interview with Locust Grove

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes we all have I played guitar for Anti-Mortem. Vince played guitar in Siva Addiction, Quentin played bass in Warneck, and Joey our drummer has played for Black Mantra and Lord Dying
How is it that you started playing music? I have always had an interest in music I loved singing and I had a keyboard I played a lot, then got into guitar at 14 and the rest has been history.
What are your names?/ Who plays what? /How old are you?
Zain Smith-Lead Singer/Guitarist-24 years old
Vince Lindstrom-Guitarist-28 years old
Quentin Williams-Bass Guitar 28 years old
Joey Mandigo-Drummer-19 years old 
Have you had other previous members? No this is the original lineup! 
Did you make music even when you were young? I started at about 14 writing my own songs and haven't stopped since
Where are you from? born and raised in Oklahoma
What year did the band form? Oct 2014
What's your style of genre? Hard Rock, Metal.
What inspires you? Music inspires me everyday I look for something new or write something new I am constantly searching for the new sound it helps me stay original but the dream of playing music for fans everyday is inspiring. I have had people tell me my music has saved their life in some way and that is inspiring.
How often and where do you reherse? Everyday and at my studio/Jam room  
How have you developed since you started with the music? I would say I have came along way, there's always room for improvement but I started just playing guitar and now I can play drums to which has made me a better musician as a whole. my guitar has helped drumming and my drumming has made me a better guitarist. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Honestly..... no I work in construction at the moment and I am good at what I do there to but my heart and mind is in my music career. everyday at home I write songs or work in the studio on something or have band practice I try to work everyday on something.  
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? My thoughts on that is when you make it to a label and have good management they will take you to booking agents at that point or at least in my past experience it worked that way!
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes I am. it is crucial to have a strong support team behind you a label that really cares about the music. 
What made you decide to make this music? I was in Anti-Mortem we were signed touring and doing well and the band split in Oct 2014 I didn't want to stop, that band and music was everything I lived for. This band carries the same attitude with heavier guitar riffs! 
What are your songs about? that would depend on the song!
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Vince and I compose the music and we collectively write the lyrics. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music first then vocal melodies and words
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? My studio and sometimes acoustic for when im away
Have you done any covers live? We haven't performed live yet our first show is March 26th in Oklahoma City at the Diamond Ballroom
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? Don't know yet
What ages are most of your concert attendants? I would imagine young kids all the way to old school rockers.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? They will Vary  
Do you have a regular place you play live often? there is a few local venues we will hit every so often but hopefully we will get out and tour.
What was your first gig like? Don't know yet
What was your latest gig? March 26th
Have you had to cancel a gig?  Hopefully Never!
Where have you played live this year? No where
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? Everywhere!
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We will have it all stocked up shortly we just ordered Stickers, Shirts, Guitar Picks, we will have demo cd's out soon as well
Where can people buy your merchandise? at a show we will be setting a online store up soon!
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I understand it because I have been that young kid that wants to hear every new song and band out there and it was easy then and easier now to steal it. Sucks for the artists so I wish there was a way to control it. I still buy albums because I am a fan of the art the lyrics inside ect.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? lots of money has been lost labels aren't as big, there isn't as many around as there was. Its hard that's for sure.
What do you think of my work? I think its awesome means a lot to have people like you support music!
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I know it will because exposure is exposure. 1 or 1 million it doesn't matter.
Do you have any role models or idols? Yes I do when it comes to guitar Dimebag Darrell is my Hero always will be there will never be another person like him! When it comes to vocals I look up to a couple different people I love layne from Alice in Chains, also a huge fan of Aaron Lewis from Staind.
Why do you think that they exist? I know of all these people because they had the talent to make it to the top.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?  Me personally I feel older bands. Music has changed a lot and there hasn't been a lot of bands that have came out in the last 10 years that brought anything new to the table
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Write your own songs
Do you have any new material? All of this material is considered new at the moment but I am constantly writing
What are your web sites? www.facebook.com/Locustgrovemusic
How can people reach you? Facebook
What are your plans for the future? hopefully get on a label release an album and start touring!

Kommentera här: