interview with F A L L

Have any of you played in other bands? As of now I play guitar in Shattered Sun. I've also been in various projects in my hometown. 

How is it that you started playing music? I started at the age of 14, learning songs that I loved and singing along with them were part of my routine. It helped me develop my musical ear. 

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Fall is: Jessie Santos, guitars and vocals. David Gutierrez, bass. Daniel Benavides, guitar. Lorenzo Perez, drums. 

Have you had other previous members? Yes, we've gone through about 2-3 drummers and a previous guitarist. 

Where are you from? I'm from Portland, TX. David and Daniel live in Corpus Christi, TX and Lorenzo lives in Los Angeles. 

What year did the band form? January 2010

What's your style of genre? Primarily its melodic death metal, were expanding our sound for our next recording so it will be more than just melodic death metal! 

What inspires you? Hearing music that moves me on a deep level, art, books, the darker side of things, nature, connecting with other musicians, etc..

How often and where do you reherse? We rehearse as much as possible. When we all get together it's usually for a series of shows we have booked or getting ready to rehearse new material. 

How have you developed since you started with the music? I believe so, the more I write the more I know I can improve and do better the next time. It's an ongoing process that takes time. 

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Aside from my day job - music is all I really do that interests me. For the moment, I don't think anything else will occupy my time. 

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Would definitely be great if we had one, we just gotta put ourselves out there the right way. Finding a booking agent is crucial and I think it gives you an advantage getting on tours and shows outside of your area. 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? No, I believe with how the industry is today - artists don't need a label to be successful and getting their name to the masses. The tools are there within arms reach and don't necessarily need a label to access them. 

What made you decide to make this music? The love of music, plain and simple. 

What are your songs about? They're dark, moody, sometimes uplifting.  I enjoy adding an emotive angle to the feel of the music, makes it more personable and what draws listeners in. Subject matter varies from personal experience to how I feel about the world. 

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? It depends on the song. Sometimes I'll have an idea floating for months even years and it'll make sense for the song I'm writing. Same goes with lyrics. Whatever feels right. 

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I prefer the comfort of my home to write, lately Fall has been doing group sessions on the weekends to write. Which is responsible for us making some tasty new tunes! 

Have you done any covers live? A handful of times but we've done Crystal Mountain - Death, Blinded by Fear - At the Gates and Love? - Strapping Young Lad. Years ago the band also did an Opeth tribute set, this was when we were just a 3-piece. 

What language do you sing in? English.

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? The most we've played to was about 200-300 people. The least we've played was probably 0...2 if you count the owner and bartender of the venue! 

What ages are most of your concert attendants? Mostly, people in our age group (late 20's, early 30's)

Do you have a regular place you play live often? House of Rock in Corpus Christi, TX

What was your first gig like? Rough, very amateur and very fun! 

What was your latest gig? Well promoted, great attendance, solid set that ended up being one hell of a night! 

Have you had to cancel a gig? Regrettably, yes. This was during our earlier years when all members couldn't commit to the band. 

Where have you played live this year? No where yet. Been writing and been occupied with Shattered Sun releasing a new record.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? In Texas during the summer, do a run or two. Our main focus right now is to write, pre pro and record our new EP. 

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? As soon as we could, right now we have CD's (the insatiable weakness and fall ep 2012), 3-4 t shirts designs, pins and stickers. 

Where can people buy your merchandise? Fall1.bandcamp.com

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I've always been for going out and buying a record, it brings a real sense of 'holding the actual thing' in your hands. Like, 'hey, I've got this work of art in my hands and I'm gonna jam the hell out of this'. But the way the industry now has changed that for a lot of people, the ability to buy an album from your phone among other things are now factors. Musicians and artists in general have to adapt. Plain and simple. 

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? It's made becoming known for your music not an impossible feat. You can learn from so many sources how to get your music out there and build your fanbase. So the preconceived notion of 'needing' a label has diminished significantly. You have the tools at your disposal, it's just how you go about finding and using them. 

What do you think of my work? I think this is a great interview, I look forward to more from you! 

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? We've gotten your attention, received this interview, and I hope you find something in our music that you find enjoyable. That's one more person to help us grow and be known. That in itself helps us so much. 

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Inspiration has no bounds. You can find it in the most unexpected of things, situations, places and people. That applies all bands - new and old. 

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Prioritizing my time for the band and getting Fall recognized on a larger scale. I've gained knowledge of how this industry works over the years and I think with this new batch of songs I can promote the band the right way on the right track. 

How do you get psyched for a gig? A couple drinks of whiskey with lemon, my vocal and guitar warmups and a little pre-show pep talk with the guys.

Do you have any new material? Working on it as we speak!

What are your web sites?

Facebook.com/falltodust

Instagram.com/fall_official

Twitter.com/fall_tx

SoundCloud.com/fall_tx

YouTube.com/fall_tx

Fall1.bandcamp.com

Youtube.com/user/FallTX

How can people reach you? You can reach on our social media accounts or our email at [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? Write, record and release our new EP. All the while getting solid promotion for it and gigging as much as we can. 

Do you have something to add? This is Jessie from Fall, thanks for tuning in and taking the time to read this interview. We hope to see you soon! 

Kommentera här: