interview with Lori Garrote

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes , A.K.A. and The New

How is it that you started playing music? Pick up a guitar and realized I could play it.

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes 

Where are you from? Miami , Florida

What's your style of genre? Honestly, I can't say . I've been compared to grunge, pop, rock, punk. I would say I have most of those genres mixed into one.

What inspires you? Music and the constant urge to create it

How often and where do you rehearse? I rehearse in the comfort of my own home at least 5 times a week

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I would most definitely consider a label with great distribution but for the last couple of year, I have had the DIY mentality and that has been working out great.

What are your songs about? My current songs are current situations I face on a daily basis.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Sometimes  lyrics , sometimes music

Do you compose in a certain environment? I need to be in a relax environment with zero distractions

Have you done any covers live? Yes.  ( Joan Jett, Nirvana , Ramones ) 

What language do you sing in? English

What ages are most of your concert attendants? anywhere from 18-60 ( wide range ) 

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? it varies 

Do you have a regular place you play live often? No venue in particular , no.

What was your first gig like? It was amazing. Packed show opening up for my favorite local band.

What was your latest gig? This last Saturday 

Have you had to cancel a gig? Unfortunately yes. 

Where have you played live this year? Only in the Miami area

Where do you plan to gig the coming year? No sure exactly where yet. I hope Europe 

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? April 9 , 2015 . My single pressed on vinyl along with a digital download of my latest EP 

Where can people buy your merchandise? www.lorigarrote.com

What do you think of my work? I respect what you do. Thank you for taking the time out to interview me. It's people like you that keep music alive.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Well this is my first internationally based interview. Perhaps with your following, I can gain some fans from different parts of the world. 

Do you have any role models or idols? Yes, I do. Too many to mention. 

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Actually , I'm inspired by both . I feel whatever I can relate to sparks inspiration in me.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be yourself, do it yourself , and always have fun.

How do you get psyched for a gig? I run around naked .

Do you have any new material? Always. 

What are your web sites?

www.lorigarrote.com

https://soundcloud.com/lorigarrote-1

https://lorigarrote.bandcamp.com/releases

www.reverbnation.com/LoriGarrote

How can people reach you? [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? Tour & create new Music.

Kommentera här: