interview with SECRET RULE

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, sure. Michele is playing with Graal and SOS bands. Andy was the founder of Martiria. I sang in many bands since I was 15 years, but the most important is Secret Rule.

How is it that you started playing music? Personally I always sang since I was a child. Around 15, I had my first cover band. Around 17, I had my first original band.

Have you had other previous members? Me, Andy and Michele are in the band from the beginning. We had different drummers and the last one, Nicola Corrente, we feel is the right one.

Did you make music even when you were young? I always played my keyboards and I always sang.

Where are you from? We come from Rome, Italy.

What year did the band form? At the end of 2013.

What's your style of genre? It’s difficult to define our genre. We created a new genre..the secret metal! LOL

What inspires you? I take inspiration from life, from the world. From all I have around me. From my feelings.  

How often and where do you reherse? We play at the least one time a week. We have an our own place.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I love to draw. I like comics and role games. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? We already have some contacts, but everything can become better. Anyway it's very difficult to find serious people. Sometimes we were lucky, sometimes not.

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? When we’ll have the new master ready..we’ll see what will happen. Today there are a lot of small and medium labels that aim to have more bands as possible in their roster with no artistic selection. This system ruins the metal scene.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Sometimes I record my voice on my phone and then I send my idea to Andy. Sometimes it’s the opposite, so Andy send me some instrumental idea and I try to put on it my voice. Lyrics are always the last step.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I often record my voice on my telephone when I’m in the traffic of the city into my car. At home, each one of us, has a little studio for composing.

Have you done any covers live? Yes, we played “Storytime” from Nightwish. We have a video on our youtube channel with all the different places where we played live this cover. It’s a very nice video.

What language do you sing in? English of course J

What ages are most of your concert attendants? We have followers from 18 to 60 years old, more or less.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We change a bit the songs for our live.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? We don’t have regular places but I can say we prefer to play in North of Europe.

What was your first gig like? Our first gigs were in Rome to test our sound live. Then, generally, we prefer to go abroad.

What was your latest gig? In this moment our last gig was at Wings of Bea Festival.

 

Have you had to cancel a gig? A couple of times because to the bad organization of the booking agency.

Where have you played live this year? We played almost all over the Europe.  

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We started to sell Merchandise immediately from our first tour after the release of our album “Transposed Emotions”.

Where can people buy your merchandise? They can buy our merch on our site www.secretrule.it or coming at our live.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think that today there is too much music on the web..because it became too simple produce it. At home, with a PC and a microphone, a lot of people make music. So, I agree to download music to understand if it's shit or good music, when you want to discover new bands. Then, if you found that you like, then you have to buy their music to support them. It would be like a guarantee before the purchase.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Today nobody invests money on a new band. Today the labels wait for seeing what you can do alone. If you build a fanbase, you play much more is possible, you have a solid image and your band survives more than some year..then..maybe..someone can consider you. Too much bands born and die. Too much bands are not ready for having success. So it's difficult for label to ahve trust in them. I think so. For these reason we're pushing much more is possible by ourself. What do you think of my work?

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?  Maybe some readers of yours will know us.

Do you have any role models or idols? We love good music. We don't have a model. We try to express ourself without thinking to the market place.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I think we have to give an eye to old bands or most of all, more active bands to study why they have success. Their strategy. Not for copying their sound.

What have been your biggest obstacles? A lot of people not professional did us to lose us time and money.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Believe in yourself..and not in the others.

Do you have any new material? We're working on the new album.

How can people reach you? Through our official site www.secretrule.it or our social pages on facebook, twitter, instagram etc.. Our music is on amazon, Itunes, spotify, everywhere.

What are your plans for the future? To release our new album and promote it.

Do you have something to add? Thanks for this space and your support. We wait you all on the road to have fun all together.

 

Kommentera här: