interview with Fegefeuer Anilmathiel

Have any of you played in other bands? Technically no, but my band has suffered some transformations since it was created. At the beginning we were a nameless band. The members has been a lot, they came and left all the time. The style was industrial metal, following the Rammstein line. Then I moved to black metal when the oldest members (oldest in sense of antiquity in the band) left. I found new ones, they came and left... came more... left... the band's name was Fegefeuer in that time. Then I felt I must be alone in the band, so I follow that path. The name of Fegefeuer Anilmathiel came later.

How is it that you started playing music? I don't really know how it began, what I just remember is that I composed and my first instrument was guitar, there in 2010 more or less, so I think I always have had passion for music.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My artistic name is Herthenarth Námereth, and I'm 19. I want to be known with that name, and I'm the only one on this band.

Where are you from? I am from Spain.

What year did the band form? It began in 2010 but officially, for me, it began in 2013-2014, that is when I started to work seriously. I can't even believe that passed so many years for that.

What's your style of genre? That's funny. A friend said me that my style is "Atmospheric Symphonic Neoclassical Black Folk Space Metal". Yes, all that. That's why I am not of any concrete genre, I do whatever I feel I must do.

What inspires you? Many things. At the beginning it was nature, passion, love... then heroic tales, legends... and the last thing I took inspiration was the space and universe.

How have you developed since you started with the music? I have developed in the complexity of my music, the way I compose and the sound I want. Next year will be a huge change about all this.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I study History of Art in university. I have many projects about art. My main page is Land of the Art, but I have many others. Also I have a project of a book, that will be inspiration for my future music. The title is The Lays of Assiriand, and there is also some info in the internet about that.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I am not looking for a label. I prefer to work alone, and I do not plan to be rich due to my music. I compose for fun and for me, just, I share my music. My personal label is Dunkelstern Records, so, if you see anywhere that Dunkelstern Records is related to my music, is because of that.

What made you decide to make this music? Just my love and passion for music.

What are your songs about? The first albums were about love, passion, desesperation... human feelings. The next ones I did were about the three states of the lands: earth, space, and civilization. In the first album you can find references to nature, in the second to space, and the third to civilization, humans, legends, castles... Also I have done a symphony about Divina Commedia by Dante Alighieri and lots of covers. My albums now are focusing into the norse mythology and the Eddas. Next year will be different.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do all.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I start with music but that is not a rule. Just, I do that at same time. Sometimes I compose something and then put a title, others I have a title in mind and then compose following what I feel about that, and then I write lyrics. In the current albums about norse mythology, what I do is to read the Eddas, then compose, and then work in the lyrics. My lyrics are in a few languages. I have used english, german, old norse, old english, elvish and black speech, and I plan to use norwegian too. I plan to use in the future languages from my book, The Lays of Assiriand.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Just in my room although is not a rule.

Have you done any covers live? I do not play live, but I have done many covers. Summoning, Rammstein and about soundtracks.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I do not sell merchandise, I just sell my cds digitally from Bandcamp.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records nowadays? I think that the industry of music is very bad done. I buy cds, but I just buy them after listening and if I love them. I had a period in my life where I bought some cds without listen them, just because I wanted to discover. Well, if you have money, you can do it, but think that maybe you will buy a cd you won't like very much. So, what I do, is first listen the album in internet. If I love it so much, then I buy it. I have bought all the Summoning albums, I have some of Rammstein and a few more, and it is because I love these albums and I listened them (even a lot) before.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Industry of music has not changed but it should. I have more confidence into little labels than big labels.

What do you think of my work? I have not had time to see too much but I saw briefly your pages and it's great, I see you have a lot of dedication to this.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? What I just pretend uploading my music in internet is that people listen to it. I don't mind if my albums are sold. I have sold albums some times, and I must thank the people who bought them because they helped me a lot to get new instruments (I am an instrument collector). But if this interview has to help me in something, I want that it is to reach more people, that more people discover my music and if they like, nice, they can follow. That is what I really want. That the albums are sold is other thing, for me, that is like a donation to help me with my instruments, something that for me is very important.

Do you have any role models or idols? I have many but I think that the first one is Ludwig Van Beethoven, for me is the master of masters. I also consider amazing Richard Wagner, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Vivaldi... and about modern times, I like soundtrack composers like Howard Shore (best composer in the actual times for my due to The Lord of the Rings soundtrack), Hans Zimmer, John Williams, and a lot more. About bands, Summoning and Rammstein are the ones I most listen, although I can name some more I really like, like Lumsk, Die Verbannten Kinder Evas, among others.

Why do you think that they exist? The history has its progression. Beethoven couldn't exist in Mozart times, and Vivaldi couldn't exist in the actual times. Each composer compose the music in the time he was born. Some are in transitions too, but that is just because society was changing. I could explain a lot about this with many examples but well, the general idea is that.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think that it doesn't matter really, although I find more inspiration in older composers/bands.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Luckly, I haven't had big obstacles. The main one actually is that to develop what I have in mind next year I need money to get a violin and a better microphone. But I think that if all goes well, it won't be a problem. Other of my obstacles is the time. Some times, I haven't the time I would like to have.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Compose for yourself. If you want to release many albums a year, do it, don't think that if that won't be nice for fans or something. You can do whatever you want. 

Do you have any new material? Yes, the next 9th june 2015 I will release a new album, called "Elysium", that talks about heroes from the Edda and the Tolkien books.

What are your web sites? Here I let you my main sites. 

http://fegefeueranilmathiel.blogspot.com.es/ 

http://fegefeueranilmathielofficial.blogspot.com.es/ 

https://www.facebook.com/fegefeuer.anilmathiel.black.metal 

https://fegefeueranilmathiel.bandcamp.com/

https://www.youtube.com/user/FegefeuerOfficial

[email protected]

How can people reach you? The best way is by facebook or mail. I open that everyday.

What are your plans for the future? For now, the important is the release of "Elysium" and then, in november, I will release other album. Also, I want to complete a soundtrack cover album I will release complete in december. I feel this year as my year of transition to a new age, a reborn. Next year will be very different. I will develop more my book, I will use new vsts libraries and I will compose in other way.

Do you have something to add? Just that if you compose, do it for yourself. Really, is the best you can do. And if you listen to my music and you like it and want to follow, you are welcome to follow me in this great path that is Music.

Kommentera här: