interview with Heisenberg

Have any of you played in other bands? Brandon- I started out in a band here on long island called Burn Them All, when I started playing some shows a meeting other musicians, I formed a band called The Forrest Gump Mile High Marthon with the Members of Praeter Morte. When that band dissolved, myself the drummer and bassist formed Heisenberg.

How is it that you started playing music?Brandon- when I was 14 the alternative metal/nu metal was getting a lot of play of TV and since this was before the age of internet music, I really only knew what was being played on TV. So bands like korn fear factory and static-x just seemed so heavy and awesome. I saw them on tv and I wanted to do that. I got a guitar when I was 14 and have been playing ever since.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?Brandon Moran 29 guitar, Billy Haiduk  bass 27 and Paul McGrath singer 27. We are currently without a drummer.

Have you had other previous members?We used to have Tim Scmidt on drums, Thomas Kreiger on Bass and Jay Brooks on vocals. Tim was in TFGMHM and Praeter Morte, Thomas was in Gump too. Jay Brooks was in Burn Them All with myself

Did you make music even when you were young? Brandon-Other than what was taught in school, I was never really interested in music until alternative metal starting getting popular and everyone was listening to it

Where are you from? Brandon- I was born in florida USA and Move to NY when I was 13 and have been here ever since

What year did the band form? Late 2012/early 2013

What's your style of genre? We like to identify with death slam but being from new York there his a hint of that NYHC aspect. Personally, I don’t think we sound like any other slam band because of the vocals and style of drumming but I certainly feel we are a slam band

What inspires you? Brandon- life inspires me. I work very hard and get to enjoy the things in life that make me happy. Even though getting up every day and working a job that isn’t music, it allows me to make music and be able to afford it.

How often and where do you reherse? Right now, given that we don’t have a drummer, we are not rehearsing at all. Although we are finishing up the new record right now. 7 new songs and 2 cover songs. We have kevin talley handling the drums for the record. We are super stoked and cant wait to release it.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Brandon- being young, I didn’t want to really learn the aspects of guitar, I just wanted to learn bands song that I enjoyed and I really regret that now being older. I wish I took more focus on the elements of the guitar. But each reacord I put out, the musicianship matures and that’s whats most important to me.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Brandon- I am a tattoo enthusiast. I collect tattoos from many artist all over the world.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Unfortunately we are the type of band that cannot really drop our lives and tour. We all would love to but its just not possible for us right now. If the right opportunity came along and we all could manage the time away from work, we certainly would try to do a tour.  We all make really good money and we certainly know that it will cost us a lot to tour and that’s just the reality behind it for small bands

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Not really, ive been doing this for a while now and am more than capable of doing it myself. I have the finances to pay for recording and merchandise, why let a label take a cut of it especially since we are not touring muscians, I don’t see a label offering us much of anything we cannot achieve on our own.

What made you decide to make this music? Honestly, Korn. That is the sole reason I started playing guitar.

What are your songs about? Brandon -  I don’t take part in any of the writing of lyrics, I suck at it and don’t bother. I let the singer do it all. I know a lot of it is personal to him about his life and past experience being in the military. And the rest of the lyrics are just nonsense

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? 90% is paul and billy will help out here and there with paul when needed.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Always music. All our new songs are recorded and paul is currently wirting the lyrics as we chat

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? The first record we all did together, we jammed it all out. This new one, 5 songs were jammed out together and the last 2 were written very quickly on the fly.

Have you done any covers live? We have not yet but that will change soon!

What language do you sing in? english

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Back in the day in my old band, ive literally played for 2 people once. Id say one of the best turn outs for a local gig that had no national type of headliner prob had around 100-150 people

What ages are most of your concert attendants? Anywhere from 16-30 I would guess

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Our songs are sort  so we were alaways able to play our entire first record in a set, now that we have a bunch of new material, if we start playing live again, im sure we will mix it up

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Every few years the spot will change, but current even flow bar and grill in bayshore long island is the spot! Best wings on LI

What was your first gig like? My first gig ever, was never racking for sure, to this day I still get nervous before everyshow. Our first show with Heisenberg was a local show with suffocation! And it was awesome

What was your latest gig? The last gig we played was before our drummer left to join the army. We played in Brooklyn with tentacles, lethal entity and backyotomy. Wasn’t a good turn out but still a fun time

Have you had to cancel a gig? As Heisenberg, we have not. We actually played a show without our singer once because he got stuck working. If we don’t have to cancel we wont. But sometimes its unavoidable.

Where have you played live this year? We have not played any shows at all in 2015

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Doesn’t look like anyshows will be done in 2015 unless we find a drummer. We are concerned with getting this new record out.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We have done a few shirt prints and a small batch of hoodies. We have done cds which as sold out and we always have stickers.

Where can people buy your merchandise? Contact us through facebook,  or our bandcamp. But right now all is pretty much sold out unless you where 2x or 3x

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I have no a fan of it personally. I don’t download at all. I still buy cds and own 3500 plus. If a band has not put out a cd, I have not heard it but I respect that today age is about illegal downloading and streaming and there is nothing that can be done. I still am happy if people listen regardless id they pay or not. but we are grateful for those that buy our music and I try and talk with everyone.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Its given the smaller guys and opportunity to get out there but you really have to work really hard to become known.  I don’t think from a label aspect that anything has changed, still same shitty labels, with same shitty contracts/

What do you think of my work? Very thorough and concise. Im impressed.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Honeslty I don’t know, this is the first interview I have ever been approached with being in a band. I am always active on our social media, always paying attention to any articles, blog spots or youtube comments of our music. Im always watching!!

Do you have any role models or idols? no

Why do you think that they exist? Aspirations.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both, you need that inspiration from the roots but always need a breath of fresh air from the new.  

What have been your biggest obstacles? Writing new music and being able to continue to invest money into the band

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Stay active in both the band, your local scene and online. Nothing will get handed to you. you have to put the work in the reap any type of rewards.

How do you get psyched for a gig? Its all about the other bands I play with. That’s what psychs me up, getting to jam with all my friends.

Do you have any new material? We do 7 new songs, should be out in a few months. Shit is heavy and next level for us

What are your web sites? www.facebook.com/heisenbergny www.heisenbergny.bandcamp.com www.pandora.com/heisenberg https://play.spotify.com/artist/2k3TQsuWLX8IUtiMpf7EJe?play=true&utm_source=open.spotify.com&utm_medium=open

How can people reach you? facebook page and I usually respond very quickly

What are your plans for the future? For this year, get this new record out, and more merch for the fans. Long term, get a drummer and play some damn shows

Do you have something to add? Thank you for reaching out to the band and to everyone that listens to the band, we couldn’t do it without your support and are forever grateful.

Kommentera här: