interview with Boyfriend Material

Have any of you played in other bands? I (Shauna) previously did a few tours in a band called Label Readers. Jesse and Rob P. are currently in other bands. Jesse is in Arrows in Action and Rob is in Heart Prevails. They are both pretty cool and should be checked out! I know the guys have been in a few other projects as well. 
How is it that you started playing music? My father is a guitar player and I grew up around instruments. I looked up to female fronted bands and solo projects like No Doubt and Ani DiFranco at a very young age. I never took it seriously until I got older and played in Label Readers. Touring got me motivated and when that project broke up I started Boyfriend Material as a solo endeavor to continue being on the road. The other members didn't come until much later and they all have their own unique back stories. But I wanted to expand the project and they are all talented, on board, and great friends! 
What are your names? / Who plays what? I play the guitar and ukulele, I also do vocals. Rob Paradise plays lead guitar (and rips). Jesse Frimmel is on drums and Robert Carter is on bass. 
Have you had other previous members? Yes, it was a process getting everyone on the same page since this project has already been going for three years. But we are all very excited to be playing together! 
Where are you from? Our band resides in Gainesville, Florida: home of FEST.
What year did the band form? I started the project in 2013 but the full band started this past fall. 
What's your style of genre? We call it: "Gainesville mid-fi" or "1950s prom rock but faster".
What inspires you? I personally am inspired by the people I have met through music. I have made amazing friends across the country who I love like family. Particularly, Community Records has been a second family to me. At times if I ever feel like music is becoming too much, I know that they will be supportive of me. It's amazing to have that in a label and in friends. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? We are currently on Community Records! As I said, it has been great working with them! 
What are your songs about? I write all of the lyrics and they are about personal experiences. Everything I write is about something I've went through. A lot of our work has been very confessional on my part within the lyrics but I think it's important to be honest and genuine through art. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I used to start with the lyrics and now it's kind of a mix of both. Whatever comes first I will work with it. 
What was your latest gig? We recently played at Boca Fiesta in Gainesville. We also have our album release show on June 4th at the Civic Media Center with Nightwitch, Kiiks, and Giraffe!
Where can people buy your merchandise?
What have been your biggest obstacles? It was definitely difficult getting recognition as a solo, female musician. But touring and staying consistent really helped me in this. I sometimes got a lot of crap from people before it but it only gave me a thicker skin. I'm very happy I decided to keep pushing through it because I'm very happy with where this project is going! 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Everyone wants to be a rockstar. And that takes a lot of time, effort, and dedication. It is a full time job for most. I am not a rockstar. I am just a young adult jamming with friends, pushing for us as much as I can, and having a ton of fun while doing it. And that's the important part: to make sure that you enjoy it. Make sure that you're working with people you like working with, while producing music that you enjoy and can be proud of. You don't have to be the most talented person in the world to write a song. Just pick up an instrument or a microphone and put your whole heart into it. 
How do you get psyched for a gig? I actually have a terrible anxiety disorder so playing shows gives me panic attacks. But I just keep talking to my bandmates and friends until they help make me feel better. But once I'm on stage, I usually love being in that moment. 
Do you have any new material? Yes! We just released our self-titled EP on May 27th! You can find it on boyfriendmaterialfl.bandcamp.com
What are your web sites?
How can people reach you? Via email or Facebook message. Our band account is [email protected].
What are your plans for the future? We have a show on June 4th at the CMC for our album release. We are also playing FEST as a full band this year. Then hopefully we will have some tours coming up this fall and winter!
Do you have something to add? Thank you very much! You're doing wonderful things! 

Kommentera här: