interview with Naked Truth

What ́s the name of your band? Naked Truth

How was the band formed? I used to play in bands back in England many years ago, after moving to the USA I decided to start a band again. I first met Denny, our drummer, and he and I got together with a couple of others and formed a band called "The Antiques". We played for a couple of years but I was not happy with the other members of the band so I disbanded The Antiques. After meeting Roger, our bass player, Denny and I decided it was time to start again. I had already decided on the name "Naked Truth" and we started rehearsing. I saw our other guitar player Royce, playing in a bar and asked him to join us. We had a gig about two weeks later in a great venue called Bull's Island Bar & Grill. The gig went great and the owner of the venue was really impressed with us, so "Naked Truth" hit the road.

Can you tell about your band? We play British and American classic rock ranging from The Beatles to AC/DC and more. Both Royce and I write songs individually, so we do include some original song.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?

Me: John Bostock, Guitar & Vocals. Originally from London, UK now living in Texas, USA

Royce Bowie, Guitar & Vocals. From Texas, USA

Roger Hensley, Bass & Vocals. From Texas, USA

Denny Norris, Drums, From Texas, USA

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? To play good music as well as we can

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Rock. With a combination of British and American styles

Where was your first gig? On Galveston Island

Where was the latest gig? In Texas City

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics?

John Bostock both music and lyrics

Royce Bowie both music and lyrics

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? I can't think of anything bad.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? We play mainly covers inter-dispersed with originals

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? We are going into the studio in the next couple of months to record an album

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Only a couple that were recorded by someone in the audience on there cell phone

At what age did you start playing? I think we all started in our early teens many, many years ago

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I don't know about the other guys, but I was 14 when I first climbed onto the stage. I think the others performed in their early teens too.

What year was the band started? Earlier this year (2014)

Bast/worst gig you've played?

Best gig I think was Bull's Island Bar & Grill.

Worst? Well, there hasn't been one yet, but the strangest was where we played at a nursing home and the youngest person there was in their 60s. Went really well with people getting out of their wheelchairs to dance. At one point I couldn't sing the song we were playing because I was laughing so much.

What places will you be playing in in the immediate future?

Stuttgarden Tavern

America's Ice House

Bull's Island Bar

Stuttgarden

All in three days

Witch band is the best you ́ve seen? The Beatles

Is it always the same songs live? No, we chop and change depending on the audience

How big crowds do you usually play for? Depends on the venue.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? To play as often as possible

How do you get psyched up for a gig? By just seeing the amount of people there

What are your goals with your music? Just to keep playing it

When did you decide to go all in for the music? It's in the blood I think

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Definitely older bands. There doesn't seem to be anything good recently

What are your sources of inspiration? Life!

What's the first step when making a new song? For me it is the title

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I don't think there is much anyone can do about downloading music. As technology advances there will be even less buying of albums

What would be your dreams for the band? To keep on rocking until we are all in an old peoples home - even then I think we will carry on

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen to everything from classical to reggae 

What do you hold most dear? I love my guitar collection (12 so far)

What would be your greatest fears for the future? I don't worry about the future, it hasn't happened yet

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Forgetting the songs, chords, licks, words

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes, I write songs for other people

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Nothing now. I was a Scientist. Have been a Police Officer. Served in the Royal Navy. I have done many things.

What would you do if there was no music? Shoot myself

How important are your fans? They are the most important thing to any musician. Without them you are nothing.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? I can't answer that. It would be too embarrassing Lol.

How often do you rehearse? When we want to learn a new

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment?

"I'm Free"

"Angel Face"

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Status Quo

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? The love of music

Do you have any webpages? Yes www.NakedTruth.Rocks

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Keep going, never give up

How do you view the music indurty of today? Just as hard and corrupt as it ever was

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Yourselves. The only obstacles are the ones you place there yourself

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? They can be great fun. They can also be quite restrictive

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Rock with a Beatle twang.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Our drummers crappy drumset that he wont part with - lol

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? We don't quarrel - yet!

Whats your Pre-show ritual? To get there early and relax before we play

Kommentera här: