interview with Beautality

Have any of you played in other bands? I've played in a wealth of other bands, spanning a multitude of genres to the point that I've almost lost count. None that actually got anywhere however so all remain unknown to all except for those involved or close to said projects.
How is it that you started playing music? Music has always been inside me. From as young as 3 I recall myself creating songs I would just sing on the spot, at around 6-8 I asked my guitar playing father to show me how to play the riff to The Rolling Stones' 'I can't get no satisfaction'. He sowed me and at that age I had very little patience so I started drumming instead. At 13 my mother gave me a decrepit acoustic guitar that I believe may have had termites. I then got a classical guitar at 14 and the journey began and I would mimmic songs from bands like Nirvana and Radiohead from listening to them. At 17 was when things really did change within me when i got my first electric guitar. It was at that point I knew this is what I wanted to do. I felt so alive. The literal electricity was captivating for me and I began creating songs, enthused with the options that distortion gave me.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? The band currently consists of myself, (David Ravengarde) at the core. I'm the founder of Beautality, vocalist, composer and multi instrumentalist. I've now been joined by live musicians who could become more in the future; Aaron on lead guitar, Adam on drums and Emma on keyboards. I'm 32, Aaron is late 20's and Adam and Emma are mid 30's.
Have you had other previous members? Yes. Lamentably it can be difficult to find reliable musicians with ability and drive within such a niche genre. Not uncommon with extreme metal. Beautality has been a one man band more than once but I do prefer playing with other musicians. It stimulates creativity and is essential to play live performances. 
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, to varying degrees. Progressively moreso with ages.
Where are you from? I'm from central London. Camden Town.
What year did the band form? 2009
What's your style of genre? I like to describe our sound as 'Euphoric Metal' or 'Triumphant Sorrow'. I've heard many descriptions from others however citing such terms as 'progressive black' 'gothic black folk' 'atmospheric post black' and many others. It's nice to be difficult to pigeon hole. To an absolute outsider to the melting point of genres I compose with I usually say 'avant garde metal'.   What inspires you? My dreams, my mind, my intuition. Sounds around me. Life. Love. Loss. The cosmos, supernatural elements, the human mind.
How often and where do you rehearse? In central London and Greater London/Kent. I aim for 2-4 jams a month.  It's upsetting when this doesn't happen. I could happily play every day.
How have you developed since you started with the music? The musicianship and the scope of each song is improved almost immeasurably. Due to the wide nature of influences I possess and what I create, Beautality have alway been unique.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? In my own free time I enjoy creating art, working on comedy and studying psychology and the occult.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I'm definitely open to it. I can hardly offer much in the way of money. As it stands i do see Beautality live as somewhat of a special attraction. I never want the band to be one oversaturated in live performances. Every performance must mean something and leave an impact. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We have a label, Nordavind Records. I have a great relationship with them. What i look for in a label is simple. Promotion, distribution, assistance with artistic designs (album art) and financing recording. I have all of those things barring the last. Recording is very expensive unfortunately. Had it been cheaper Beautality would have far more than just two albums released in 6 years.
What made you decide to make this music? I make this music because I need to. Very simply this is the music i want to listen to.
What are your songs about? My songs can be about a number of things. As I said earlier, life, death, the beyond, love, darkness, the occult, the human mind. Whatever my instinct tells me the story of the song needs to be. I do like metaphors. Being obvious conceptually isn't the most appealing to me so my lyrics can at times be left to the beholder.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do all the composing and create the lyrics. I'm open to suggestions from other members. If it works, fantastic. If not i will not use it. Quite simply my philosophy is whatever makes the song as good as it can be. It's cool when people come up with cool things in the moment. That's why improvisation is so integral to me and to the band.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Generally the music comes first and the lyrics are made thematically around it. I do occasionally come up lyrics and poetry that may or may not be used in the future.
Do you compose in a certain environment? I compose in many places. During work, on break times. At home, on public transport. Wherever inspiration, instinct, intuition and urgency comes to me. The one element I need remains the same however. Solitude. I must be alone when composing structures. Nature and my own self help the creative process. The only near acception is when I'm working through sections with band members in the studio.
Have you done any covers live? I don't believe in covers. I see zero point in replicating a song that already exists.  i like interpretations of songs. I have far too much material to spend time using someone elses. We once did an interpretation of 'The Chain' by Fleetwood Mac live. I'm open to recording some interpretations but down the line when I've recorded vital Beautality stories first.
What language do you sing in? Predominantly English. Though I used some Latin on the first album 'Providence' and German on the second album 'Einfallen'.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? We've played less than 10 live shows. I think 6? 7? 1 show in the last 4 years and never in large venues. Due to a number of frustrating lineup issues. Not exactly prolific The most was around 100 people and the least was around 15. Everyone there had excellent taste.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? I don't know. 20's to 50's I would assume. I gather the average is is 20-30 something.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? They vary. Most rotate. The only song that's been played at every show is 'Beauty In The Beyond'. Einfallen wasn't created at the last show so those songs will play a part live as well. I wouldn't think many though as each song is long.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? No
What was your first gig like? Very gratifying. A wonderful release.
What was your latest gig? Shortly before being signed. March 2014 I believe. And that was the first show in years.
Have you had to cancel a gig? Never thank goodness.
No Where do you plan to gig the coming year? Nowhere. The band are still learning material. THe plan is to start playing live again in the spring of next year.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I haven't got round to that. It's terrible really as I want to merchandise as much things as possible. T shirts is the starting point.... Eventually.
Where can people buy your merchandise? From the band Facebook page which links to Big Cartel.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? As long as they pay I'm fine with it. There is obviously a large element of mystique taken away from physically holding a copy of something and taking in all the information and artwork. I download many albums because I just don't have the space for physical copies anymore.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? People aren't making money and it's really depressing. I've never created music to make money. If I did it would be wonderful, but thats clearly never been my plan making 20 minute songs. All I'd like is enough money to finance the next recording. In an ideal world I'd just create all facets of art without worrying about having to work a tedious job for bills. But I'm a realist.
What do you think of my work? I commend your thorough nature in both discovering bands and the depth of questions you ask.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Every little helps. To what degree who knows. Exposure is important. Especially being as underground as my band are
Do you have any role models or idols? Mikael Akerfeldt, Steve Austin, Larry David, Hank Marvin, Tom G Warrior, Bryan Cranston to name a few.
Why do you think that they exist? They exist through their own personal drive and mother nature.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? All of the above in different ways. The bands I've gown up liking have shaped me in different ways. Newer bands show  potentially interesting aspects of innovation.
What have been your biggest obstacles? LINE UP ISSUES with frustrating people letting me down. Lack of finance.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Always believe in what you do regardless of what others might say or do to hold you back. Listen to your instinct.
How do you get psyched for a gig? I get in the zone. Get predatorial, somewhat otherworldly, nigh animalistic. Almost in a trance of nervous energy mixed with confidence to explode and consume.
Do you have any new material? I have over 300 songs waiting to be created. i am currently working on the third album.
What are your web sites?
https://www.facebook.com/beautality777
http://beautality777.bandcamp.com/
https://nordavindrecords.bandcamp.com/album/einfallen-a-tale-ov-torment triumphhttp://beautalityshop.bigcartel.com/
What are your plans for the future? Play live, make album number 3, make more videos, make merch
Do you have something to add? Watch the video for the song 'Einfallen' herehttps://vimeo.com/134717344
Buy our albums and if you ever have the chance watch us live- We need to fund album number 3.

Kommentera här: