interview with zombie Hate Brigade

What´s the name of your band? zombie Hate Brigade
How was the band formed? Nic (the guitarist  and I formed the band because our other bands became defunct (adnauseam, dismembered fetus, yeast infection). We weren't ready to stop pplaying as our formeer band mates were doing so zombie hate brigade was born in the winter of 2001
Can you tell about your band? We write a form death grind. We have a lot of European influence, but also  take stride from some great American acts as well. We also pay tribute to b horror classics of the past. A lot of lyrics are written around movies, we have just started tangling with our movie esque lyrics. Basically write our own movie on paper, and then short form it into lyrics.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?
Dennis Schaudt - Drums (Colorado USA)
Tony grinder - Bass (Colorado USA)
Nic Collins - Guitar (Texas USA, resides in Colorado USA)
Chris (me)- Vocals (Minnesota USA, resides in Colorado USA)
What was the ambitions of the band when you started?  To have fun, print some shirts, do some shows. Were not looking to be the next band signed to a label or go on major tours. We do this for fun. If we were doing it for anything else, we'd be cheating ourselves. We love metal music and we love having fun. Most of our lyrics reflect our tongue and cheek humor. Plus were all long time friends. We look at as a time to go hang with your friends and jam some tunes.
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? I would have to explain it as if repulsion, napalm death, Assuck and Birdflesh got into a fist fight
Where was your first gig? Spring of 2002. We played in an old warehouse that was converted into a skate park. Pretty cool DIY show.
Where was the latest gig? At the Gothic theater in Englewood Colorado, opening for Brutal Truth, Cattle Decapitation and Nausea (l.a)
Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? The music is mostly written by Nic and Tony. And then orchestrated by Dennis and I. A lot of the lyrics are written by Nic. Nic has a good hash on writting lyrics. then I'll re-write em to make em fit the music. You know add a word here, delete a word there, add a sentence here, delete one there.
Who has the best since of humor in the band?  hahahha, I think we all do, everyone can take a joke in the band. And everyone can dish one out. That's our game, adding some humor into the music and to our shows. We'll give each other a hard time even on stage. It's all a prt of the fun of being in a band with your friends.
What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?
the good is being able to jam with your friends, like I said before. the bad would be the time spent. For a person like me who works a regular job and has a family (wife Kids, dogs) it's sometimes hard to squeeze the time to jam into that. A family takes up a lot of your time, especially if your a committed husband and father, and of course family comes first.
Our genre, I would say death/grind if you had to label us. But I think Billy Joel said it best "it's still rock n roll to me".
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It's what our niche' was. When we were younger it was Sabbath, and Kiss, iron Maiden, Rainbow. Even stuff like the Eagles and tom Petty, but as we got older, you heard cryptic slaughter and Death, and eventually the music got more heavier, and eventually we just gravitated to playing heavy music.


Do you write your own material or mainly covers? 99% is all our own material, we have only did a handful of covers since the bands inception. We did a cover of ASSUCK's socialized crucifixion on our last EP. But that is the only cover that has ever made it on a studio recording. We joke on stage with our own versions of Sabbath and Slayer stuff. But we never finish the song, LOL, it's get the crowd thinking were gonna do it, and then we don't
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?  Yes... we released an EP in the spring of 2014 called un-dead exploitation. A full length is in the workd.
The CD can be purchased at this web site.
www.zombiehatebrigade.bigcartel.com
Do you have any clips on YouTube?  yes we do as a matter of fact, a search of our name on you tube and you can find several, but here are the one's I recommend watching
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Yc2KPTbN28
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBvmkMi9t9g
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMQd4aqpD9c
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJWsyhMzY28
How old are you?/What got you started in music?  Well... I guess I'll spill the beans, I am 41 years young. I act like I'm 16 and work like I'm 50. HAHAHAHAH I think watching Ace Frehley and Angus Young when I was pre-teen is what got me wanting to be a musician. I t was never a dream of mine to be one, but I always wanted to perform. And when I moved to Colorado from Minnesota I found several people were into the same stuff I liked. And it went from there. I got into a high school band in the early 80's and we made some waves locally and then as technology became more advanced (internet, studios, etc, etc) the music was able to spread more easily. I could put a side the tape trading through snail mail and reach out to people and within minutes get a response instead of waiting 3-4 weeks for a response through the mail.
At what age did you start playing? I start playing guitar when I was 16
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I was 15 when I took on my first crowd. I still have the live cassette recording of that show
What year was the band started? high school band was 87, we called ourselves Decimation. Zombie hate brigade started in the winter of 2001
Best/worst gig you've played?  so many bad gigs, so many... I can't pin point just one. Let's just say there have been many. The best gig would had to of been opening for Exhumed a couple years back. Amazing crowd, nice circle pit, the crowd was really into us,
What places will you be playing in in the imidate future?
Next show is at a nift little place called the trailside saloon, small stage but big hearts in that place. We look forward to jammin there. the promoter who books the shows there is very active in the scene. And as very humble as your next door neighbor so we look forward to working with him. Zack from Swinging noose productions. Great dude.
Where have you played from then till now?  Our last show was at the Gothic Theater. Great show that was, not a lot of people were able to catch our set because we played early in the day, but were just grateful the promoters asked us to play. We could've simply been skipped over insgtead of being asked to play. We got to share the stage with some great local bands and brutal truth, nausea (L.A.), cattle decapitation among others.
Witch band is the best you´ve seen? oh man, that's a hard question, I've seen so many shows, but I would have to say Marah, Slayer, Iron Maiden and Kiss put on the most exciting shows for me
Is it always the same songs live? Lately it has been a  mix of some old and new, the majority is newer material. We get tired of playing the old stuff so we will start to move out the old and in with the new
What has been the best/most promising gig so far?
Depends on how you look at it. All our shows have something to look forward to, whether it be the location, or the bands were playing with. Like I said were not looking to be signed, we like being ourselves and playing independently. We certainly would not turn down a good distribution deal or a chance to be on an amazing festival or some sort of big payout, but it's not something we are seeking out. Were having fun and we want to kepp it fun.
Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? No we have not, We have done a few dates back to back on the road, small DIY tours. But as I said before touring is hard when you have so many responsibilities at home.
How big crowds do you usually play for? 60-100 is usually the turn out. The scene is large in Denver, anywhere from 4-7 shows a night are going on, so we limit our appearances, gets hard to book shows, when your friends are playing the same night. And you dont wanna burn bridges and try and rival another show. If the mistake does happen that we book the same night as another metal show, we push the show like any other other. Flyers in record stores, shows have handouts etc, etc. But it's never done intentionally. So the usual is 60-100
What are the plans for the rest of the year? Get new songs finished and get back in the studio for a full length. finish out the month of August with shows and write, write, write. We should hopefully have a new CD out by the Spring of 2015.

Where do you usually play? anywhere that accepts us. Most shows are done in local bars. But we'll play anywhere. Backyard, garage, basement, toilet
How do you get psyched up for a gig? The gig in itself. The day of the show brings on the excitement, thinking of the crowd reaction, hanging with friends.
What are your goals with your music? To have the most fun it will let us have.
When did you decide to go all in for the music? I gave up on all in a long time ago. I've been deciated to my music for several years, but all in went away when I decided to start a family. Family first in my eyes, and if the next musician says that's not true and their a parent or spouse then their shitty at being a spouse or a parent.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? It's a little of both actually, but we tend to hang onto the old schoolers, the bands that defined the death metal and grind core genre.
What are your sources of inspiration? B grade horror movies and well written hooks.
What's the first step when making a new song? Writing the first riff or hook, the song is built around that one riff or 2 riffs, a good start is what we like to call it, LOL
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums?
 Well I have to say, I'm guilty for downloading a few albums here and there. But I have also ran across the occasional zombie hate brigade bootleg, and people have paid good money for it and it's a CDR copy. I have also found our music in a simple google search and the full CD's are downloadable without our consent. So I now know how Lars Ulrich feels, but I haven't a clue on how it feels to have his checking account wither.
What would be your dreams for the band?  Of course tour and be successful with it. So my current dream is to just continue and have as much fun as the band lets us
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Folk, Bluegrass, old outlaw country, polka
What do you hold most dear? My family. I hold them as close as I can. I may not show it as often as I should but my family is most important to me
What would be your greatest fears for the future? not being able to share a Minnesota Vikings Superbowl victory with my son, HAHAHAHA
In all honesty not being able to watch my family grow. in all honesty I have a fear of not being able to see my kids or grand kids grow up to be adults. In my eyes' thats the most amazing thing to see, what they will be when they get older, how succesful or broke or whatever they may be, their still my kids and I'll love them not matter what. But I want to see them grow as well.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Breaking something. I'm pretty active on stage, and to possibly break a leg (no pun intended) or an arm or something.
What songs and what years were they released?
This is a loooooong list so I hope it keeps ya interested.
Zombie hate brigade releases
2005 – Self released studio demo. Never officially released.
2007 – Nightmare EP. Getupandkillmusic
2008 – Full length CD. Getupandkillmusic. Re-released in Germany by apthic view productions
2008 - Brutal Death Metal Community Grindcore Compilation Volume 3. V/A BDC records
2008 - BDMC Grindcore Compilation - vol.3 V/A[2 CD] (2008)
2008 – Carrying the deadly blast comp(volume 3 & 4, 2 disc comp) V/A deadknife records
2009 – We all die volume 13. V/A Elephant knuckle/tornflesh records
2009 – Full length CD (re-release of 2008 CD). Inclides all new artwork, lyrics, 2 bonus tracks and the video for I wanna put my junk in Stacy. Crash Music
2009 – Hideous beyond belief with the craving for human flesh EP. Getupandkillmusic
2010 - Dissertation of a Dissection - Chapter One. V/A Elephant knuckle records
2010 – A Grueling experience of carnage and cruelty. Getupandkillmusic
2010 - Small doses. 99 band compilation. V/A Mortville music
2011 – A Grueling experience of carnage and cruelty. RE-RELEASE. Desecration records
2011 - Zombie Grinder Compilation. TFR314 - V/A Torn Flesh records. (download here. http://www.archive.org/details/TFR314-VA-ZombieGrinderCompilation)
2012 - Shocking tales of the absurd and unusual.
2014 - Ungovernable Resistance Philippines/Syria Compilation Volume 3 (UG Metal/Punk/HC. http://ungovernableresistancediyradio.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/ungovernable-resistance_45.html_)
2014 - Undead Exploitation
GETUPANDKILL Music
Videos
I wanna put my junk in Stacy 2009 (pro shot)
They call me Melvin 2009
Both can be seen at myspace.com/zombiehatebrigade or you tube.
A limited dvd was also distributed as a second disc in conjunction with their last EP " A Grueling experience of carnage and cruelty". These were made in limited quantity.The EP has since been re-released on DESECRATION records.
Have you been part of any other projects?
 I play bass in death thrash band named legion of death Dennis and Tony are in a abnd called whoregrinder and Nic is the primary flute player in a band called "skin" HAHAHAHHA
Have you been in any other bands? several. dismembered fetus, adnauseam, yeast infection, decimation, XRNZ, T..H.C (traumatic happy children), festering puke
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I work for a cable company called Comcast. I am a dispatcher and route technicians to their destinations. and listening to them cry and groan and complain about the heat the cold, thier house their cars... HAHAHAHAH
What would you do if there was no music?  create my own. Logs n stick n things
How important are your fans? extremely. Their the one's that buy our stuff, pay the cover charge for the show. Support us! I always keep the cost low on shirts so they can be affordable for the fans. Bands like to charge 20-30 USD for a shirt. We charge 8-10 and 6 for a CD. And that's for everyone, even our European fans (hint, hint)
How often do you rehearse?  once a week, for 3 hours, sometimes a little longer, depending on the day who has what else to do for the day LOL
Where do you rehearse? We practice in a warehouse with other local bands. right now there is 6 bands in one warehouse, but we all have separate rooms to rehearse.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment?  Mother May I and Choke on my fist. 2 new songs that will be on the full length. They both the heaviest stuff we have written and choke on my fist has some personal meaning to it
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing?  Were not trying to make a living at it.
Do you have any webpages?
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zombie-Hate-Brigade/109681992385478
www.zombiehatebrigade.bigcartel.com
Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Either you do it or you don't. If you want to tour, don't make a family until your ready to, if you want a big money contract, don't play metal music HAHAHA
Would you like to add anything else? thank you for the interest in the band Robex, we certainly do appreciate any support! Thank you again!
There ya go Robex. Thanks for the interview, I did skip a couple questions because basically I would have given ya the same answers from prior questions lol
I will send you an autograph form all bands if you'd like.

Kommentera här: