interview with Suicidal Furniture

What´s the name of your band? Suicidal Furniture

How was the band formed? I was formed when Avinoam (guitarist) and me (Alex, drummer) didnt have anyone to play with, and we decided that it was time to do some noise

Can you tell about your band? Suicidal Furniture is an instrumental duo (guitar and drums), we play post rock, mathrock, we try to make it very atmospheric and chaotic we have been playing since 2008

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band?

Avinoam Sternheim guitar Israel

Alex (alejandra ) Levy drums Mexico

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? We only wanted to play, didnt think about the future in that moment 

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Chaotic, Energetic, sensitive, danceable, dreamy

Where was your first gig? our first gig as suicidal furniture was at some competition called Gbob, we played an 8 minute song... we were too weird for the judges

Where was the latest gig? last week at a venue called Koro in Israel

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? we dont have lyrics, sometimes Avinoam comes to a rehearsal with an idea and we work on it, sometimes new songs start when we just "play" at the rehearsals

Who has the best since of humor in the band? I think we both have a very interesting humor, I think I  (alex) have a humour that no one understands 

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? we are not one gener, i think we are a mix of many things together at the same time 

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?

we have 2 albums "in love " http://lebanon1.bandcamp.com/album/suicidal-furniture-2

" tunnels" http://lebanon1.bandcamp.com/album/suicidal-furniture-tunnels

Do you have any clips on YouTube? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMVjlwk9hvA

How old are you?/What got you started in music? Im 31, I was a big fan of a mexican band called "Santa Sabina" , some how I eneded up playing drums

At what age did you start playing? I was 13 when I started

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? The first time I played infront of an audience was in Mexico I played at some x-mas show for the school where I learned music, I was 13 or 14

What year was the band started? 2008

Best/worst gig you've played? mmm there has been many best gigs.. depends on the energies we have on that same day, and how the audince reacts to our music

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? next friday, at a place called Levontin 7 in Israel, 

Where have you played from then till now? we have been blessed with almost one two or three gigs a week so far...

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? deerhoof!!! and many many israeli bands 

Is it always the same songs live? not always the same play list, we try to vary depending on the place we play at, and how we feel

What has been the best/most promising gig so far? the release of our album gigs, have been very emotional and fun gigs...also we are the creators of a duo female drummer festival called "duo sister drummer festival" those are also fun..

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? we were in Germany last summer, it ws very fun

How big crowds do you usually play for? not very big crowds, here in Israel, are mostly close friends who come to the gigs

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Hopefully more gigs, a new album and a tour somewhere interesting

Where do you usually play? at a rehearsal room very very very close to my house 

How do you get psyched up for a gig? deep breathing, stretching, warming up to get ready to play

What are your goals with your music? Well, I would like that I could earn a modest salary with my music, so I wouldnt have to work somewhere else

When did you decide to go all in for the music? music has saved my life so I think ever since then I have a big respect for what I do

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Both, Its always nice to see how experimental music started and what are people doing today

What are your sources of inspiration? could be anything, a feeling, a visual idea, something I hear while walking.. or a song in the radio

What's the first step when making a new song? playing it as much as I can so I wont forget it 

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? Im ok with it, spread the music!!!

What would be your dreams for the band? I wish I could get to the point where my music pays the rent of my apt

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? almost anything, ska, punk, cumbia, whatever, everything is welcome 

What do you hold most dear? myself

What would be your greatest fears for the future? Im not sure, I think besides dying everything has a solution

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then?

there is no fear when im on stage

in love 2013

Tunnels 2014

Have you been part of any other projects?

yes, Im always glad to be involved in other projects,  I always learn from them 

Have you been in any other bands?

yes, spiff and Echobench (nx2)

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I work at a Juice and milkshake place, babysitting

What would you do if there was no music? films, animation, art

How important are your fans? Very important, we dont have many, but if there are some, we love them very much

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? some people had come crying thanking us fro our music, some people have made us paintings, and drawings.

How often do you rehearse? we try at least once a week

Where do you rehearse? in a rehearsing room, very very very close to my home 

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? I like "long" I like hello hell, and the new ones of course

What do you feel is the best live band you've seen? wow, many... many many

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? I suppose never giving up

Do you have any webpages? no, only facebook

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? just play, and keep playing, and then  play some more

Describe your show, visually and musically mmm from my point of view is dark because I mostly play with my eyes closed

How do you view the musicindurty of today? here in Israel, seems to be very very difficult to be a musician

What advice would you like to give other bands? play play play

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? not getting along

What is best/worst with playing the clubs? its always fun to play at clubs 

Tell us about upcomming gigs and why we should be at them? 13.2 levontin 7, 19.2 Etzabots. 26 Shtrauss all of them in Israel

How would you describe your sound in one sentence passive agressive

What was one of the most quarrelsome times for you in the band? there are some tought times, but we have overcome all the osbstacles and became stronger

Whats your Pre-show ritual? stretching, deep breathing, warm up

Do you have anything to add?sometimes music is more than just fun, it can take you to a very spiritual state

Kommentera här: