interview with Bruno Chaza

What's the name of your band? For the moment my band is very personal, I want to say, it’s under my own name Bruno Chaza, and I am just recording a new album featuring John Patitucci, Michael Manring, Kai Eckhardt, Jason Miles, Edgar Meraz, and Laurence Cottle.
How was the band formed? When I was student, my teacher Alphone Masselier told me, “You must record an album around the music of Jean Sebastien Bach.”He unfortunately passed away this year. In his memory, and for the many years I owe to him, I am doing this album. 
Can you tell us about your band? First we record, purely with bass for the moment, duets and trios, except for two titles with arranger Jason Miles, from Miles Davis's Tutu album.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? So far, I’ve recorded duets with John Patitucci,Laurence Cottle, Edgar Meraz and Federico Malaman. And two duets too with Michael Manring, Kai Eckhardt and Jason Miles. Then I’ll work with French arranger Michel Eyan for the mix, and additional ambiance.
What were the ambitions of the band when you started? I record the duets with my Bass Signature Bruno Chaza Piccolo. It is one of my ambitions: to popularize this instrument. It’s a bass an octave higher.
Could you explain your music to someone who hasn't heard you? In this album, it’s especially Bass duets, and instrumental ambiance. If you love bass and harmony, it’s magical to hear the extreme modernness of a composer like Jean Sebastien Bach in this way. Of course, I am also a session musician, and I can play all styles of music too, but my recent project is this album: Moonlight.
Where was your first gig? In the south of France, I was very young, perhaps only 16, and very afraid too.
Where was the latest gig? In the south of France too, with The Subaquashow, a very good band. I am not afraid anymore. 
Have you made any other albums?/If yes what are they? A lot of albums, because I was record man/ session player in Paris for many years. Just this year I did an album with Brian Nova and Greg Williamsson from Seattle, an album for Michel Eyan from France, an album with David Luccio from Italy, and I also participated on French bass player Fred Schneider's album Voyage.
At what age did you start playing? I was 16 year's old at my first gig, but before that I was in the Conservatory of Music for my studies.
Which band is the best you've seen play? So many, really I think I can’t answer. The music is not a competition, you can like one music in the morning and an other one in the night. It’s vibration, and it changes every second.
Where do you usually play? Everywhere, on tour, with many people, like in a restaurants, with intimacy.
What are your goals with your music? To be free, to be better, understand myself, and see the world with children's eyes, and listen to notes, ever so beautiful.
What are your sources of inspiration? Life, nothing else: my thoughts, my feelings, love.
What would be your greatest fears for the future? The incomprehension between the human race. I am afraid because with this, we need tolerance.
What would you do if there was no music? Surely research, to help others.
How important are your fans? I need confidence for life, it’s my motor.
Do you have any webpages? Yes I have a website, you are welcome to visit: www.brunochaza.com
What advice would you like to give other bands? Have faith, and perseverance, no more.
What are the biggest obstacles for a band? The biggest obstacle is to lose the faith, and waste your time.
How would you describe your sound in one sentence I hope warm, hot.
Do you have anythingtoadd? Thanks for your implication, for your desire, for live with passion, and look at the others, this is music

Kommentera här: