Interview with Circus of Nero

What´s the name of your band? Circus of Nero

How was the band formed? A combination of always wanting to be a participant of my interests versus just the bystander and countless sleepless nights of needing to get things of my chest

Can you tell about your band? A simple journey through my psyche: indecisiveness, vulnerability, a musical learning curve, Joys, Sorrows and the like. 

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?

It's a solo project so to speak as I can be a bit of a control freak or to put it more nicely... I don't like to compromise (for this project at least)

As for the geography, I'm originally from Santa Barbara County minus a multi-year stopover in the southwest of Germany. I'm currently in the city of unadulterated lunacy that is Los Angeles. 

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? I usually say money and girls when asked just to see the reaction. To be honest though it was between taking over the world or absolutely nothing, It in a weird way kinda just happened.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? If you like IAMX or Placebo or stuff along those lines, You can probably tolerate my music

Where was your first gig? I suppose the first that really qualifies was simply at a house party, There was an abundance of caffeine and nerves involved. I can neither confirm nor deny if there were anti-anxiety medications involved.

Where was the latest gig? My Garage for 10 people that I'd never met before. (I guess the cat is out of the bag, sorry to all my dear friends that I've hid that from 'til now)

Who has the best since of humor in the band? That would have to be me by default.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?I haven't the slightest idea, it depends on the song I suppose. I just take the easy road and say Alternative without any adjectives attached.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? There is a wide range of styles. It really comes down to what I come up with on the spot. I've learned from experience to let songs become what they want to be instead of planning things too far in advance as I've been guilty of.

Usually very personal stuff hidden (not very well) behind some sort of metaphor.

Love, love lost, world views, delusions of grandeur, sex and perhaps pain and suffering though rather tongue in cheek.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Originals, I'm at about an 8-1 ratio.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? A couple EPs, The first "Aria in Anomaly" are the first 5 songs I did in chronological order. A variance of styles. The last was just thrown online for the hell of it. It is an Instrumental piano based thingy

How old are you?/What got you started in music? 25, Always fascinated by it

At what age did you start playing? 14 I'd say. As for seriously playing, I don't think I really ever have.

How old were you when you first stood on stage? 18 I think

What year was the band started? Somewhere in the late 00's officially I suppose

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? The First time I saw Peter Murphy which I believe was in '09 or It was IAMX which was 2 days ago (19/10/2014)

How big crowds do you usually play for? Average is really not that many, The largest was many thousands when I was forced to play keyboard once.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Play live and save up money to get my songs mixed and mastered properly

Where do you usually play? In my room, to my computer

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern?

Short answer: older

I can probably count how many bands I listen to that started post 2000, Though several of my biggest influences are from that time frame.

What's the first step when making a new song? Being in the right mood, followed by a simple drum track and setting the BPMs

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I give my music away all the time. I myself generally buy it.

What would be your dreams for the band? World domination or those moments when people truly enjoy and identify with my music. Either or.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? To make this not an essay I'll keep it to 15 or so

IAMX, Placebo (The last two albums don't exist), Sneaker Pimps (First album I can live without) True Sounds of Liberty (TSOL) Bauhaus/Peter Murphy, Depeche Mode, Joy Division/New Order/Monaco, Soft Cell, The Joykiller, Klaus Nomi

What do you hold most dear? Deep question... Those few people that mean the world to me.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Not downright exceeding my expectations which are already far too high.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Fucking up, getting booed

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Strangely enough, I'm a Judo/MMA instructor. It explains the chipped teeth and limping.

How important are your fans? The world to me, I love all 5 of you

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Buying my CD for 20 dollars. We argued, I said that was way too much. I still think I'm right.

How often do you rehearse? Now I'm in trouble.... very rarely, Every time I sit down and practice I'm recording. Unless I'm out in public and see an unattended piano.

Where do you rehearse? Right in front of my computer. 

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? "Seul Espoir" may be my favourite, It's a dancy number though the lyrics are saying something very different. I was in a very foul mood when I recorded it, surprisingly the 3 bottles of wine didn't remedy that.

Long story short: I got over a hurdle of self-consciousness through it by actually singing and showing people. Then there is the fact the subject matter (The cliché break up) is something I could not even talk about in depth in conversation, It lifted a weight so to speak.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? It should be for the sake of creation, the desire to express.

If you're in it for the money you better hope your grandmother dies and leaves you money when you're broke and 50.

Do you have any webpages?

Soundcloud.com/circuofnero

[email protected]

Reverbnation.com/circusofnero

as well as facebook and tumblr and all that jazz.

My personal facebook is: Facebook.com/Nathan.LaMontagne

Describe your show, visually and musically Theatrical, loud, intimidating, fun.

What advice would you like to give other bands? If you have any momentum, KEEP IT GOING! whether it's writing, recording or anything else, Do not stagnate. I've been victim to it and I've seen countless bands and artists fall prey to it to the point of them hating their lives.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Speaking for myself, It's promoting and finances. 

What is your favorite crappy instrument? My voice.

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band?I don't know, I fight with myself daily. hard to narrow down to one point

Whats your Pre-show ritual?  Beta-blockers? In all seriousness hide away and recluse, avoid throwing up from nerves, fight the urge to cry, drink a nice wine.

Do you have anything to add? Thank you for the interview and thank you to anyone that has enjoyed my music at any point. It helps me not feel so alone in this silly mortal coil.

Kommentarer:

1 moniki.blogg.se:

tack!!

Kommentera här: