interview with Hybrid Sheep Organizer

What´s the name of your band? Hybrid Sheep Organizer 

How was the band formed? HSO was spawned from the mind of Alex Kent (me) whom is the only permanent member. I started wanting to have my music heard by people, so I came up with the pseudonym and started promoting it! 

Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? Well actually it just consists of me, or at least I'm the only permanent member. I come from Boise, Idaho. However, a lot of my friends are featured in my music. Like, for example, my two friends play the strings on certain tracks. 

What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Well, to be honest, I just wanted my stuff to be heard. It was time to share it with anyone willing to listen. I'd like to, in the future, have more people actively listening, or perhaps even a fan base! 

Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? Well, to keep it short, I focus mostly on writing songs that are very much my own, if that makes any sense. Like, I just write whatever I feel is applicable to my situation. For the most part, I like to combine folk, punk, and garage rock, but I dabble in country (classic country, not this pop garbage) and even classical music. I've been told that my music is very strange, surreal, as well as beautiful and lush. But that's just what people have said. I'm just being myself in my music, and I think that is what's best about it! 

Who writes your songs?/Who writes the music who writes lyrics? I am responsible for all the arranging and composition of my music, as well as the lyrics. However, I love bouncing ideas back and forth between my friends and musical acquaintances. 

Who has the best since of humor in the band? Well, I'm the only member so... Me I guess. 

What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are?

Good: I'm being heard, I have some extremely supportive friends and fans that I'm super greatful for, and I'm loving what I'm doing!

Bad: nothing really. I guess my dance moves could be better, but that's pretty insignificant! And I think I'm a mix of folk, lo-fi, baroque pop, garage rock, and punk. 

Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? It's just a collection of my influences. My songs are about, you know, the usual topics; life, death, girls, emotions, masterbation, struggles with faith, birds, family, love, and just being human I guess.m

Do you write your own material or mainly covers? I write all my music. 

Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they? I've made an EP called "Me and The Mule" that is available, but I'm also working on a debut LP currently! 

Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yeah, a few. Mostly demos. There is one video of a pre-pubescent me with a badger I actually caught. So that's groovy.  

How old are you?/What got you started in music? I'm actually only sixteen, so one could say I'm very new to music. I've been playing for about 8 years. 

At what age did you start playing? 7 or 8. 

How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? Maybe 12? 

What year was the band started? Late-2012 

Best/worst gig you've played? To quote Scott Pilgram "a gig is a gig is a gig." They all have their ups and downs. 

What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? Anywhere I can! 

Where have you played from then till now? Just small, make-shift venues. Not much else.

Witch band is the best you´ve seen? I saw Jeff Mangum of Neutral Milk Hotel a couple years back. Cried. 

Is it always the same songs live? No, I'm constantly writing new materiel, and I try and change the already existing songs enough to keep my life performance as evolutionary as possible.

Have you had any bigger tours from start to now? No.

How big crowds do you usually play for? A maximum of 30. Numbers are futile, if just a single person comes I'm satisfied. 

What are the plans for the rest of the year? Write music and grow some groovy facial hair. 

How do you get psyched up for a gig? I usually just try and stay calm. I get too worked up about the image I project in other peoples' minds, and have nervous breakdowns. 

What are your goals with your music? Just to have some people enjoying it besides me and my grandma. You know.

When did you decide to go all in for the music? When I exited the birth canal. 

Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Both chronological periods have influenced me. 

What are your sources of inspiration? Um, you know, other artists, my parents, friends, friendly rivalries! 

How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? I think it projects the image of a musician as one who doesn't need money like the rest of us. We all need something to get by. I mean, yes it's art, it's special, but we can't do what we love without a little support. If you wouldn't steal a football players helmet, why steal a musicians work? However, it is great to be heard.

Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? Um, I listen to a lot of indie rock, folk, classic country, classical music, delta blues, and a bit of breakbeat. My favorite artists are Beck, Neutral Milk Hotel, Built to Spill, Coba, Wavves, Hank Williams, Mississippi John Hurt, The Beatles, Fleet Foxes, Pink Floyd, Radiohead, Miss Emma, Weezer, Foxing, Modest Mouse, Grand Wizard Theodore, Best Coast, mewithoutYou, The Hot Snakes, From Indian Lakes, and The Music Tapes.

What do you hold most dear? My family and Friends.

What would be your greatest fears for the future? To be anyone I'm not. 

When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Women. 

Have you been part of any other projects? None that are worth mentioning. 

What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I do yard work. Blowin leaves, painting swing sets. 

What would you do if there was no music? Cry

How important are your fans? They are everything to me, all five of them.

What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? Once a ton of my friends showed up to support me at one of my first gigs. It was awesome. 

How often do you rehearse? Every day.

Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? I wrote a song for this one female I'm friends with called Snot Nose. It's an alright tune. I'm also proud of a jam called All Things Will Pass, For Good or For Bad

What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? Passion. 

 Do you have any webpages? https://soundcloud.com/alex-kent-17

Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Be yourself, drink lots of water, and don't do drugs.

How do you view the musicindurty of today? It's an industry. There's nothing musical about it.

What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Being heard.

How would you describe your sound in one sentence. A unique concoction of gritty lo-fi folk, sensitive heartfelt lyrics, and some occasionally in tune vocals.

What is your favorite crappy instrument? No instruments are crappy. But I think my mom would say it's my accordion. Disclaimer: I love the 

Whats your Pre-show ritual? I sacrifice a virgin to Eddie Van Halen. 

Do you have anything to add? I love you all. 

Kommentera här: