interview with Affront

Have any of you played in other bands? M.Mictian : Me and R.Rassan We played in the band Unearthly (Black / Death Metal)

How is it that you started playing music? M. Mictian: A long time ago, I saw a band playing in a show and I decided that I wanted to do the same and I bought a bass and started to play.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? M. Mictian: I'm M.Mictian (bass & vocals), R.Rassan (guitar) & Jedy Najay (drums)

Have you had other previous members? M. Mictian: No, AFFRONT has line up from which it was founded.

Did you make music even when you were young? M. Mictian: Yes, I've played guitar and bass since I was 13 years old, a long time ago.

Where are you from? M. Mictian: We are from Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)

What year did the band form? M. Mictian: AFFROTN was founded by me in April 2016, a year ago.

What's your style of genre? M. Mictian: Our style is Thrash / Death Metal (old Sepultura)

What inspires you? M. Mictian: First are the bands that I like, that has always been and always will be our great inspiration.

How often and where do you reherse? M.Mictian: We rehearse two or three times a week to keep fit.

How have you developed since you started with the music? M.Mictian: Developing naturally with music, the more you practice, the more you develop.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? M.Mictian: I also work as a sound engineer at some concerts in my city.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? M.Mictian: Yes, we are looking for, we have a great work and we want to take you everywhere on this planet.

What made you decide to make this music? M.Mictian: When I was still a teenager I heard a KISS album, and that was amazing I thought I want to do it too, I want to make music I want to transmit this magic.

What are your songs about? M.Mictian: AFFRONT takes messages about criticism of politics, religion, also a warning of greed the selfishness and madness of humanity for wealth.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? M.Mictian: I write almost everything, I have initial idea of ​​the songs and lyrics and R.Rassan (guitar) composes the arrangements of the songs.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? M.Mictian:I have a place in my house only to compose and practice with my bass an enclosed place in which I am concentrated

Have you done any covers live? M.Mictian: At the moment we are not doing any cover in our shows, but we rehearsed "Slave new World (Sepultura) & Into The Pit (Fight), greats songs i love this.

What language do you sing in? M.Mictian: Our songs are in English, but on Angry Voices album we have a song in our native language

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? M.Mictian: Between 100 or 200 people per show, and people are love metal, metal fans.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? M.Mictian: Mainly young people, between 18 and 30 years and other people over 40 years of age.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? M.Mictian:We played in several different clubs, we hardly played in the same place for months.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? M.Mictian: No, we do our shows in several clubs, sometimes we repeat the same place, but it is not always.

What was your first gig like? M.Mictian: The first show was in January, and at the moment 15 more shows are being scheduled.

What was your latest gig? M.Mictian: We're starting the shows these months, so we're on the prowl.

Where have you played live this year? M.Mictian:We did some shows in our city, beginning the release of the album.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? M.Mictian: This year I believe we will be touring Europe and Russia. And we intend to play in the United States next year.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? M.Mictian: Our album is on sale since December 2016, we have the Angry Voices album, we have the band's t-shirts.

Where can people buy your merchandise? M.Mictian: At the moment on the site of the record company Cianeto Recs.e by email [email protected]

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? M.Mictian: The world evolves this way, this subject is something very complicated to have a concrete opinion, but surely the download weakened the music industry that is certain.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? M.Mictian: The music industry does not want to infest new bands, bands have to buy gigs with big bands, have money to self promote, and when you become a known band you have a chance to sign with a record label, you know.

What do you think of my work? M.Mictian: I met you before long, it seems like a person, with a good work.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? M.Mictian: An interview is always good, I can expose more about my work, to a larger number of people in different places.i believe it will be good for AFFRONT.

Do you have any role models or idols? M.Mictian: We all have idols during our lives, my father is a great man, and in heavy metal music my idol is Max Cavalera, Lemmy Kilmister, Tom Angel ripper ...

Why do you think that they exist? M.Mictian: I have seen them ... my idols are not my Gods, my idols are people who inspire me who teach me many things.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? M.Mictian: It depends on what you want to do, there are great old bands and also great current bands, each one chooses what they want to do.

What have been your biggest obstacles? M.Mictian: I came to you a very poor place known as "Favela", some days I had nothing to eat, a very violent place and forgotten by the Government; My father died I was a child. I started working at 14 years old, but i never gave up. There are no obstacles for me.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? M.Mictian: Every band has to do what it thinks best for their trajectory, each one must know what is best for his band. Be honest, do the best you can, be free and do heavy metal.

How do you get psyched for a gig? M.Mictian: I concentrate, and I think of the fans, I ask myself: What do they want from me? And try to give the best for them.

Do you have any new material? M.Mictian: We released on our album Angry Voices in December 2016 and we're promoting it.

What are your web sites?

M.Mictian: Facebook - @affrontmetal

TwitTer - @Affront_thrash

Youtube - AFFRONT Thrash / Death-Brazil

How can people reach you? M.Mictian: By email [email protected], by facebook: @affrontmetal.

What are your plans for the future? M.Mictian: We planned a tour of Europe and Russia for October 2017, and the United States in 2018.

Do you have something to add? M.Mictian: I want heavy metal fans to check out our music.

Kommentera här: