interview with Hamerex

Personal questions about the band and their members:
What's your name? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Steve: I'm Steve Blower, singer and guitarist and I'm 31. We also have Andy Firth on guitar, Marc Hood on Bass and Sharif Diz Dyson on drums.
Where are you from? Steve: The band's based in Wakefield in England.
What year was started the band? Steve: The band started back in August 2004.
What do you play music style? Steve: Just Heavy Metal, though we don't really stick to a specific genre and just do what we want.
Do you use earplugs when you appear? Steve: I do, yes. The rest of the band don't to my knowledge.
Are you looking for the booking company, what are your thoughts and requirements around it then? Steve: I wouldn't say we're actively looking. If a good deal comes along that we feel will be beneficial for us, then I think we'd consider it.
Are you looking for record labels, what are your thoughts and requirements around it then? Steve: Same as the booking agencies really. We've been stung a couple of times by so called labels, which is why we set up our own, IX Music, just before our second album came out.
Questions about your music and lyrics:

What are your songs about the whole? Steve: It varies. Some are based on myth, others on life, others are stories or historical events. We don't really limit ourselves to what we can do.
Who writes the lyrics? Steve: For the most part I do. I think the last two releases I wrote them all.
Who does the music? Steve: All of the band contributes. Well, Marc and Diz joined the band after we'd finished writing and recording our last album, which we actively wrote together as a band.
When you do a song, you start with the music or the lyrics? Steve: It depends what comes first. Mostly it's based around a riff, but I've written some songs where the lyrics came first and I wrote the music around them.
In which environment do you usually do your songs? Steve: In my bedroom, and I think Andy was the same until we wrote our latest album, which we wrote at rehearsals.
Do you play only original songs live and also covers? Steve: Most of the time it's original songs, but we have thrown a cover in from time to time, but we've got that much of our own music, that's really strong, I think I prefer to fill our setlist with as much of it as possible. That's my personal preference anyway, the other guys might be more open to covers.
Questions regarding your gigs and performances like:

How many have come at least to your concerts? Steve: Maybe like one. We've cleared a room or two out in the past.
How many have come most of your concerts? Steve: A few hundred maybe? I can't really say for certain, but that was more as part of a festival.
How have you done or intend to do it to get more audience at your gigs? Steve: Just promotion really. Making sure we've got posters up in venues at least 3 months in advance if we can. If local, we can get them up in some music shops. I do the rounds on event websites to make sure or gig listings are up to date, as well as share our gigs on social media, and if possible, try to advertise in local newspapers.

Which age group drawn mostly to your concerts? Steve: I think it's varied. I think we appeal to those that were around during the 80's and going to gigs then, as well as some teenagers, maybe younger. I'd say about 16-60 as a guess.
Do you play always the same songs live or vary it? Steve: We try to vary it a bit. It can get a bit boring playing the same songs every night, and it's really nice to brush off some older songs we haven't played in a couple of years or more. We have got a lot of really strong material, and it's impossible to play it all unless we're playing for two hours a night, which we're not in the position to. 
Do you have any ordinary place where you usually play? Steve: It used to be the Snooty Fox in Wakefield, but it was unfortunately closed down in December, so I'd probably say, depending on what happens, it'll likely be the Snooty Fox Club from now on, which isn't too far from where the old place was.
Where have you been playing this year? Steve: We haven't played anywhere just yet this year. Our first gig's this Friday (10th March) at the Vintage Rockbar in Doncaster.
Where do you have plans to play the rest of the year? Steve: We're kicking off our tour in support of our latest album, Traitor, which so far we're booked for Doncaster, Wakefield, Tamworth, Leeds, Bolton, Chelmsford and Bridlington. We've got a gig announcement or two due in the next month or so, but I'm hoping we can get up to Scotland, Birmingham/Wolverhampton, Manchester, Sheffield, and maybe even London. We've even considered the possibility of Norway, as Marc's originally from there.
Which countries have you played in? Steve: Just England to date.
Questions regarding your merchandise:
When did you sell merchandise? Steve: We sell it online and at our gigs
What are your merchandise gadgets? Steve: We've got CD's, posters, badges, and hopefully be getting some new T-Shirts in the not too distant future.
Where can I buy your Merchandise? Steve: Most of it's currently available at http://hamerex.bandcamp.com/merch
Questions about your views:
What do you think about downloading more music than buying CDs nowadays? Steve: I don't necessarily have a problem with it. It's just another format, but the only physicality is the device it's stored on. I think the only drawback maybe that it's easier to pirate with it being more accessible.
How to think and do you think the music industry has changed since they started downloading music? Steve: I think it's created a more level playing field between all the bands these days, and taken some of the power away from the major labels. Granted, there's less of these arena filling bands around than there was, but from what I've seen or heard from the more mainstream areas in the industry there's not much of interest there, for me at least anyway. There's underground bands that are doing well and getting a lot of attention, and there is a strong underground scene in the UK at the moment. There's a lot of festivals around, indoor and outdoor, that are showcasing some of the best underground bands at the moment, and I think it's thriving.
If you prefer downloaded music, cassette, CD or Vinyl? Steve: I personally prefer CDs, though I do tend to put most of my music on my phone.
Those attending light and sound how much they have helped you really if you think about? Steve: I think they can make or break a gig really, but I an't say we've had any issues really, and most sound and lighting engineers have been really professional and done a good job.

What do you think of my work? Steve: I think it's good that you're helping some of the lesser known bands gain a bit of exposure.
How believe and know that this interview will help you in Brazilian music? Steve: It might draw a little bit of attention to us, even if just one person checks out our music then it's something.
What do you think they are age limits on some concerts? Steve: I think it's down to the venue, whether it's a pub, or whether it's a licensing issue.
What has been conditioned biggest obstacles in the music industry? Steve: I think the only real obstacle is the perception that because a band isn't signed, they're no good. I'm not saying it's everyone, but I think it's becoming more of a minority thing now with how much I'm seeing gigs around the UK are being well attended and enjoyed. There's always going to be nights where the turnout's poor, but I think compared to 5 years or so, the music scene's looking better than it did, for heavy music.

What advice would you give to other bands and artists? Steve: Don't give up. We've been going 12 years, and I think at this point in time, we're the strongest we've been as a band. It's about finding the right people, learning and perfecting your craft. It takes longer for some than others to get where you really want to be.
News and updates:

Do you have new material in grams? Steve: Our latest material is on our latest album, Traitor, which is out now via Amazon, iTunes or direct from us at http://hamerex.bandcamp.com
What is your website? Steve: www.hamerex.com
What are your plans for the future? Steve: We're planning the next two or three releases over the next few years, depending how things go with still learning songs as Diz has only been with us a few months, and we'll be playing plenty of shows and getting our name out there as much as we can.
Do you have anything to add? Steve: As always, a big thanks to everyone for the support, and we hope to see you all at a gig soon.

Kommentera här: