interview with Andy D

What´s the name of your band? At the moment it is just myself and my friend Ron, and I still perform solo.

How was the band formed? Just friends who enjoy music

Can you tell about your band? We are just starting out; and working on songs at the moment.

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? We are from Detroit, Michigan, Motown USA!

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? We are looking to do gigs; record as some point.

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? A mix of Elvis, Led Zeppelin, Beatles, Motown,etc.

Where was your first gig? A talent show in high school, it was a lot of fun, I did a song I wrote, and had a great response.

Where was the latest gig? A place in the Suburb of Westland called the Token Lounge, it is a fine venue.

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? We both write song, music, lyrics.

Who has the best since of humor in the band? I say myself; I really like ice cream, though as a singer I cannot eat too much.

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? A mix of Blues, Rockabilly, Country, Jazz.

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? The Blues are the root of Rock, and other genres.

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I like to mix my own material with some really good covers, you never know what the audience would like, so something for everybody.

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? Currently I have some music out exclusively to CDbaby.com, http://www.cdbaby.com/AlbumDetails.aspx?AlbumID=andyd14

Do you have any clips on YouTube? https://www.youtube.com/user/andyjohnD

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I was into music since I was born; my father was a big Elvis Presley fan, and so I had a big exposure to Rock and Roll, to his voice, Scotty Moore and James Burton's guitar playing.

At what age did you start playing? I think 10 or 12; everyday feels like the first time, as there is always something to learn.

What year was the band started? We are just starting

Best/worst gig you've played? The Best gig was an Acoustic performance at the Bull Frog a few years ago; I just played solo, and the audience and I fed each other's energy.

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? We shall see; currently just working on writing, and hope to record soon.

Where have you played from then till now? Just locally for now.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? My first concert was seeing Little Richard and Chuck Berry perform at a concert, to see such legends who started it all, was most inspiring. There are some good local bands in my area, from Yankeeville, to Deep Cut, Cruzin Jupitar, Kaleido, Jesse Palter, Anthony Lai, Sarah Sherrard.

Is it always the same songs live? I never play the same song twice.

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? A recent Battle of the Bands gig; the crowd and I had great energy together. I also played once at a dressing room in a local Topless Bar called the Toy Chest, and recorded a song call the Toy Chest Boogie. haha.

How big crowds do you usually play for? Depends; sometimes big, and sometimes small, but I try to treat each gig the same.

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Keep working on music; keep feeding off the energy of the crowd.

How do you get psyched up for a gig? I try to relax really; and let the adrenaline kick in on stage. 

What are your goals with your music? To make good music; one in which will stay the test of time hopefully.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? When I picked up the guitar.

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? A little bit of both; the older bands have more experience, and the younger modern bands have a great hunger to succeed.

What are your sources of inspiration? Can be anything; can be people I meet, relationships, something I read in a newspaper.

What's the first step when making a new song? Sometimes the first step is picking up the guitar; sometime it's picking up the pen.

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It's another way to connect to the audience.

What would be your dreams for the band? To make memorable and lasting music.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I love Elvis, the Beatles, Motown, Classical, all types of genres really.

What do you hold most dear? My loved ones; friends and family.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? I like to focus on the present, the future is tomorrow.

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? I try not to think of that; but I hope that I connect with the audience in someway.

What songs and what years were they released? I currently released Toy Chest Boogie; Girls Got the Beat on CDBaby.com

Have you been in any other bands? I jam a lot at Open Jams, so I get to work with many great musicians.

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? Currently just the music, I write freelance as well.

What would you do if there was no music? Be sad and bored, really music makes things

How often do you rehearse? Every Saturday.

Where do you rehearse? At our homes.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Brittany's song, and The Toy Chest Boogie (which is available on CDbaby.com)

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? Little Richard and Chuck Berry, they are legends.

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? The energy that a live performance brings; the love of music, and the journey that is music.

Do you have any webpages? my reverbnation at reverbnation.com/andyjohn

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Just enjoy the journey.

Describe your show, visually and musically people say I move like a Stripper, so I leave that as a visual.

How do you view the musicindurty of today?

What advice would you like to give other bands? Enjoy the journey

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Themselves really

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? The best is the audience obviously; the worst is

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? Just go to my reverbnation, sign up and I will let you know.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence Tasty

What is your favorite crappy instrument? My Esteban Classical.

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? None so far.

Whats your Pre-show ritual? Work on some scales; stretch, do vocal warm ups, no alcohol, and visualize the show.

Kommentera här: