interview with Utopian Despair

Have any of you played in other bands? I played in various amateur groups since many years

How is it that you started playing music? I started playing guitar at 16 years old, i loved Metal music and others styles, that's why i tried to play.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name's Aurelien, i play guitar, bass, piano. I'm 30 years old

Have you had other previous members? I never had. I make music alone

Did you make music even when you were young? Yeah i played guitar as autodidact

Where are you from? I'm from France

What year did the band form? I started my own one man band in 2011

What's your style of genre? I love Metal music, Death, Black, Funeral Doom,.. Blues, Jazz, rock, progressive, classic too

What inspires you? Everything's black, death, despair...

How often and where do you reherse? I'm writing sometimes, when i'm inspired

How have you developed since you started with the music? I just try to write and record when i can and if i have time 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Maybe one day

What made you decide to make this music? I needed to find a way to externalize thoughts

What are your songs about? About life, death, nothingness, my ex girlfriend too

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Only me

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? I started to make an instrumental project, so, the music

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Yes, in my studio with a few drink

What language do you sing in? In english

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I never made gigs

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? One day i hope to play with a complete band

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I think music market must adapt however, i just would like some bands i love could goes on

What do you think of my work? I think that's a nice work

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Maybe some people could be interest to listen my music, and talk around the.

Do you have any role models or idols? Not really , only admiration for some artists or bands

Why do you think that they exist? Maybe because they made great songs

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think it's a medley from many bands, old or young

What have been your biggest obstacles? It was to buy all the equipment to record and produce music, but produce too. It's still a very big obstacle today. I'm not a sound engineer

What advice would you give other bands or artists? I would not presume to give advice because I am not able to do so. But only to continue to take pleasure in making music

How do you get psyched for a gig? I think i could be very happy to get a gig, so it could be relatively easy for me 

Do you have any new material? Not since a long time except new motoring studio 

How can people reach you? By mailing or on Facebook (Utopian Despair). I'm really easy to reach

What are your plans for the future? I would like make my one man band in only one band. Continue to write and record too.

Do you have something to add? Just want to thank you for interest brought to my one man band

Kommentera här: