interview with Nodding Sky

Have any of you played in other bands? We've all had and some still have other bands going on. To mention few, Pasi has played in bands such as Strikin’ Case, While I’m Alive and APE. Matti handles bass and singing in his original band Silentium, among other bands.

How is it that you started playing music?

Sami: It took pretty long time before I really started to practise. Before that I was just playing with one finger and tried to get out some songs that I knew. When I finally started really practising it took all of my time..I mean something like 8 hours a day.

OP: I started playing music when I was seven or eight, when my mother put me in the piano lessons. Real inspiration came a lot later though.

Pasi: Inspired to start drumming after listening Metallica’s ..And justice for all

Ville: Nodding Sky made me do it.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

Sami: Guitar & vocals, 33

O-P: Guitar, 35

Pasi Kärkkäinen, drums, 34

Ville: Vocals

Have you had other previous members? O-P: Yeah, our ways separated with our original bass player Jouni few years back. Matti stepped in and has done the bass duties plus then some since then.

Where are you from? Sami: Originally we are from Turku, Finland but nowadays OP, Matti and I live in Turku, Ville lives in Helsinki and Pasi in Tampere.

What year did the band form? O-P: 2009

What's your style of genre? O-P: Melodic metal with shades of death and doom, played with progressive flow and rocking groove. That should give the idea.

What inspires you?

Pasi:  Led Zeppelin

Ville: Music

How often and where do you reherse?

Sami: We rehearse at the time pretty rarely. We are recording our first full-lenght album and we are using most of the time to work with that. When album is ready and we start touring again more intensive we are going to rehearse much more.

Pasi: Home when I feel like it with drum pad.

How have you developed since you started with the music?

Pasi:  Nowadays I only play fills if I can justify it, and try to focus on time keeping and groove. Less is more.

O-P:  As a band, I think we have managed to push our musical boundaries further from each other as our style of composing and arraging our music has matured and fine-tuned.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band?

Sami: I've always dreamed about being a musician so second best option would be winning in a lottery. Pasi: Just my day job.

Ville: Sports and food

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Sami: We are trying to find a record label who will release our forthcoming album. Other option is that we release it our selves if there's not gonna be a decent record deal available for us.

What made you decide to make this music? Ville: We lacked the skills to play technical grindcore, so we compromised a bit.

What are your songs about? Ville: Lyrical themes: grief,  nature, mourning, doom

Do you start with the music or the lyrics?  Sami: Usually we start with music. There's always some lyrics already written which we just try to fit to the music. If it doesn't work, we use other ones or write whole new ones. It's easier to have something to write for than write music to something you've written in paper.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment?

Sami: My composing enviroment is my couch and acoustic guitar. I play almost every day, sometime it's few minutes sometime few hours. But when I play I usually try to compose someting rather than just play cover songs or what ever.

O-P: Mine varies. Usually Inspiration hits while doing something completely else than music. When I have a chance, I try to catch again the same idea I had during the “flow” and polish it.

Have you done any covers live? O-P: We have tried once.

What language do you sing in? O-P: Most of our songs are sung in english, and some in finnish.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? O-P: the least has been just a few local drunkards, the bar staff and the band we were gigging with.

The most has been roughly 90 persons.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? O-P:  I guess 25-30 yrs is near the truth.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?

Sami: Basis of our set list usually remains the same, but there's few songs that takes turns with each other. Also after releasing our first full-lenght album we are going to base our set list on that. Of course we still need to play few older songs too.

O-P: We have had the same basic setlist for some time now, in which one or two songs are either cast out or included depending on how long we’re allowed to play.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Sami: We used to have this place called S-Osis here in Turku that we played at really often. But they closed it few years ago and now there's not that kind of place anymore for us.

What was your first gig like?  Ville: Nervecracking.

What was your latest gig? O-P: At Torvi, Lahti.

Have you had to cancel a gig? O-P: Our gig has been cancelled due to unfortunate events, but we haven't cancelled one yet.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Ville: Southern Finland at least

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

Sami: Well I think it's easier to get your own music to the people when they download it to their computers or mobilephones. I understand that there are still people who wants to buy CDs because of the covers and stuff but me personally, I'm happy with the music. I do enjoy cover art still so I'm kind of between these two fires here.

Pasi: Personally I like physical form more, but digital form makes distribution way more easy.

What do you think of my work? Respect for the effort you put in it. This kind of work helps the underground stay vibrant.

Do you have any role models or idols?

Pasi: John Bonham

Ville: Devin Townsend

Why do you think that they exist? Ville: Because God is real!

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Pasi: Now and then I find new band that inspires me, like Primordial. I still draw more from 70’s rock and progressive music.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Ville: At the moment it's the distance between us.

What advice would you give other bands or artists?

Sami: Keep it real. Do what you want to do. Don't let anyone change your way of thinking and trust in your own music. You know the best although there might still be good ideas flying around you that you should take under consideration. Work hard to achieve your goal and never give up. Don't burn bridges behind you and help others to achieve their goals.

Pasi: Be polite.

Ville: practice makes better

How do you get psyched for a gig?

Pasi: Warm up. Drink beer or two.

Ville: Usually I sacrifice an animal or two. Sometimes suck the blood out of them.

Do you have any new material? Ville: Yes, we have just released two new songs. You can check them out in our website www.noddingsky.net

How can people reach you? ie. via Facebook or e-mail

What are your plans for the future? Ville: Write and perform music that we love.

Do you have something to add? Ville: Winter is coming!O-P: Thanks for your time.

Kommentera här: