interview with Jean-Philippe Brénot

How is it that you started playing music? I loved music when I was very young, listening and buying records. So later when I had money enough I bought a synthesizer and began to play a little bit and my folk guitar. And I used to record myself with my Revox B77 !
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I am alone. I play every instrument except sax and guitars. My name is Jean-Philippe Brénot. I used my name in past. Now I use Phil BRENO, shorter and easier name !!
Did you make music even when you were young? Well…I bought a folk guitar when I was 17.
Where are you from? I am French. Paris in France
What year did the band form? In 1984 I really began to compose.
What's your style of genre? Synthesizer music, Pink Floyd, Vangelis.
What inspires you? Love and sadness inspire me!
How often and where do you rehearse? Due to the fact I am alone I rehearse when I want. At home with headphones or little loudspeakers.
How have you developed since you started with the music?I have released 5 albums and some titles were in a compilation from Sony music. And a lot of titles unreleased.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Yes I am looking for a label.
What made you decide to make this music? My feelings, I need music !
What are your songs about?About feeling, mainly because it is orchestral music.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I compose and write everything.
Have you done any covers live? Yes
What language do you sing in? English, but not singing, speaking sometimes.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 500
What ages are most of your concert attendants? Well from 10 to 70, that’s true. Average 40
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I vary but of course 80% are the same…
What was your first gig like? 200 people on the national music festival in streets
What was your latest gig? A music festival. I was invited by synthesizer school
Where do you plan to gig the coming year? I have no plan this year. Only composing and making videos for my music.
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? My albums. The first one was released in 1989. I had a record company an publishing company. So I was not in charge of selling. My music was used many times on TV  also.
Where can people buy your merchandise? On internet and before in shops.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? That is life. Times are different. In past I used to buy CD..That was great and I used to have a very nice hifi system. Nowdays people listen on a small PC with bad resolution and quality. In my home my bass HP for home cinema is still a 38cm HP with almost 1 cubic meter. So if they enjoy the music it is a little bit ok.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Yes mainly.
What do you think of my work?I think that it is very nice. You are right.
Do you have any role models or idols? Pink Floyd, Vangelis.
Why do you think that they exist? Because they are famous musicians, real ones…
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think from older bands. But it comes from inside me. So I do not know in fact.
What have been your biggest obstacles?To compose this kind of music.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Have fun and be sincere. Believe in what you do. But quality does not mean that you will succeed every time. It is sure !
How do you get psyched for a gig? To perform a gig is fantastic because you share emotions, you offer your music.
How can people reach you? With my email address : [email protected]
What are your plans for the future? Well try to find a new label.
Do you have something to add? Yes : THANK YOU !

Kommentera här: