interview with Black Sun Ritual

What´s the name of your band? Black Sun Ritual

How was the band formed? The band was formed in 2012 as I had reached my goals musically with my previous band Frostskogr, which existed from 2001 until 2012. I wanted to continue playing music, but with another angle than my previous band.

Can you tell about your band? Black Sun Ritual is a somewhat atmospheric Black/Doom Metal band. We make music by our own standards, and do not give a fuck about trends or what is popular. Yet we do not care about how our genre is supposed to sound. We make music first and foremost for our own pleasure. Always have, always will.

Where are all band members from? We are both based in the Haugesund area in Norway.

Who does what in the band? I (Asbel) compose and write lyrics, does all string instruments and drums.Malum Incarnatus writes lyrics and does vocals.

What was the ambitions of the band when you started?

To make music, nothing more.

Why did you pick that particular style? Because it feels right.

What are your songs about? Death, disease, despair, religion, depression, hate etc.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? One cover for now. Will do one more.

Have you made any albums? If yes, what are they?

Sulphur Demo 2013                  

War EP 2013     

No Sign of Life EP 2013              

Necrotic Hate  EP 2013               

Utukt EP  2013

War Incantations Compilation 2013                       

Eternal Is My Hate EP 2013        

Unreleased Unleashed Compilation 2013                  

Do you have any clips on YouTube? No.

How old are you? What got you started in music?

We are 30 and 25.

A: Wanted to create, express my thoughts.

M: I wanted to create and participate in what I loved.
The metal Genre in general opened my mind for a whole new world and culture, taking part in creating music that made me who I am today, have always been a ambition to me.

At what age did you start playing?

A: 17
M: 15 Vocals, 17 Keyboards

What year was the band started? 2012

Witch band is the best you´ve seen?

A: Seigmen.

M: Windir and Carach angren

When did you decide to go all in for the music?

A: Never did, music is my hobby. I work in an office.

M: Still a hobby.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern?

A: Older in the metal genre. Everything else is timeless.

M: I prefer old concerning everything, but you never know what new bands arise that might be inspired by the good old stuff as well, or has interesting methods of doing things in their own way. So I try to keep an open mind.

What are your sources of inspiration?

A: Life.

M: Folklore, life, occultism and nature                    

What is the first step when making a new song?Compose the main riff.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums?

A: Does not affect me either way.

M:Of course streaming and downloading music has huge advantages for the listeners. But I for myself prefer also to buy the album in physical format, if some of my friends made it, or if I really like it and if it is possible to get. It is a way of showing your commitment to the band and to give them something back for their work. I love to collect music.  

What would be your dreams for the band?

A: Keep spreading the horrors of what is Black Sun Ritual.

M:Keep on working to achieve better results, darker and more horrific music that will spread our euphoric cacophony. To be working together with someone who shares the interest in the darker specter of metal.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to?

A: Everything.

M: Classical, Folk, horror Punk, punk, Rock, Gothic, Medieval, Ambient, Neoclassical and almost all genres of metal.

What do you hold most dear?

A: My son.

M: Friends and Music

Have you been in any other bands?

A:

Hellnight

Frostskogr

White Liquid

See-Through

Ulvaskar

Corpsepenetrators

M:
Pale fingers
Evig hat

Do you have any webpages? Soundcloud

Kommentera här: