interview with Infinite Halo

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, a couple in High School and then 2 as an adult.
How is it that you started playing music? I always loved keyboards and I received one as a Christmas gift one year. I then was recruited into my first band in high school.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? It's just myself. ~Nothing~ 33 years old.
Have you had other previous members? No.
Did you make music even when you were young? Not as seriously as I do now.
Where are you from? I was born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, USA.
What year did the band form? 1998
What's your style of genre? I compose under many genres, it depends on what comes out of me at the time. I've done rock, black metal, neo-classical, ebm, happy hardcore, hardcore techno, trance, etc...
What inspires you? I get inspiration from my wife, movies, books, pretty much anything.
How often and where do you rehearse? I don't perform live, so there is no need for this.
How have you developed since you started with the music? I'm more in tune with what other musicians are doing in their music. 
Do you have other interests or work outside the band? Yes, a great many things but mainly video games and what I like to call "Nerd Games."
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? No, I don't intend on performing live,
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I would love to get signed on a label but I literally don't have a way to perform live.
What made you decide to make this music? My soul.
What are your songs about? Nothing and everything all at once. They're basically dreams in audio form.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I do both when applicable.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music.
Do you compose in a certain environment? Nope, I have a computer that I work on, at a desk, in my bedroom.
Have you done any covers live? In the other bands, yes.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? My first gig with a band there were roughly 80 people, the least amount was probably 15-20.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Between 20-45
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? They were generally the same.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? No.
What was your first gig like? I was a bundle of nerves, so I drank a lot of beer and got really into it. It was very liberating but also very nerve wracking.
What was your latest gig? Many years ago already.
Have you had to cancel a gig? No.
Where have you played live this year? Nowhere.
Where do you plan to gig the coming year? Nowhere.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I didn't and don't have anything.
Where can people buy your merchandise? There is none.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Music is medicine for people. If people HAVE to obtain medicine illegally to get well then so be it. If you can afford to buy it, then don't steal it. Everyone needs music.
How do you think the music industry has changed because of this? There really isn't any anticipation or the hype there used to be when a new album was ready to be released. I remember standing in line to buy new albums when I was a teenager, I doubt this happens anymore.
What do you think of my work? I haven't heard it.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I really don't care if it does anything for me. I've never been interviewed before. This is very exciting and I'm just enjoying it for what it is.
Do you have any role models or idols? I do, Rozz Williams, Claus Larsen, Mozart, Marilyn Manson, Johan Hegg
Why do you think that they exist? They were born, same as me. They just have awesome musical talents and were fortunate enough to make it in this world!
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Either really, both have something to offer.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Depression and the meds to battle it. It has really blocked my creativity and ability to write music. It's a long hard battle.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Do what you feel needs to be done, don't change anything for anyone not in the band and never date a fellow member.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Just practice.
Do you have any new material? Not in a few months.
What are your web sites? Just the facebook page.
How can people reach you? Through facebook.
What are your plans for the future? Survive and hopefully start writing again at some point.
Do you have something to add? No, but I would like to thank you, so, thank you!

Kommentera här: