interview with Chick Jagger

Have any of you played in other bands?
Crash: No,  

TommyK: Yes .... I get to sub now and again.
How is it that you started playing music?

Crash: I took Piano lessons when i was 11 and in school was always in involved with the choirs. I even took Vocal Music every year in high school. 

Tommy: I have always loved music.  In school we played crappy instruments like the recorder and the clarinet. I always wanted to be in a rock band.  When I was 16, a friend of mine was starting a band ........he said he needed a bassist, so I bought a bass.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Tommy K, Bass, 43    

Crash (Ashley) Vocals and Hotness, .... a lady never reveals her age!
Ron M on Drums

Anthony C on Guitars 
Have you had other previous members?
Yes, there have been two main configurations of the band.  Originally we had a second guitarist and a different drummer. The band originally consisted of Ron P guitar, Anthony C guitar, Rick M drums, Tommy K Bass, and Crash Vox.  A year after we'd started, we reduced the guitars to just a single guitarist with Ron P on guitar/harmonies.  After another shuffle and a few years down the road, Anthony is now back with us and he has brought along with him an awesome drummer, Ron M.
Did you make music even when you were young?
Crash: yes, I wrote silly songs that 10 year olds make up ... and I forced my family to listen to them, LOL!!!  

Tommy: Nope
Where are you from?
Just north of Toronto in a little town called Newmarket, Ontario, Canada. 

Crash: Both of us grew up in small towns about 30mins from each other. 
What year did the band form? early 2010
What's your style of genre?
We are a Rolling Stones Tribute band, but we play the Stones heavy and more modern ....And with a CHICK instead of a MICK!!!
What inspired you? Tommy: Karaoke!!!!  Crash and I were out singing Karaoke (.... we do ALOT of Karaoke) and she had just finished singing "Honky Tonk Women" by the Stones ... when she came back to the table I said "hey hey, well done ...Chick Jagger"  and at that moment I saw the marketing and the vision of us on stage.  I had been looking for a new band ... and so the timing was right.  CJ was born.

How often and where do you rehearse? Tommy K: In the beginning, weekly, RELIGIOUSLY!!!  Now, we all know the songs and can practice at home. We all get together to rehearse only for new songs and if we haven't done a show in a bit... rehearsals are more for us to hang out and have fun without the pressure of "the gig"
How have you developed since you started with the music? Crash: In the beginning, I was very green. Very little stage experience and I was kind of like a deer caught in headlights.  After a few shows and how confident I became in the music and myself, I started to take on the persona of "Chick Jagger". Amped up the wardrobe with sexy dresses and added a feather boa to the "costume". I move around a lot more on stage and I have learned to talk to the crowd and interact with them throughout the show. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Crash: I am also a children's entertainer ...Look up "Miss Ashley" on YouTube lol!!!  I have done festivals and birthday parties and let me tell you....children are the best audience! They don't care if you mess up or sing a bad note. They just enjoying someone singing with them. Not that I ever sing bad notes 😉 haha. 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Tommy K: ... they are looking at us.  Only if it make dollars, not just sense! lol!
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Tommy K: Not at the moment .... we had a company that was putting out Tribute band albums contacts us a while back.  I'll have to get in contact with them again.
What made you decide to make this music?
Tommy: The Stones are the grandfathers of rock .... we just pay homage to that ... with our rawkin flair.

Crash: In the beginning it was the idea of a Chick doing Rolling Stones. The more we went over the material, we actually started to fall in love with the music. The Stones have such a large catalouge with varied genres over the years, it's easy to respect why they're one of the greatest rock bands ever. 
What are your songs about? Crash: Sex Drugs and Rock and Roll ... that's what the Stones are all about
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? The Glimmer Twins (Keith and Mick) 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Crash: Of course we don't write the lyrics but when singing them I don't switch genders.  In Beast of Burden one of the lyric lines is "You keep on telling me/I'm not your kind of man".  I keep the line true to what Jagger and Richards wrote. I Son't switch to "I'm not your kind of woman".  The gender switch is something fun and a bit cheeky. 
Have you done any covers live?
Tommy K: We only do covers

Crash: That's how the Stones started....as an American Blues cover band. 
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?
Tommy K: We have played to empty rooms and to packed outdoor festivals

Crash: Of course we prefer large audiences
What ages are most of your concert attendants?
35-45
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Crash: Our set lists vary, we add different songs for different crowds The Rolling Stones have 55 years of music to chose from.
Do you have a regular place you play live often? Tommy K: We love to play the Rockpile in Toronto
What was your first gig like?
Tommy K : It was at a place called The Horseman, we were very green but the crowd loved us.  We even had another local Stones tribute come out to see what their competition was going be like!!!!
What was your latest gig? Tommy K: A Bar in Alcona, Ontario (1 1/2 hours north of Toronto) called "The Beach"

Have you had to cancel a gig? Tommy K: No not yet, but I have had to turn down gigs because of scheduling. Organizing musicians is the equivalent to herding cats!!!
Where have you played live this year?
Tommy K: Locally around Toronto and a few shows in our hometown of Newmarket.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Tommy K: It is the obvious evolution of how music should be distributed.  I use Spotify now and I don't even uses cds anymore.  The downside I've found is that the band artwork of album covers is lost.  It's something that I think has been lost, and should be addressed.
What do you think of my work? Tommy K: WOW ... you have seen alot of bands ...LOL!!!  I like the rawness and the amount of content you have. Here in Toronto, I haven't seen that type of  hardcore dedication for along time!  
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?
Tommy K: It is blogs like these that allow people to experience new music.  It gives a peek into the lives of musicians.
Do you have any role models or idols?
Tommy K: AC fuckin DC!!!!  

Crash: Led Zeppelin
Why do you think that they exist? Tommy K:   The Stones, AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, .... they are the grandfathers of all rock.  Black Sabbath being the grandfather of Metal.  I am a huge fan of the sound of a Gibson SG over the Les Paul .... AC/DC, Early Stones, and Sabbath all used the SG.  So I'd say its the Gibson SG.  But what do I know ... I'm a bass player!!! lol!!!
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?Tommy K: Yes .... The Stones have a lengthy history, and they are still touring and writing.  So We can still cover them.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Tommy K: Getting the audience to overcome the fact that  the Stones are being sung by a female vocalist.  You can see some of the doubters in the crowd, all cross armed, waiting to see how "this Crash Chick" is gonna sing "Satisfaction".  Then 2 minutes later they are rawkin out , throwing horns in the air .... the biggest doubters ... are the biggest converts though.  After the show they are he first ones to come up and tell ya that they doubted the band, but "..... I just have to tell ya .... you guys RAWKED!!!!!!"
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Tommy K: Don't re invent the wheel!  Play blues based rock, whether it is originals or covers .... but always do it with your flair. 
How do you get psyched for a gig?
Tommy K: Crash and I have a very private pre gig ritual ..... 
Do you have any new material? Tommy K: We are learning more of the early blues from the Stones like Respectable, Carol, and Spider And The Fly.
What are your web sites?
http://thetommyk.wix.com/chickinsteadofamick
How can people reach you? https://www.facebook.com/CHICKinsteadofaMICK/
What are your plans for the future? Canadian tour first .....

Kommentera här: