interview with Those Left Behind

What´s the name of your band? Those Left Behind.
How was the band formed? I was cleaning out the hard drive on my computer and came over this song I wrote and recorded some years ago. This was in 2010 if I remember correctly. The song was done some years prior just to portrait how the drums would sound in our studio (Kamfer Studio, Mosjøen, Norway). I think I was ment to do some drums for some project with Per from Vredehammer.  Can’t remember what exact project but anyhow.
I found this song called “Mutilation Reel” and thought it sounded to cool to be scrapped. 
So I emailed the song to Mike of Horror Pain Gore Death Productions to see if he was interested in doing something with it. He dug it and wanted to hear more so I just came up with the band name and told him I had a bunch of songs, which I of course didn’t. 
So I started writing and recording and I sent him roughmixes of the songs along the way. 
A good 3 months later I guess the album was done…
Can you tell about your band? There’s not that much to tell. It came to be some sort of tribute to those bands that fortunately never became Metallica but probably would have deserved the fame way more.
Where are all band members from?/Who does what in the band? Well. I write the music and the lyrics and played most of the instruments on “Horror Classics”. The other guys was credited with photos in the booklet so it would seem more like a fully membered band. Matt drew the artwork. He’s a great artist from USA and does insane stuff with his pen. Mike released it on his label, Horror Pain Gore Death Productions, Philladelphia. Stian is a long time friend of mine and he played fretless bass on one track. Per from Vredehammer played a solo on “Surfin’ USA”.
What was the ambitions of the band when you started? Just to avoid scrapping “Mutilation Reel”.
Could you explain your music to someone that haven't heard you? It’s old school death metal, plain and simple.
Where was your first gig? It was fall 2014 actually. TLB never was fully membered and I’m way to lazy so I never got around to doing gigs. But I posted a track called “Residing in a Pile of Maggots” on a local songwriting contest just for the hell of it and I won like a monthly part final and there was some money involved and they wanted me to play the song live in the final so I just asked around got a couple of friends of mine to step in and do guitars and bass while I handled drums and vocals myself. This resulted in us being invited to play a local week long music festival and we accepted. So TLB has been on the stage twice so far
Where was the latest gig? It was in Mosjøen during the week long music festival Sjøgata Live. We entered the stage at midnight just when the storm “Ole” was peaking
Who writes your songs?/ who writes the music who writes lyrics? I do everything.
Who has the best since of humor in the band? Me…or me…can’t decide.
What's good/bad with the band?/What genre do you feel you are? The good thing is that it’s old school. I’m lazy…that’s bad. Death Metal. No doubt.
Why did you pick that particular style?/What are your songs about? Most of the songs are based on old horror movies. The ones I write myself could have been horror movies.
Do you write your own material or mainly covers? Mainly selfwritten. But we add interpretations of songs we like here and there.
Have you made any albums?/If yes what are they?
“Horror Classics – and other tales from the darkside”
Working on several new releases as we speak.
Do you have any clips on YouTube? Yes. I think there’s both live clips and I believe someone has posted the whole album as well.
How old are you?/What got you started in music? I’m 37. I saw Chris Holmes going wild in the video for the WASP track “I wanna be somebody” and I just knew what I was gonna do.
At what age did you start playing? Probably around 12.
How old were you guys when you first stood on stage? I was 13/ 14. 
What year was the band started? 2010. But it should have been formed in 1985.
Best/worst gig you've played? Well. Both gigs actually. Since the setting was kinda none metal. But I’ve played worse gigs with other bands.
What places will you be playing in in the imidate future? No plans yet.
Where have you played from then till now? Nowhere.
Witch band is the best you´ve seen? The Mars Volta. No doubt.
How do you get psyched up for a gig? I just have some beers and chill…
What are your goals with your music? To revive the brutality of the late 80’s metal.
When did you decide to go all in for the music? I always knew I’d be doing this. But I never decided anything. I just write music.
Is it easier to get your inspiration from older bands or from bands more modern? Mostly older bands. In this case at least.
What are your sources of inspiration? Mostly moods or movies.
What's the first step when making a new song? It depends. Usually I just grab a guitar and shit happens. 
How do you feel about the downloading of music instead of buying albums? It sucks. But I must admit to doing it myself. Streaming is practical. But I hate it
What would be your dreams for the band? Playing a club scene with Autopsy and Immolation. And Sepultura with the 1986 line up
Besides your own music, what genres and bands do you listen to? I listen to a broad variety of genres. I only listen to my own stuff when I’m working on it.
What do you hold most dear? My girlfriend and my son.
When you are on stage, what do you fear most then? Equipment failure.
What songs and what years were they released? “Horror Classics”. 2010.
Have you been part of any other projects? Have you been in any other bands? Yes. Diabolical Breed, Enslavement of Beauty, Gaia Epicus, Hellhaven, Tremor. Probably more but I can’t remember. And I’ve released som stuff with my full name Ole Alexander Myrholt.
What do you work with outside of the band and the music? I work in health care.
What would you do if there was no music? Probably paint. And write of course.
How important are your fans? Very important. People finding your shit interesting is what it’s all about.
What's the funniest/most memorable thing a fan has done for you? I received some cashewnuts from Iran. And Saphran. That was cool.
How often do you rehearse? Not often. Probably rehearse a couple of times before a gig.
Where do you rehearse? It depends on which band I’m doing.
Name 2 of your own songs you like at the moment? Nefertiti and Midnight Ride. Both unreleased songs from other projects. But they’ll come.
What drives a band that isn't all that famous and renowned to try to make a living on their music and to keep playing? I never tried to make a living on playing. I just need to be creative.
Do you have any webpages? www.gostickafuckinggrenadeupyourass.com kinda sums it up. You’ll find most things I’ve done there.
Any pearls of wisdom for all other bands out there? Wear your independence like a crown.
Describe your show, visually and musically Just some guys playing metal.
How do you view the musicindurty of today? It’s fucked. Hopeless. The industry killed itself with hitcompilations.
What are the biggest obstacles for a band? Getting seen in a jungle of bands.
What is best/worst with playing the clubs? Playing is cool. Rigging the equipment and doing soundcheck sucks.
How would you describe your sound in one sentence Old school.
Do you have anything to add? Thanks for the interest. 

Kommentera här: