interview with Aleksei Demenkov

Have any of you played in other bands? I'm the only musician! And all the music is written only by me!
How is it that you started playing music?
In my youth I loved Metallica, and when I heard how a guy played their song on an acoustic guitar decided that I also want to play like that! After that I went to music school and music became a part of me!)

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Aleksey Demenkov! I play all the guitar parts and bass! Now I'm 22 years old, writing music from 15 years

Did you make music even when you were young? I'm almost from childhood "in music"!)

Where are you from? I was born and live in Ukraine

What year did the band form? Write music, which began to spread on the Internet and play live I started at 17 years old

What's your style of genre?It's mostly guitar music! From the style of rock to metal! Sometimes something sentimental 

How have you developed since you started with the music? Became a more mature look at music, acquired hearing and taste))My music has become more free and sensual!

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I play bass guitar in church, I study at university and I dream about work that will be connected with music!))

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

In my opinion in my country it is not developed and my music is not so serious to do it!

While I'm calm about the fact that my music is freely available, even sharing my backing tracks!)

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?

Of course, I would like to release a CD together with the label, but I think that my music is not ready for this yet and I do not need anyone!

 If there is a label that wants to cooperate with me (but I will not pay him), then I will be very happy.

What made you decide to make this music? Like any person who has learned to speak, he always has something to say and wants to talk! And with music! I always have something to say or express in my music!

What are your songs about? Basically, my music conveys feelings and emotions! Everyone understands what music is about! Each listener has his feelings, emotions and sense of my tracks!) I have instrumental music! I have covers that contain words, but they are already written by someone!))

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Each time in different ways! If my cover has someone to sing, then I write powerful riffs, and then I "superimpose" the text! But usually, it somehow comes together! Just hurry to write down, so as not to forget the idea)

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? no! I can think of something at the rehearsal, just sitting with a guitar, hearing a song on the radio immediately come up with a riff for her in the head, then move it home from the head to the guitar and sit down to write a cover!

Have you done any covers live? Yes! I'm sometimes invited to play in my city! Or when I feel it's time to show my music to people, I ask them to play somewhere!)

What language do you sing in? Usually it's Russian, Ukrainian or English! But I do not sing, in these languages my cover version!

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? In general, I play alone! But there was a period of time when we wrote and played together when we were 7 people!

What ages are most of your concert attendants? People from 15 to 30 years old

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Of course I have a rotation of the material! But there is material that is like my business card, it is always in my program!

Do you have a regular place you play live often? I play every year on the "youth day" in our city! Often invited to go to college, in which I studied before

What was your first gig like?

In college I was "dragged" to the stage with a guitar and I had to surprise everyone .......... but I hesitantly played a short track on pure sound and quickly left!

And then together with a friend we played a cover on "Notting Als Matters" and at the moment of solo I first heard delight and applause!))

What was your latest gig? I was a bass player in a band where we performed some famous songs! Then I was confused with the drummer, when they announced the composition of the band, they said that I was a drummer! But corrected and said that I have a bass in my hand!)))

Have you had to cancel a gig?

When I played in the band on bass guitar, we got together for a concert, but 15 minutes before we were told that the concert was canceled! That day a guy from our city was killed in the war zone and was mourning!

But, I hope, will not have to be canceled!))

Where have you played live this year? At a charity concert, when they collected money for treatment of a child!

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? While there are no plans! If they call, I'll play!))

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Sometimes I made minus ones to order and wrote arrangements ........ and my music is not needed by anyone yet!)))

Where can people buy your merchandise?

Well, as long as I do not have a label and my music is not in demand, nowhere!

But if you want, you can support me and transfer money to this account 5300 7211 2754 6189

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?This is bad! Musicians do not just express themselves or share their creativity, it's also their costs and labor, which I want to be paid for! But in our country it is not very developed, and especially, musicians like me do not get a cent for their music at all!

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? very much! Groups that have become a "financial machine" together with labels supplant young and interesting musicians! Because of this, everything that you asked about earlier is difficult!
What do you think of my work? it is very interesting! Good way! There is an opportunity to tell about interesting and less well-known music, to find out what other people live by cool!))

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? At least, my music can be heard by someone! in fact yes! There may be people who want to support me financially or will simply share my music and someone will notice me!))

Do you have any role models or idols?

The Bible says "do not make yourself an idol," so I have people I'd like to be like, it's James Hatfield, Alexander Pushnoy ...... Serge Tankian, I'm inspired by Ennio Morricone ....

In general, I dream to write a rock opera, which will be in the style of mixed Enio and Metallica "S & M"!)

Why do you think that they exist? These are people who are famous, they have achieved success and even without realizing it I still become like them! And do not imitate them as personalities, but you need to imitate their qualities, which they have as musicians)

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

From modern bands a little like! I love old bands, classic rock ...

Then the music was different, more cool! Anyway, I like the old one more!)

What have been your biggest obstacles?

This is a lack of good equipment! Computer for recording, cabinets and remotes for performances and much more ............ constantly looking for some compromises, but not enjoying the music!)

Now, for example, my guitar broke, I'm waiting for a new one! I believe that God will give me a new instrument!

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Create, write new and "live" music! Do not wait for instant glory and recognition! If it is destined, then you will get it in due time, and if not, just enjoy what you are doing and share it with others!)
Do you have any new material? Now, when inspiration has returned to me, I periodically have new material, but it's more difficult to say when

What are your web sites?
I have two music channels: my original music and cover version!
https://www.soundcloud.com/aleksei_demenkov/
https://www.soundcloud.com/studiomusic17
https://www.facebook.com/demenkovaleksei
https://www.youtube.com/c/%D0%90%D0%BB%D0%B5%D0%BA%D1%81%D0%B5%D0%B9%D0%94%D0%B5%D0%BC%D0%B5%D0%BD%D0%BA%D0%BE%D0%B2

How can people reach you?

Go to any of the links above, there will be how to contact me!

Or write to the mail: [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? I want to go on vacation on the sea! And then I'll see what happens!))) Yet, soon will publish another cover!

Do you have something to add? Thank you for the interview, I was interested and pleased to answer your questions

 

Kommentera här: