shah isn't essentially a part of the music, but I consider him a part of our group without a doubt. He's originally from the south side of Chicago, but has now started a family here in Madison as well. My brother from another mother, AP, has been my hype man and best friend for years. It seems like he has become pretty involved in his adult life and relationship, which I'm so happy to see. I'm forever blessed by all he's done for this movement. Our group is continuing to grow, as is the family around it. We all feel very blessed to have aligned in this way. 

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Our ambitions starting out are very similar to our ambitions today. Make good music from the heart. Love infinitely. Breathe the now. 

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? As an artist I can be described as an organic modern day hippy on a mission to spread knowledge, love and peace to the people of our world. I'm an educated and passionate emcee who is excited by the power of knowledge and vocal expression. I do my best to combine a real life essence to every project I'm a part of, while showcasing my versatility as well. As a Midwest artist I really love to chop. I remember as a kid we would turn on early Twista records and our jaws would just drop. That was something I always wanted to do and now I incorporate a lot of speed into the music, while keeping it as meaningful and organic as possible. My greatest moments as an artist are when I'm truly myself! That's so important to me.

Where was your first gig? My first gig was in a community center in my hometown. I was 15 years old. I was rapping with AP at a rock concert. Everybody came for us. 

Where was the latest gig? My latest gig was in Chicago at Club E. They had a vibrating dance floor. That was awesome. 

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? I write all my lyrics, though I do have a group of producers and visionaries that contribute to creating the musical elements of our projects. Some important names to remember: DJ Pain 1, Decap, Jimi Kendrix, 4AR, and many more!

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Big Shah definitely has the best sense of humor. He's our manager, but feels more like that big brother who never left the strip club. Ever. His phone is also as big as a microwave. 

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? I feel like we are a combination of almost every element of music. Being a primarily hip-hop/soul group I feel like we hit pretty much every genre. I even did a country/hip-hop joint called "Free" that pretty much started this whole ride. 

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about?

I enjoy all genres of music so I knew I would naturally incorporate pieces and parts of everything that's right about each area of music. The songs are about life, love, stress, setbacks, and beyond. It's a story of growth!

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? We do a mixture of originals and remixes. Primarily originals, but it never hurts to remix something that's really vibrant and relevant. 

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? I have two free mixtapes available: Second Decade and The Next Step. I released my debut EP "Live And Direct" in October of this year. My debut album is set to release Spring 2014. It's my baby. 

Do you have any clips on YouTube? youtube.com/modern3ramusic // the arsenal grows every week!

How old are you?/What got you started in music? My mom and dad would sing to my brother and I, which was one of the few ways of calming us down as young children. I vividly remember hearing my dad sing songs by Ray Charles, Otis Redding, and many more soulful songwriters. As these soulful classics began to become a part of my consciousness, I began to become more and more intrigued by the sound of music. As I moved into my teenage years I began playing guitar and piano in alternative bands formed by my closest friends at the time. Time continued and I began to become more intrigued with graffiti writing, skateboarding, and the whole hip-hop/hippy culture. Now, at 21 years old, I can confidently say that hip-hop not only saved my life, but provided me a creative outlet to expand my own thought process on life itself. I'm very thankful to be able to make music!

Best/worst gig you've played? Best gig so far was definitely Summer Set 2012. I don't know what qualifies as worst. We've been pretty blessed thus far in that regard. 

What places will you be playing in in the immediate future? We will be touring nationwide this Spring. I really hope to get back over to Europe as well this year!

Which band is the best you've seen? The best group I've seen live so far would have to be Ray Charles and company. I will never forget that show. Rest in peace Ray. 

Is it always the same songs live? We always try to switch up our live show. You'll most likely experience something new every time. That's what we strive for. 

What are the plans for the rest of the year? This year is going to be a grind. We hit the road towards Austin, TX for SXSW in March and then hit the road for the majority of April. We will be playing shows around the USA for this duration of time. I will have my debut album released and will be constantly grinding in the studio to get more music to our dedicated and beautiful FAMBASE! I seriously love you all. 

How do you get psyched up for a gig? Getting psyched for a gig usually consists of a good hearty meal and a badass freestyle session in the studio before the show. I also like to say a prayer and meditate with my team before hitting the stage. 

What are your goals with your music? My goals are to inspire!

When did you decide to go all in for the music? I decided to go all in on music following my work with MF studios in Malmo, Sweden, which took place in 2011. I came back to play one show and that turned into 70 more and counting…

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? I find inspiration from classic music more oftentimes than with current stuff. It's more pure. Organic. It has heart. We need love right now and so many artists are just talking about the same shit over and over again. I want to end that cycle. 

What's the first step when making a new song? First step when making a new song. Brew up tea. Meditate. Clear. Begin.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It's cool to download music. I do it all the time, but I WILL ALWAYS purchase music from the artists I feel most connected to. I honestly try to buy the physical CD every time no matter what because I know first hand what goes into making that a reality. It's no walk in the park. 

What would be your dreams for the band? I want to see the whole world with my best friends. 

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen to pretty much every genre of music. There's something beautiful in every element of music. We just need to listen. 

What do you hold most dear? My family. I wouldn't be here without them. 

What would be your greatest fears for the future? My addictions. I've struggled with the abuse of alcohol and drugs throughout my life. I pray for my sobriety and clear state of mind every day. Life is not easy, but I am so grateful I've made it this far. 

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? While on stage my only fear/thought is "Mike, whatever you do, don't trip" haha

Have you been part of any other projects?

I've been a part of a few other projects, most notably: 

DJ Pain 1: Painkillerz 3

Sincere Life: Write Of Passage EP

Have you been in any other bands? I've played in multiple bands of multiple genres. Hip-Hop is the final outcome of those experiences. 

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I'm the idea man. 

How important are your fans? My fans are my family. 

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? I love when my supporters draw me pictures. Keep em' coming!

How often do you rehearse? I rehearse every day.

Where do you rehearse? I rehearse in the car, studio, house, basically wherever I am in that moment. 

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? "Live And Direct" and "Un-Done" // they can both be found on my EP, which is  available on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify and more! Just google Michael Medall Live And Direct EP. Love. 

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Do it for the love, but also know your worth. 

Do you have any webpages?

www.moderneramusic.com

www.facebook.com/michaelmedall

www.twitter.com/michaelmedall

www.instagram.com/michaelmedall

Describe your show, visually and musically Our show is different every time. Come out and see us!

How do you view the music industry of today? The industry is dying. Independents are rising. 

Do you have anything to add? I want to thank you for your interest in our movement and send all my love to our amazing family of fans from all over the world. I love you all. Let's keep rising and spreading this divine energy!

Kommentera här: