interview with Alex Massmedia.

Have any of you played in other bands? I just have my own project. But in fact professional musician that I work whith get use to perform with many other national and international artists all around the world.

How is it that you started playing music? I have always sing since I was a child. I've got Congo origins and in my culture we sing everytime and in many circumstances like death, birth even when we cook. So I've always heard my black mama's (mother&aunts) expressing each important moment of life by singing their joy and their pain.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

My name is Alex Massmedia, I'm singer-author-songwriter. I'm 36.

My guitarist is Taofik Farah.

Have you had other previous members? I worked with many musicicians in my career. It's important to get experience and than fashion your own style by knowing what you really want (or not) and who you really are (or not). (smile)

Did you make music even when you were young?

Yes I started to write my first poetry texte when I was like ten years old.

But I started playing guitar late at twenty.

I am an autodidact author and composer so you rather start doing your classes soon as possible because long is the art way but so short can be the life.

Where are you from? I am french originary of congo (Brazzaville)

What year did the band form? I started my project as it is in 2008

What's your style of genre? I play soul blues music but I love Soul, Blues, Folk, World, Rock, Traditional music (africa, america latina, est europe.. etc) even Metal (Tito&Tarentula,Rob zombie,Ramsteim ...etc) Many different things

What inspires you?

People suffering is a big part of what inspire me because an artist is an empathic person. But I also sing how life can be beautiful when you know where to look. I mean looking to the pretty little things.

So pain, joy, hope, death and love are 99% of my universe. I mean life.

How often and where do you reherse?

We just connect the instruments, check the mic and do our buisness

When the principal vibration of your universe comes from a guitar and voice style, you can rehearse anywhere you want (home, outside when the weather is clement)

But the best way will always be the studio.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Work, Hope, Met people, Being disappointed, Work again, Met people again, Being disappointed again But never stop and always hope.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Yes my other passions are writing stories for ( cinema long or short film, booking editions, and comics or animated.)

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?

Yes for sure you need it to develop your project.

But the musical industry is not based anymore on the talent you have but more on the likes you could have on facebook or instagram and followers.

And I respect so much music my public and my work to fall into those kinds of silliness actions to be ready to do anything to get this apperance of fame. “I prefer to have less but true, than many but lies”. Real art takes a long in order to permit you to work with persons that look like you and defend the same values.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? The same answer

What made you decide to make this music?

I really had the click when I fist time heard Tracy chapman “Telling stories” album.

This amazing voice full of grace, strongness and compassion resonated in me like a storm rising. She gaves me the strongness to jump in water and assume my real artistic nature and really influenced my choice in the road I took.  This all the reasons why I decided to sing my blues starting as an autodidact alone in corner with my “first price guitare”.(smile)

What are your songs about? I talk about this society which put the human beings under a new modern slavery, physically and mentaly, the fact that the rules and the moral values have been totally inversed, I mean that the bad is the good and the good the bad.

But my songs have also a hope message, saying that we don't have to give up because after the rain comes the sun.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Myself

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? That depend of my mood but most part of time it's music

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Any places as long as I am in my head and in an open minded state of mind

What language do you sing in? English and french

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 50 < 1500

What ages are most of your concert attendants? 5 < 70 (That depend of the musical education)

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? In big part  yes but sometimes I test new songs. And I gonna play 1 hour in a place, 1h30 in an other or 45 minutes here so that vary yes.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Yes a hall room called “La Travese” in city of rouen.

What was your first gig like? Drunk and funny but I was young

What was your latest gig? The Jazz festival “LES SOIREES DU CAMELEON” in city of rouen two weeks ago. You'll find pictures on facebook.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Only 3 times in 15 years

Where have you played live this year? Only France (Strasbourg, Bretagne, Paris, Rouen, )

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Only my cd's for now but I hope to have more soon (t shirts, sweet shirts, mugs, cards, etc...)

Where can people buy your merchandise? Website (www.alexmassmedia.com) and after a show

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

“That just the way it is , things will never be the same..”

Me I got a public which buy on stage, I mean after a show like me. This why it's important to stay true and don't listen to the songs of mermaids if want to be surrounded by people's looking like you

like we said before

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Yes for sure but I know that nothing can kill the cd or the books because that would mean that you could kill feelings totally . Impossible. And if I have to be the last one standing and having feelings, I'll be this one.

What do you think of my work? Good work , really involved in your subject, professional in the basics and not boring.

Do you have any role models or idols? Many. My manager, my mum, Tracy chapman, Michael Jackson, Martin Luther King, My best friends etc....

Why do you think that they exist? To try to make a better place for you and for me and don't let the devil taking all the places.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Old bands cause they knew music and weren't pales copies.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Human nature who always wants to prove its superiority trying to turn you into slave by asking you to beg, to venerate or asking you to submit yourself or worst. Be sure that I never ate those kinds of bread

What advice would you give other bands or artists?

Never lie to people and to the most important for you (yourself)

Work hard to know who you really are and what you really want and about what you're ready to loose

Go, work, hope, never stop and be ready to suffer.

Strongness is not about how many hit you can give but how many you'll stand.

And have a real manager (I mean guardian angel)

Be good surrounded

And Sing or play like if you would die tomorrow

How do you get psyched for a gig? Happy & a little stressed

Do you have any new material? I released my new EP “Devil deal” on May 19th...

What are your web sites? www.alexmassmedia.com www.facebook.com/alexmassmediaofficiel www.twitter.com/AlexMassmedia www.instagram.com/alexmassmedia www.youtube.com/user/Alexandmassmedia

How can people reach you? On facebook , instagram, youtube, twitter

What are your plans for the future? Play and play And I gonna make my new video clip soon.

Do you have something to add? Could you find me a record deal.

Kommentera här: