interview with Corpse Machine

Have you played in other bands? MP: I played in a thrash metal band called November Fire in high school and years after. We had no official releases, but we played over 100 shows in the Detroit and Ann Arbor area.
Are all the Members Original? MP: All members are original. David Prokopp on Drums, and Brad Gasperotto on Bass. 
Where are you from?/When did you form? MP: We are from the outskirts of Ann Arbor, MI. We formed in January 2013.
What’s your style of genre? MP: Black Metal. We are unlike the current trend of U.S. Black Metal bands like Wolves in the Throne Room, we are ANTI-Atmospheric Black Metal! Raw, cold black metal without the corpse paint image. This is the way Black Metal should be.
What inspires you? Snow covered Winter landscapes.  Moonlit forest in the summer. Absolute darkness.
Did you make music when you were young? MP: Yes, I’ve been playing guitar since I was 5 years old. I’ve been writing music since I was 11. Music is my life passion.
Do you have interests of work outside of the band? MP: I’m into Photography. On the “Depths of the Abyss” cd, the candle photograph on the inside booklet is my photo. I would like to put some of my photos in art shows, but I’m always busy with music.
What made you decide to make this music? MP: I’ve been a fan of Black Metal/Extreme Metal fan every since I heard the first album by Bathory when I was 12 or 13. 
Bathory is a big influence for Corpse Machine.
What are your songs about? MP: Darkness, gothic, nature, sadists, evil. Sadistic Ceremony is about Vlad the Impaler, Inhuman is about possessing inhuman powers of evil, Vampyric Murder is about a murderer luring people into the woods to kill and harvest their blood. Sacrificial Knife is about human sacrifice.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? MP: I do most of the composing, and I write all of the lyrics.
Do you start with music or the lyrics? MP: I always start with the music first. I don’t write the lyrics until we rehearse it. I always know instantly how the vocals will go, but it sometimes takes a while to get some concrete lyrics down. 
Have you done any covers live? MP: Yes, we’ve played Misfits “Demonomania”, Celtic Frost “Dethrone the Emperor”, Obituary Body Bag/Chopped in Half, Eyehategod “Godsong”, and Nail bomb “Guerillas”.
What language do you sing? MP: English
What ages are most of your concert attendants? MP: Teenagers to people in their 30s, 40s. It’s a wide range.
Where have you played live this year? Our last gig was last year in October in South Lyon, MI in a rented out hall. We’ve been concentrating on writing music, putting out releases, and doing press for them all over the world. Bathory and Darkthrone never toured! HA
Where do you plan to gig this coming year? MP: We might a have show or two before the end of this year in the Michigan area. Maybe some places near the west coast of the United States. We would love to play Scandinavia! 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? MP: When we released our first demo cd “Annihilate” in April 2013, we sold “Annihilate” shirts, and stickers.
Where can people buy your merchandise? You can buy our mp3s on Itunes, Amazon, CD Baby. We have cds on www.interpunk.com. You can stream them from pretty much anywhere such as spotify. Our Cds, T-shirts, stickers, and bottle openers, are available directly through us on Ebay. You can also send a message through face book. Support underground Black Metal!
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying it now a days? MP: Ever since I’ve been in a band, people have been downloading music more than buying it. I’m not old enough to remember what it was like before. Of course bands and labels made WAY more in the 80s and 90s than now, but now more people can get into underground music than ever before. I make Black Metal as an artistic statement, I could care less about the money. I just want to keep putting out releases for the international metal scene. Fuck being some rockstar.
Do you have any new material? MP: Yes, we have about 7 or 8 songs written for our upcoming 3rd demo release. Hopefully will be out this year! Dark, gothic Black Metal!
What are your websites?
MP: facebook.com/corpse machine
www.corpsemachine.com
Any plans for the future? MP: Yes many plans in the future! I am working hard on finishing the material for our 3rd cd. Should be out this year. Next year we will release our first LP album. Shows in the future as well!
Do you have something to add?MP: Look for our upcoming release in the next couple of months! 

Kommentera här: