interview with Masterpiece

What´s the name of your band? Masterpiece.

How was the band formed? The band was formed in 1998 when me and my brother found the other people interested in doing it together with us.

Can you tell about your band? Well, Masterpiece is a heavy/thrash metal band who has been terrifying the south of Brazil since 1998. We have a couple of EPs released and on full lenght too (2012). We have found a great support in online radios worldwide and it's been really nice to see the people around the world coming and supporting us too.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? All of us are from different places here in the south of the country. In the current line up we hace my brother Denisson Silva doing the rhythm guitars and lead vocals, I play lead guitars and backing vocals, Pedro Bianchi on bass guitar and backing vocals and Thiago Chiarelli doing the drums and also backing vocals.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I think our ambition was the same of all the bands. Having fun, playin gigs and conquer the world hahaha.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? There ins't too much to explain, you can note in the first chords or riffs that we had work hard to bring our best to you guys. So just cranck the volume up, bang your head and have fun, that's all about!

Where was your first gig? As I remember it was in a friend's birhtday party.

Where was the latest gig? It was few months ago in a local venue.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? There's no a rule for that, but normally I writte these stuff, Denisson is also very close to me in this process and there are parts of music and lyrics wrote by him.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? For sure we are talking about Thiago. Luck of you that he's not answering these questions lol

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? Good and bad all the bands have, and it's something we do right to keep it only to us.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It's something that happened naturally, we didn't think too much like "Ooh we would like to sound like this or like that" we just make our music and it's totally natural for us. Noramlly we talk about real things, psychologic, politics, religion, humans conflict in general.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? We write our own stuff, but we have a little space for covers during our gigs.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Our first full lenght was released in 2012 via Digmetalworld. And you can hear this here http://music.digmetalworld.com/album/heirs-of-freedom

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yes we have. That was the first single of the "Heirs of Freedom"s album, you can enjoy it here http://youtu.be/mzZlm61xNLs

How old are you?/What got you started in music? Now I have 33 years old and started playing guitar with 10.

At what age did you start playing? 10.

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Hmmm I don't remember exactly when it was lol

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future?

For a while we are seeting new goals for the band, so we have any place booked for now.

Where have you played from then till now?

Lots of places, can't tell ya all of them haha

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? We havend done iny big tour yet, but it's one of our desires for a near future.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Small places 300 to 500 people I guess.

What are your goals with your music? We hope to keep doing good albuns and playing good gigs driving you guys crazy.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? Personally when I was 15 and i got Master of Puppets on my hands hahaha I thought "Woow! Is that shit I want for my life!"

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Good bands inpire me, doesn't matther if it's old or new.

What are your sources of inspiration? A good record, sometimes a good movie for lyrics you know. There's tons of sources, you just need to be ready to capture the idea.

What's the first step when making a new song? To take my guitar and press rec.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? That's a polemical question. We are livng in a new era, the things won't be back as usually was so we have to learn how to work with this now.

What would be your dreams for the band? The same of those when we started haha

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Lots of different things. Since I work as a music teacher here, I have to be aware of what happens in the music world in general

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Not been able to play my music anymore.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Nothing. It's like a book, any gig is a special chapter. When shit happens it's a part of the whole story.

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes, here in my place you have to work your ass off to keep doing this. I still have other projects here, I do music for living.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Teaching, producing, but it's also related with music.

What would you do if there was no music? I would be happy working as a cartoonist. I love Marvel and DC comics and for sure I will try to work with this.

How important are your fans? They are everything, the fuel that feeds our madness.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? It's the same thing to ask a father to choose what son he likes the most haha

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Metallica.

Do you have any webpages? Our official website is under construction again but we still working on facebook. You can find it here www.facebook.com/masterpeicefanpage

Describe your show, visually and musically  Energy! We like to spread energy and we feel great when this comes back.

How do you view the musicindurty of today? Shit hahaaha music is art, people doesn't buy too much art anymore they prefer produts.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Theirselves.

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? You should be at them because of that energy I told before. But as I also said we have anything booked for now. So keep in touch via FB fan page to be aware of our new steps.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Powerful

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? Well, my brother is in my band so you can imagine how it is hahahah but it's awesome to work with him, I can't imagine myself doing this without him.

Whats your Pre-show ritual? Ahmm I do some streches and play some pieces of my solos just to warm up a little.

Do you have anything to add? I just would like to thank you for oyu support and interest in our work. We have nice plans to the future and I hope you will hear a lot about us in a future. Be Masterpiece be metal.

Kommentera här: