interview with Ov Hollowness

What´s the name of your band? The name of the band is Ov Hollowness

How was the band formed? It simply began as some song ideas that seemed to fit well together, even though I like to play many styles, I put them together myself as this is a one man project, and made an album which is called Diminished.

Can you tell about your band? I just began to see what others were doing regarding one man projects. Putting a full band together seemed quite difficult so I learned about studio recording and began this work. It was more designed to just compose the music, or record the songs I had, and not so much go for the traditional ‘band’ situation. I have used some production help here and there, and some help from other musicians, but primarily have done the work on  my own.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? To create albums, to put the songs out there that I have written. It is easy to jam on guitar and play with ideas, it takes some more work to finally put out a product, a finished product for others to listen to or for myself to look back on.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? It is difficult, I think it followed similar pattern that of those that make what we call depressive black metal, but that doesn’t really suit the sound of this band. Atmospheric black metal maybe, or just aggressive metal.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? I write the songs and lyrics myself. I must say writing lyrics is something I never really valued in the past, or I should say I never really understood it, I almost thought of it all as a filler type of thing. Now, today, I enjoy what lyrics can do, poetry as well, even though I still struggle with getting ideas written down.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? I do of course, and the worst sense of humor also. Is humor allowed in black metal?

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? The bad thing is that I like to let the music speak for itself. I am not into image, I am a logical person, image and sensational character appeal is not my style, and it can work against the project. People in metal do not often take to the more thinking and logical sides.

As for the good, it is just that, the logic to songwriting and creating, structure that is well rounded, at least I like to think so. Feeling there for sure, but controlled as well……controlled chaos. Objectify the art.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? There is a simplicity to the music, I liked that it can be simple yet good. The music or the lyrics rather, are just what comes to mind at the time, earlier on, more darker observations, later I think it just evolved with my own personal growth and spiritual awareness.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Ov Hollowness has released 3 albums, Diminished, Drawn to Descend, and The World Ends. I have also made other albums under different names since they are not part of the Ov Hollowness sound.

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I am old. What really got me into music was the darker sounds and the riffs. Thrash metal is what really did it.

What year was the band started? 2009

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? No, Ov Hollowness is not a live band.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? I think it has just been various shows that had the right band, or music, or energy of that night. It varies obviously, all the good bands now are past their peek times and the other bands today just do much going through the motions of playing and writing. In the past I have seen great shows by Cryptopsy, Megadeth, Mortician, Metallica, Maiden, Napalm Death, Inquisition, and others. There are many that I have not seen since the only time they toured where I live they were past their best times.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? I have just put out a new Arkodaemik album online. No other set plans for now, but I do have some Ov Hollowness songs in the works.

What are your goals with your music? Just to record and make albums, and I have done that, it may be coming to an end.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? I guess I realized the interest I had to compose was always there and wasn’t going away, even though I never lived in any way like what we may call an artist. I just did it, and did it for the music really, without expecting much out of it other than the simple expression of doing it.

What are your sources of inspiration? Sounds or riffs in the mind. Then played. To jam on a guitar doesn’t work too well, the best results are when I can picture the songs in my mind.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It is reality, but it makes it difficult also. The main problem is the attitudes people have about it, I totally understand downloading, but people seem to think they have the right to no pay, assholes, like it SHOULD be free. If someone gets an album for free, then fine, you got it, that’s part of our reality, but just don’t think it’s your right. Recording professionally costs a lot of money still, it is unfortunate that those costs could not come from sales. It really is just an unfortunate reality. Now all that said, I have given away much of my music, I often send CDs for free, and I pay the postage. I guess if someone is a true fan then I have no problem with giving them the music.  

What do you hold most dear? Awareness, and true artistic expression. Art and life and humanity is chaotic, nature is, but having some awareness of it all, that is what I appreciate.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? To truly be myself doesn’t come easy, living life or expressing it in music, a fear is that I can often be removed from that true self and source.

Have you been part of any other projects? Yes, as mentioned, do check out my other projects, DETHDRAWN, LOST RESOLVE, and ARKODAEMIK. Just search them on youtube or wherever.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Drafting and design is my day job.

How important are your fans? Ov Hollowness is for anyone who enjoys it, no doubt, reaction, good feedback, etc, is always very nice.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment?

Lone Wolf by Lost Resolve and

Darkened Rites by Arkodaemik.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? I am not sure, that certainly is not my own situation. Perhaps the desire to play is quite strong with those that try and do it full time, that combined with not having any other source of income or career options.

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Create for yourself first, and if you want greater success you need to stand out, and I mean stand out music aside.

How do you view the musicindurty of today? It is bad, we as fans do pretty good at finding what we like, but image and marketing and the little return for music all makes it NOT about the music. In the end, that is what it is, and I create for the expression of it.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? That even if you are good, it doesn’t mean much.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? Drums, they sound pretty good for just hitting them.

Would you like to add anything else? Thanks for the questions, many questions but it has been fun. Thank you very much, the reader, for Reading.

Kommentera här: