interview with ЛетаСфера

Have any of you played in other bands? I played the lead guitar in a classic heavy metal band called "Materia Prima" about 5 years ago, I played keyboards in a pop-rock band called "Troover" somewhere back in 1997, and I do sing and play guitar in two cover bands called Das Ist Band and The Gugenson Trio.

How is it that you started playing music? We started the collaboration 3 years ago, in late 2013, being a doctor and a patient (me) at the first place. 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My musical nickname is Jurgen Gugenson, so call me that way :) I am 40 years old (really? hahaha), I play guitars, keyboards, bass and drums. My mate's name is Denis, he is 39 years old and he plays keyboards and rhythm guitar.  He is also writing all songs for our duo.

Have you had other previous members? No, we haven't had any. 

Did you make music even when you were young? I wrote my first song in 1994 which was called 'It's All Gone', it's an electro-pop song. But I've been playing piano and singing since I was really very young. I am still young, huh? Denis has also made some stuff being a student of a medical university.

Where are you from? We are both from Russia, I come from Moscow, Denis is from Lipetsk.

What year did the band form? Late 2013, October I think.

What's your style of genre? It is what I call "radio-rock". It is fine to listen to this kind of stuff when you're listening to the radio.

What inspires you? Well, there is inspiration and there is inspiration. :) These may be different, I don't know really. An unshared love. A view from the plane's window when you are 36000 ft above the ground. A long road. A tryout of a new instrument or a preset in a synth, an unusual sound, which makes your fingers move and your brain continues playing an occasional tune in your head, transferring it back to your fingers again. Many kinds of things.

How often and where do you reherse?  Mmm.... We do rehearse, yes. Sometimes, before the gig, if we have a brand new song which has just been programmed into the iPad which we use for backing tracks. Or when we are going to perform with our third member who is not permanent - a violinist, Anastasia. I personally sometimes forget the solos I've made during the recording, so this needs to be rehearsed not to improvise during the concert. And Denis forgets the lyrics ;) 

How have you developed since you started with the music? Oh, I think I am developing all the time. Permanently. As long as we both play. Every year seems to be an improvement. Growing as a musician always makes you feel younger than you are.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I am a professional television director, and that is my main job. Morning entertainment show. Denis has also got a profession, he is a doctor.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes, we are, any offerings? :) The fact that all our lyrics are written in Russian language potentially decreases the audience range, but they can be translated, can't they?...

What made you decide to make this music? I never play the music which is not transferred through the heart and soul. It is simply unfair. And when we are making songs, it usually happens the following way - Denis writes a song and records a reference demo with an acoustic guitar and sends it to me. Then I make the final decision if we take this or that song. If I can't pass it through myself and my heart, I always "No, this won't be any truth. I can't play this. I can't tell lies." But most of the songs are exactly the ones that meet my requirements :) So we make this music, finally.

What are your songs about? Life. But we are trying not to teach anybody how to live.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Denis. He writes the lyrics and creates a melodic form of song.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Myself it happens this and that way. Both. Depends on the mood at the current moment.

Do you compose in a certain environment? The flight inspires. 

Have you done any covers live? We are doing a couple with "LetaSfera", and I've done a whole lot of them with my trios.

What language do you sing in? "LetaSfera" in a Russian language project, but all songs of my own are in English. Also 90% of the songs we perform with my cover bands are English.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? From 10 to 300, or maybe more :) Sometimes the lights are too bright to see the audience.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? 30+.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We create the playlist in accordance with the place and the event we are playing at or dedicate the gig to. We may start and finish with the same songs but inside the list may be shuffled.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes, there is a pub downtown Moscow called "Doolin House".

Have you had to cancel a gig? Yes, when they told us there was nobody responsible for the sound equipment on stage and no sound engineer.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records nowadays? It is an amazing thing when you can download stuff. It is cool. It is promotion, first of all. Analogue means rule, however. I love old-school sources of recordings - reel to reel tapes, cassettes, vinyl...

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It became faster and louder.

What do you think of my work? I comment as a mass-media related person - it's useful. 

Do you have any role models or idols? I may only answer for myself here. Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode, Brian Setzer, Stray Cats, Johnny Cash. Quite a wide range, I may simply forget the names. I can't say they are literaly IDOLS but they are extremely talented and always serve as a perfect reference and a sample of high taste.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Depends on the kind of stuff they're making. I love both older and modern bands, maybe older a bit more because they take me to the times when we were careless and young.

What have been your biggest obstacles? My main job.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Be yourself and make music that you pass through your heart and soul. You will be heard if you tell and express the truth.

How do you get psyched for a gig? Close my eyes and sit in a silent room.

Do you have any new material? It is being under production at the moment. Actually, new material is always sounding in our heads. Sometimes you hear music in a dream and it disappoints when you wake up and you don't remember a thing.

What are your web sites? 

https://www.facebook.com/Jurgen-Gugenson-155565727819629/ - my page

https://www.facebook.com/letasfera - The "LetaSfera" duo

How can people reach you? Send us private messages or write on the walls.

What are your plans for the future? Improving ourselves as musicians. Surely. No way back.

Do you have something to add? Peace! :)

Kommentera här: