interview with Morgh

What´s the name of your band? Morgh

How was the band formed? October 27th 2007

Can you tell about your band? Morgh was started as nothing more than a creative and very personal outlet we can call "Our own".

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?  As far as the current line up, I (V) am from Newtown Pennsylvania USA, and Kuechen is from Southampton Pennsylvania USA. When Morgh started it was by Atle Nygård (orginal vocalist 07-09) who is from Kristiansand Vest Agder Norway.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Like I said before it was meant to be a creative and personal outlet for things we simply couldn't express otherwise.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you?

Recently over the past 3-4 years, the direction of Morgh sound has changed quite "dramatically" I suppose, But from fans and such we have been compared to the 2000-06 era of Gorgoroth. We play black metal and like many things it is a art form. Sometimes artist paint with the same brush on the same brand of canvas, we never have and ever will try to be like another artist or follow someone elses sound. It is just how things seem to fall in place when being ourselves.

As for the earlier albums before 2010. Such as the 07 demo, 08 Under The Ice, or 2009's A Cold Trip. Things were a bit experimental. Atle and I were young and free to do as we please. No dog with a new bone KNOWS what it will do with it first.

The first two releases were barbaric as far as modern digital recording goes. We didnt try to sound like we did. We were both new to this whole recording process and the great technology coming about at the time. In 2009 after Atle had left Morgh 9later that year to form Þurs and go about a new style. I (V) went on with Morgh to release a very experimental Funeral Doom Album called A Cold Trip which was influenced by personal favorites of mine, NORTT and Funeral Mourning.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? Presently, Kuechen and I both write together. Kuechen isn't as involved as I am, being Morgh is my brainchild so to speak. But we are very much cooperative with one another. I do write lets say 80% of the music and lyrics, But, it does not matter because we together share many of the same thoughts and feelings with what our songs stand for, or mean to us personally.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Hah! We are characters very much of our own, no two the same!

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? I will be the first to punch the Pink Elephant in the room, We are Black Metal.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It didn't pick us, or me. It is just, what was right.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Morgh has never done a cover. In my other projects I have done a few covers. But Morgh is my Mona Lisa, I do not need Dahlis' melting clock hanging off her face!

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?

2007 Demo

2008 Under The Ice

2009 A Cold Trip

2010 Through Idol Eyes

2010 Morgh / Octoboer Flame split

2011 Impaling Sin (private, limited release)

2012 Ad Vincere

2013 Inherent Prevalence - Fallacy Disdained

2014 (in the works)

How old are you?/What got you started in music?

I started Morgh when I was 13, and Atle was 14...

age is but a number. I can not speak for atle, or kuechen. But I can assume we all fell into it the same way. We love music, especially heavy metal!

I myself grew up in a very musically, and artistically inclined family. Almost anyone in my very large family can pick up and play atleast one instrument. Rock'n'roll, blues and...metal were always the genres of choice. Living with my family in Croydon PA, I grew up with band LITERALLY playing in my backyard every summer, some noteworthy ones being, Swashbuckle, Hollow-point, Dead in the Face and too many more to name! So I guess being in such a environment as a child got be hooked!

What year was the band started? 2007

What are the plans for the rest of the year? This year, or early 2015 kuechen and I intend on releasing a new full length album that has been in the works many years. As well as a Compilation or Collection of the albums Impaling Sin, Ad Vincere and I.P.F.D. due to their limited releases. We never promoted the albums or had them on sale online for worldwide fans. So the Collection so to speak will be quite a treat.

What are your sources of inspiration? I can not speak for Kuechen, But, as for myself. My inspiration is drawn from every day life! Love, hate, friendships, hardship and more.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I myself posted torrents or "downloads" of all the morgh music. So that says it all right there! Put it this way, you can look at a painting online for free, because why spend money to? But, there is a difference between seeing it in person and online. In person you get to see the strokes and fine details and things you will never see on a computer screen. So to me, yes I encourage downloading because it at least gets recognized a bit easier and to a bigger audience but I also encourage the purchasing of physical releases. Nothing beats a physical cd, vinyl,  or tape if you are "KVLT" aha! It is a two way street.

What would be your dreams for the band?  None, reality is a bit more tangible the last time I checked. 

What do you hold most dear? Myself. I am the only thing I will take with me to the grave.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? I have no fears for the future, My fears are of there being no present. You can not live for the future. But who am I to tell others what they cant do.

What songs and what years were they released? The first real song under the Morgh banner was more or less a collaboration between Grimnir (Blodsgard,NOR) and I in 2006 titled "Et Ansikt i skyggen av demoner" which was much more his doing than my own. I was new to the recording and writing process so he took something I write and made it more than I could have ever done at the time! Now the song has been recycled though for future release. 

Have you been part of any other projects? Þurs, VAKSLEN, and Primordial Gore. Also performed some keyboard for October Flame on the split release.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I am a professional welder and metal fabricator. Other than music, I am very much into classic cars and hot rods.

What would you do if there was no music? No music is impossible. But if I myself was not involved in it. I would be doing things along the lines of acting, performing and  or art.

How important are your fans? I am my biggest fan. If they were important, then I would be doing nothing for myself which in turn would be quite pointless I would say. I do not consider fan important I suppose. But they are much appreciated and it is a pleasure to know they exist.

Do you have any webpages? http://www.facebook.com/morgtheband

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? If you live to please others then you are dying to not be yourself. 

Kommentera här: