interview with Insalubrious Form

What´s the name of your band? Insalubrious Form

How was the band formed? I needed a project to use certain riffs and ideas that I was unable to use in other projects of mine and thus I began work on Insalubrious Form.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? It’s currently a one man project so it’s just me. I’m based in London, UK. All instrumentation and compositions are done by me at this point.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? To create crushing music really, simple.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Filthy.

Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? Well this one is easy. Me, haha. But to expand on the lyrical process, I’m highly influence by the lyrics of bands such as early Annotations of an Autopsy and Ingested and if you read the lyrics you can see this.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? Regarding the genre on the demo I released I’d say Down-tempo Death-core pretty much describes the band at the moment but with my first single I’m trying really hard to steer away from that by merging what I’ve already done with elements of Slam.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? My songs are purely fantasy. There’s no moral behind the songs it’s all about cliché death metal lyrics. I’ve been in bands where I try to write complex meaningful lyrics before and well let’s put it this way, you can hear the cogs turning in that head of mine.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? All original material although I am really considering doing a cover.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? A 3 track demo (which you can download via my bandcamp site) and soon I’ll be releasing a single but I think it will be a long time before I put out an album with sufficient material.

Do you have any clips on YouTube? No but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t thought about making videos for YouTube.

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I’m 23 and I got in to music round about my mid to late teens. I’d play guitar with friends in school then when I left school I took up a music technology course.

At what age did you start playing? I think I was 14/15 when I started playing guitar but I didn’t start taking up vocals until I was 18.

What year was the band started? Pretty much at the beginning of this year but only really materialized October.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I hope to release a single, maybe work on some videos for promotional purposes (music videos, playthroughs, vlogs)

What are your goals with your music? Nothing other than just expressing myself really, if people really like it then that’s cool but if not well that’s cool too. I don’t make the music I do to impress anyone, I create the music I do because I enjoy doing it.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Neither. I find it varies because I spend my time listening to both new and older bands. Sometimes not even metal bands.

What are your sources of inspiration? Bands that I’ve newly discovered on bandcamp or YouTube to music that I already own on my iTunes.

What's the first step when making a new song? I’ll sit down and draft some ideas down by recording some riffs. Once I have a riff I like, I expand on that and the process starts.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I am 50/50 on this argument. I love downloading from sites (bandcamp/iTunes) because it’s easy, quick and I can back it up straight away but I do own a lot of physical release (CD/Vinyl/Cassette Tapes). In regards to illegal downloading though, fuck that, I used to be that guy and I hated that guy and I hate those who do it. I’d understand if you downloaded it liked it and then decided to go out and buy the album in some way or another. People who think that bands will last forever just because you listen to their music piss me off. I mean at least have the decency to go see that band play live, buy some merch, do your part. 

What would be your dreams for the band? Oh if I could get some big names to guest on my future releases that would make my day. And I’d also love to have others wanting to take part so I can take it to live and perform in a venue/s.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I am a huge Grindcore fan, I am a huge fan of Napalm Death and Wormrot. I also listen to Slam as well, Ingested being a favorite one of mine.

What do you hold most dear? My family, I’m a real soppy bastard like that ha.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Can’t think of any. I try to stay positive about my future. I can’t vouch for anyone else though…

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes, I have another one man project under the name Corporation which is a experimental grind project and I also have a project with a friend called Dick Fist, again it’s a grindcore project but where Corporation is a serious project Dick Fist (if you haven’t noticed already from the name alone) is very satirical.

Have you been in any other bands? I was once in a technical metal band called Tradjectory and after that I was in a band called The Last Days of Mankind. I left Tradjectory due to usual band drama and Last Days is currently on hiatus.

How important are your fans? I love fans, if you’re nice enough to check out my music then you’re aces in my book.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Well not for this project but when I was Last Days of Mankind, we’d just released the Preserve EP and it was a download or pay what you and someone had paid a full £10 for the release. I mean, he had to option to pay whatever he so desired but I guess he really liked what we put out and I am eternally grateful for that.

How often do you rehearse? Not as much as I should, when it gets to recording time it can get horrendous.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Evisceration Method and Infection (Instrumental) from the demo I’ve released. Although this new track I am working on is pretty rad.

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Napalm Death. I don’t even need to explain why.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? Passion, it’s always passion. If you love to do something, you do it even if it means having to go bankrupt doing it.

Do you have any webpages? You can find me on Facebook just look for Insalubrious Form or you can hit up my bandcamp which is insalubriousformuk.bandcamp.com

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Don’t worry too much about those who don’t support you but appreciate those who do because they are the ones who got you where you are now.

How do you view the music industry of today? It’s harsh, it can fluctuate between being a really prosperous career to being a treacherous bitch. At least that’s how I saw it when I was in a gigging band and it probably hasn’t really changed much.

What advice would you like to give other bands? Not really, if anything, other bands could probably give me better advice haha.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Writers block, that’s a real pain at least from what I have experienced.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence? Angry, nasty, filthy sounding disgrace of a project.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? I had this old 70’s guitar that was like a cross between a sg and a fender strat. I love it.

Kommentera här: