interview with Tempers Creature

Hello, first things first: What is the name of your band and are there any releases yet?
Aurgelmir: Hello there, we are „Tempers Creature“, Black Metal from Germany and yes, we have four releases yet:

Eternal Sorrow (EP, released 2011 via Depressive Illusions)

Thanatos (full-lenght, released 2012 via Depressive Illusions)

Lupus Est Homo Homini (full-lenght, released 2014 via Sturmglanz)

Si Vis Vitam, Para Mortem (full-lenght, released 2014 via Sturmglanz)

Have any of you played in other bands? Aurgelmir: I don’t have any other bands, but my drummer has. He is the mastermind / drummer of two Franconian Pagan Black Metal bands.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Aurgelmir: Tempers Creature are Náttfari (my mentioned drummer) and me (Aurgelmir). I am playing the guitars, bass, keyboards, mandolin… and I also do the vocals. We are both around 30.
Have you had other previous members? Aurgelmir: Yes, Tempers Creature had two former members, both on the drums. The most important of them is Jalfur, he is a fantastic musician who sadly moved away. But that also had some positive side-effects: My „new“ drummer, Náttfari, is the best that could happen to our band.
Did you make music even when you were young? Aurgelmir: I make music since I am 20, Náttfari was about 17 or 18 when he started his project „Nebelleben“.
Where are you from? Aurgelmir: Náttfari is, as I said, from Franconia (Bavaria / Germany) and I am from Swabia (also Bavaria / Germany).
What year did the band form? Aurgelmir: I started Tempers Creature in 2008 as a Dark Ambient one-man-project, later, around 2011 / 2012, Jalfur joined the project. That was as the beginning of Tempers Creature as a Black Metal band.
What's your style of genre? Aurgelmir: We are playing a mixture of Neofolk, Pagan-, Depressive- and Atmospheric Black Metal, but we named our style „Suebian Heathen Music“ because it is hard to describe our music, you have to hear it to know what I mean.
What inspires you? Aurgelmir: My main-influenes are our nature, my homeland, the northern gods and mythology.
How have you developed since you started with the music? Aurgelmir: As I said i started the band as a Dark Ambient project, simply because I had no drummer. But my wish always was to play Black Metal. So, since I’ve had my first drummer I changed my style to the mentioned unique Black Metal.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Aurgelmir: We are working with a label, „Sturmglanz Black Metal Manufaktur“ from Thuringia, Germany. And we are absolutely satisfied with their work. A label is the most efficient way to produce high-qualitiy releases with a proper promotion.
What are your songs about? Aurgelmir: Our songs match my influences, I sing about northern mythology, my beloved homeland- and country, about nature, my gods, but also about misanthropy and the badness of mankind.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Aurgelmir: I am the composer of Tempers Creature, the lyrics are written by both, Náttfari and me.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Aurgelmir: First the music, than the lyrics to follow.
Have you done any covers? Aurgelmir: Yes, for example on our first release, „Thanatos“ - there are two Lifelover-Covers since this band influenced me most.
What language do you sing in? Aurgelmir: We are singing in our mothers tounge, German.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Aurgelmir: We are not a live-act. I dont’t want to play my songs live, the magic of the songs would be lost.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Aurgelmir: We started selling merchandise with the release of our third record, „Lupus Est Homo Homini“, in 2014. Currently we are selling patches and shirts.
Where can people buy your merchandise? Aurgelmir: At the website of our label, which is: http://sturmglanz.de/shop/catalog/index.php
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Aurgelmir: Well, download-forums can be a good promotion. If the people get to know your band by downloading a record, it is not a bad thing. Of course it would be better for both, label and band, if the people buy your actual physical releases, but if they like the stuff they downloaded it’s quite probably that they will buy future releases.
Do you have any role models or idols? Aurgelmir: I wouldn’t say role models or idols. But there are bands and persons that influenced my music. Varg Vikernes, Lifelover or Blutklinge just to name some examples.

Kommentera här: