interview with Sicocis

Have any of you played in other bands?

(Ernie) We have all played in different bands at one time or another. I originally met Rafael Ortega(Guitars), & Robert McDonald(Drums) when they were playing together in one of the first incarnations of the band. Ever since then I always wanted to do something musically with them.

(Travis) Currently in AtteroTerra, and Death in Motion (diM.), Formerly in Slyther.

(Rob) I've played live with a couple of friends' different projects, it was quite a fresh experience for me.

How is it that you started playing music?

(Ernie) I was introduced, at an early age, to the band KISS. At the time I had never seen such a spectacle. After receiving my first guitar at the age of 12, I knew then and there that, thats what I wanted to do and be in life.

(Travis) Just hearing favorite bands and having that "I want to do THAT" moment. 

(Raf) I started very young listening to rock bands on the radio and always enjoyed watching them live and on television, It just naturally became a life decision that I want to do that forever.

(Rob) When I was 14, three of us just starting high school wanted to start a band. I wanted to play drums, and the rest is history.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Ernest: Guitar, Vocals

Rafael: Guitar,Orchestrations

Travis, bass/vocals/kazoo, I'm 29-years-old. 

Rob: Drums

Did you make music even when you were young?

(Rob) I was always fascinated with music from a very young age. Although I didn't pick up playing until my early teens, My mom and dad loved bands like Jethro Tull, Deep Purple, Boston, Journey, Styx, and Rush, so I had a lot to live up to musically.

(Travis) I did not. I didn't start seriously playing guitar until I was 20, and bass sometime in the last couple years.

(Raf) Started to play music in middle school and never stopped .

(Ernie) I always tried to experiment with an old tape recorder like the one from the Home Alone movies. As I got older, as most musicians do, I discovered multiple recording programs. I was eventually introduced to Garageband by Raf, and the rest is history.

Where are you from?

(Raf) I was born in the Bay area of California

(Travis) From right here in Las Vegas, NV. 

(Rob) I was born and raised right here in Las Vegas.

(Ernie) I was born in a small town called Twentynine Palms, in California

What year did the band form? (Ernie) The band officially formed in 2008, after going through many different incarnations, and members.

What's your style of genre?

(Rob)There's a lot of different elements which makes SicociS what it is, but from an outsiders perspective, I'd definitely say Symphonic Heavy Metal.

(Ernie) We don’t usually stick to one certain style of Metal. We like to combine different elements when it comes to writing our songs. Certain songs will have Symphonic parts, with heavy syncopated rhythms underneath. Then we will have other songs that have more of a slower and atmospheric feel to it. A great example would be our latest single, Beyond The Quantum Waves. We have the heavy syncopated parts, combining atmospheric sections. We are very diverse when it comes to writing songs.

What inspires you?

(Raf) Life around me gets me motivated to write more music

(Ernie) For me personally, watching bands that I looked up to as a kid, and still do to this day inspires me. There is nothing like having you favorite bands release new music. It really drives me to write more music, and strive to be a better musician overall.

(Travis) Every piece of music I've ever heard, love it or hate it. 

(Rob) Listening to all the music that's come out and what has yet to come out always inspires me. It lets me know there's still a place in this world for the music we play.

How have you developed since you started with the music?

(Rob)I used to be so narrow minded musically when I was younger. I've grown to really dig music outside of our genre and even find ways to incorporate those influences to the way I play my instrument.

(Ernie) I think the bands sound has matured over the years. We know what feels right to us, and we know what we like as individuals. We each bring our own quality to the table, which makes the band and sound so unique. We try to do what makes us happy, and what makes us happy, makes us stand out, I believe. Another great example is how both Raf and myself have developed as guitar players. Over the yeas we learned from each other, and it made us evolve into what we are now.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

(Travis) I don't have time for other interests, haha. 

(Rob) Being a family man has definitely been interesting. My son is my world and I see my love for music slowly(but surely) rubbing off on him. Aside from that, avid video game nerd, love the movies, and socializing with my friends and family.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? (Ernie)We would love to be involved and represented by a great booking agency. I think its a vital part in an upcoming bands career. We would love to be exposed to as many audiences possible. We really want to bring Sicocis to the world, and take it by storm.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

(Rob) My personal opinion about labels is balanced on a razors edge. On one hand, it gives the band that kick in the ass up to the next level and start playing outside of their home city, make an album, and promote the product on a much wider format. On the other hand, labels are very hesitant to sign anyone that might be a musical risk, understandably, so they will do what they can to make sure it's in the best interest of the label before anything else.

What made you decide to make this music? (Ernie)Back when we started in 2008, We wanted to create music that Las Vegas had not previously seen. Music like bands like Iced Earth, Evergreen, Ayreon, and Symphony X were doing. My old band broke up, and I was introduced to this whole new world of music by Rafael & Robert. It was a bit overwhelming getting all of these albums dropped on me, but it completely changed the way I thought and played music from there on out. Together us three created the foundation of Sicocis you hear today.

What are your songs about? (Ernie)We like to tell stories in each of our songs. Lot of them have different stories to tell, and some of them tie into a greater picture. We want the listener to escape their reality, and step into the world of Sicocis, in hopes that they will find songs that reflect how they feel inside. Wether its something going on in their lives or some massive world event. We want to reach into the souls of our listeners and let them know that they aren’t alone. That they have some sort of escape with our music.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? (Ernie)After writing the music, Raf and myself brain storm some vocal melodies, usually they get recorded. Then we both listen to the melodies, and come up with lines, or I will go home and write a rough draft of the lyrics. Then, we go to record the vocals, and Raf moves words around so they will fit better with the cadence.

Have you done any covers live?

(Ernie) We haven’t messed with any covers too much. In the past we have played Amon Amarth’s Twilight Of The Thunder God, and In Flames’ Cloud Connected. There are a few songs from Arch Enemy, Ayreon, and even Pink Floyd that we have always wanted to cover, but that remains to be seen.

(Rob) Back when SicociS was a smaller cover/jam band, it's all we would play. From Rock N Java to the old Cheyenne Saloon, and every backyard party in between.

What language do you sing in? (Rafael) English

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? (Ernie) We have had amazing 100+ crowd shows, and we have literally played to a girl and her dog. It really goes to show how you never know how a gig is going to turn out. Especially when you go out of town. In a place where you have never been before, and nobody knows your name.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? (Ernie) We have this great club here in Las Vegas called the LVCS. The promoter Tim always takes care of us, and hooks us up with great shows. We have played some of our best gigs there, and we will continue to. Tim has been such a great help to us, and we are forever grateful!

What was your first gig like?

(Ernie)The first gig I played with Sicocis was at this place called the Aruba. It was a long time coming, because we had been rehearsing for such a long time, and we finally booked a show to push us to play out. It was pretty hectic, as every show usually is. Everything went by so fast. Thats the crazy thing about shows, you take all day to prepare for one, and when the time finally comes, the performance its self goes by so quickly.

(Rob) I remember the first one, way back in the day, in front of Rafael's mom's house, with a makeshift stage and all. We played all covers, it was cold as hell that night but there were probably about 10-20 people that drove all the way out to the middle of nowhere to see us play. That was fun!

What was your latest gig?

(Ernie)We are going to play this epic show on August 29th with Insomnium & Omnium Gatherum. Its going to be our first show with the new lineup. We have Robert McDonald going us on the drums, and Travis Perry on Bass & Vocals. We are really excited to play, and have an amazing show in store for you guys, so if you are in town, come check it out!

(Raf) We are booking quite a few shows, After our upcoming show August 29th with Finland’s Insomnium and Omnium Gatherum US Tour, we are also have

September 22nd with Unearth and October 3rd Battle for Knotfest for a chance to play at this Years Knotfest including Judas Priest, At the Gates, and Slipknot.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? (Ernie) Its obviously hurting the bands above everything else. It is getting more and more difficult to have your band be successful in the music industry. Its a very difficult situation for everyone. Everyone is going digital, and records have become a thing of the past. Not to mention illegal music downloads.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?

(Travis) The digital theft of music, in general, has crippled musicians' ability to make an actual living through music. That's as far into it as I'll go, because it's just beating a dead horse in front of a crowd that's busy watching pirated videos of dead-horse-beatings on their phones instead.

(Rob) The music industry as of right now is experiencing a drastic change in the way things are done and it's not really affecting the established labels as much as it affects the local unsigned acts. With the boom in technology and Internet over the last decade, there's great consequence that accompanies it as well. With streaming services, paying artists fractions of a penny per play, is crippling the music industry, and making labels not take risks like they used to, unless they know the band will sell out shows and sell 10,000 copies of their albums before they are even signed.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

(Rob) It's a win-win situation either way. Everyone today is somehow influenced by the older bands, so even taking an inspiration from a newer act could still pay homage to the elders.

(Ernie) It can go either way for me. I mean, on one hand when a new band releases a new CD, its such an awesome way to find inspiration to write new music. Sometimes though, you have to pop in one of those classics and just sit back and listen. It brings you back to your beginnings and your roots. It brings you to the reason you started playing music, and what got you into everything in the first place.

How do you get psyched for a gig?

(Ernie)Before or on the way to a gig, I put on music or songs that pump me up. I usually blast it in my car and sing along with the music as loud as I can. It really gets the adrenaline pumping. The only downfall to that is, when our intro hits, and the lights go down, the adrenaline hits and your hearts starts thumping. As soon as you start the song, you mouth goes completely dry, and you need water ASAP.

(Rob) it happens the moment I step foot on the stage. That's when I know "it's game time" and the adrenaline flows fast after that.

(Raf) sort of a self meditation

(Travis) I… just stretch. Apparently, I'm old. cleardot.gif ¬

Do you have any new material? (Ernie) We getting ready to release Requiem of the World Vol. 2 really soon. We have so many exciting songs that we can't wait to share with you. It's very different, but at the same time it stays true to the Sicocis sound. After that, we plan to start writing material for the follow up to Vol. 2.

How can people reach you?

(Raf) You can reach us all over the web simply by using Google . You can message us online through our social media sites

www.facebook.com/sicocisLV

www.twitter.com/sicocis

Subscribe to our youtube channel www.youtube.com/sicocisband

and our own site www.sicocis.com

For booking information, band information etc. To reach us at our email [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? (Raf) We are planning to expand and start looking to book outside of our local areas, focus on the new material, and get ourself some management.

Do you have something to add? (The Band) We are nothing without the fans! Thank you so much for your support! We have many exciting surprises and music coming for you guys so stay tuned!

Kommentera här: