interview with The Most Serene Republic

Have any of you played in other bands? Yup! I play in The Most Serene Republic, Wildlife, and Bossie. TMSR and Wildlife I play guitar, and Bossie I play bass. I love each one of them, they let me do anything I want musically. 
How is it that you started playing music? I found my sisters Guitar was I was 8 years old, or maybe it was 9. Then my Dad taught me a basic Blues riff. Because my Dad also played guitar when he was a kid. This band the Outer Limits had a founding member of The Kiki Dee. 
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Nicholas Greaves, guitar/banjo/ebow, I’m 32 years old. 
Adrian Jewett, singer/trombone, 32 years old. 
Ryan Lenssen, Piano/Genius, 32 years old. 
Sean Woolven, guitar, 34 years old. 
Simon Lukasewich, Bass/Strings/Genius, 33 years old. 
Adam Balsam, Drums/Multi Instrumentalist, 36 years old. 
Have you had other previous members? Emma Ditchburn, Adam Nimmo (Oh No Forest Fires/Drummer To Drummer), Tony Nesbit-Larking (Prog Genius) Peter Van Helvort (Teenage Kicks). 
Did you make music even when you were young? Yup! Since I was about 5. I was really into Phantom Of The Opera. Then into Cat Stevens, and then Rancid around 10. I’d just create my own melodies around those songs. 
Where are you from? I was Born in Milton, Ontario Canada. 
What year did the band form? 2003, that’s when Adrian, Ryan, and myself started Thee Oneironauts. 
What's your style of genre? Math Rock? Prog? Baroque Indie Pop? I don’t really care about Genre. We can be whatever you want us to be haha. 
What inspires you? Art. Any form of it. I like to dabble into everything. 
How often and where do you reherse? TMSR doesn’t really practice. When we do, it’s like 3 days of 12 hour sessions at a nice rehearsal studio. 
How have you developed since you started with the music? I’d like to believe that I’m smarter, nicer. More balanced to say the least. I believe that I’ve become a better guitarist. I’ve surrounded myself by amazing musicians who push me everyday to do better. 
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I make films, worked in advertising. Won a Cannes Lion actually for a commercial I worked on. I also manage and develop some amazing talented artists in Toronto. 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? We worked with Pitch & Smith, I would love to work with them again once we can tour. 
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I’ve started my own label called “Home Of The Rebels”. We’ve released everything from TMSR since 2010. 
What made you decide to make this music? It just sort of happened. I was very very lucky. 
What are your songs about? Anxiety, Depression, Chemicals in Food, being controlled by the man. 
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Adrian writes all the lyrics. 
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music comes from Ryan, Lyrics come later from Adrian. 
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Nope, but my favourite is somewhere up north. Like when we did Phages at Ryan’s cottage. 
Have you done any covers live? I think we’ve only ever done two covers. One song called “The Ice Of Boston” by the Dismemberment Plan, and “The New Year” by Death Cab For Cutie. Oh and maybe that one time in Philly we played that Keyboard Cat song. Haha
What language do you sing in? English (Canada)
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? 3 People in Raleigh North Carolina. 7 thousand when we opened up for The Strokes. 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 19 - 65
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Every tour is the same set list. So we can transition through every song. 
Do you have a regular place you play live often? We play the Mod Club a lot. I like that room a lot. We also play The Horseshoe Tavern. It’s a great spot, with one of the best bartenders in town. 
What was your first gig like? 15 people at the NAC in St. Catherines, Ontario. 
What was your latest gig? 450 People at The Horseshoe the last time we played. 
Have you had to cancel a gig? Mental Health Reasons, yeah. 
Where have you played live this year? Nope, but soon we will. 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I’d love to get back down to NYC and LA. But probably Toronto. 
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? We made a bunch of Pins, and some T Shirts. 
Where can people buy your merchandise? On our website. 
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Just listen, I don’t care how you consume it. 
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? I think streaming is awesome. We are making money now from it. It’s not a lot, but it’s something. It will get better I think. 
What do you think of my work? I’l a have to check it out. 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? Maybe it will, maybe it won’t. I hope it does. For the both of us! haha
Do you have any role models or idols? Warren Buffet, Bill Gates, Salvador Dali, Cat Stevens, George Harrison. 
Why do you think that they exist? To make the world a better place. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? I listen to everything these days. I really love my Discover Weekly on Spotify. 
What have been your biggest obstacles? My Mental Health. I just recently got it figured out. I really feel happy for the first time. I feel clear. Drug Addiction to Anti Anxieties is absolute hell. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Remember to breath, and be able to laugh at yourself.
How do you get psyched for a gig? 3 Beers and high fives with my best friends. It’s pretty awesome that we’ve been able to do this. 
Do you have any new material? Always!! 
What are your web sites? www.themostserenerepublic.com
How can people reach you? Facebook, I answer everyone. I like to chat with our fans all the time. 
What are your plans for the future? New Albums! Shows! Love! 
Do you have something to add?
It’s been a pleasure to answer this for you, it was insightful for myself. I really do appreciate it. 
If there’s one thing I’ve learned. Please talk about your mental health. The Road is a very dark place sometimes, and it’s important to check in on your friends. Suicide is real. It’s awful. Please just talk to your doctor. Don’t drink on your meds. Smoke a bit of pot, never get into Dabbing. If you’re having a really hard time, check yourself into a mental ward. There’s nothing shameful about it. Please I’m urging you! 
THANK YOU!!! 

Kommentera här: