interview with SOIM

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes I have, None that went anywhere outside of a rehearsal space hence why I started doing a solo project.
How is it that you started playing music? Most probably one of the stupidest answers you’d have got for this. I got started deploying music thanks to Guitar Hero 3.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
As it stands it is just me Elliot Cadmore, 23.
Live I play lead guitar and do vocals for the 2 songs with vocals. In studio I play all the guitar parts, bass and do the drum programming and synth programming.
Where are you from? Neath, South Wales, UK.
What year did the band form? Technically 2012 but only started gigging it seriously April last year.
What's your style of genre? Its a mixture of progressive, symphonic, black, death, trash metal. plus what ever else i want to throw into it.
What inspires you? Music as a whole dose to be honest.
How often and where do you rehearse? I release just in my room and i try to rehearse as frequently as possible.
How have you developed since you started with the music?
My music style has changed a bit since i started writing for SOIM. At the start it was bit more simplified but over years the music has grown more complex playing wise and composition wise.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
Horror films and video games is really only interests out side of the band.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? At the moment i am not as i have not read up on booking agencies enough to be abel to make sure i do not get screwed over by one.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that?
In all fairness i have no intention of looking fro a label as in this day and age with social media, the ability to record in ur home and such, you do not really need a label backing you up.
What made you decide to make this music? Just the want to create my own form of the music I love.
What are your songs about?
Majority of them are instrumental so they have no lyrical meanings behind them. So really the meaning behind the songs are what ever the listener attaches to the songs.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music first, Depending on how i find the piece i may write lyrics to it or not.
Have you done any covers live? I have done one cover live and that was of Black Metal by Venom. I had one of my mates help me out with it in regards to vocals and there is footage of it up on my Facebook page. Its rather funny to be honest.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary?
I try to vary my setlist but i do have some main stays (such as Grinder and Self Rebirth (Passion To Hate). But at the moment due to competition I’m playing at end of April I am sticking to the setlist i am playing t that competition.
Do you have a regular place you play live often?
Yes 2 venues. The Duke in Neath and Crowleys Rock Bar in Swansea.
What was your first gig like? Weird ad a bit terrifying.
What was your latest gig? My latest gig was in Crowleys playing their crowfest.
Have you had to cancel a gig? I have never cancelled a gig but i have had one cancelled one me. but due to that cancellation i was then able to open for Psychostick in The Scene in Swansea.
Where have you played live this year? The Duke and Crowleys.
Where do you plan to gig the coming year? I have gigs in Cardiff coming up but other than that nothing else booked really.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this?
Labels no longer have any motivation to help push a album like they did prior to the surge of downloadable albums.
What do you think of my work? Looking at your work I think its brilliant that you are asking small acts to do interviews and such as it helps spread the band’s names around.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I think it might help me in regards to getting my name out further than just south wales.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Mixture of both really. I tend to get more inspiration from music outside of metal or traditional metal. One band recently that gave em a jolt of inspiration was the acappela metal band Van Canto
What have been your biggest obstacles? Dealing with stage fright. I have found a way of getting around this by wearing a mask on stage for the majority of my set.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Play the music YOU want to play not what is the in thing. And try to create your own music not replicate other peoples.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Put my mask on and grab my guitar and warm up walking around to be honest.
Do you have any new material? New material in regards to being released, Yes. But not new material for live.
What are your web sites?
https://www.facebook.com/SoundsOfInsaneMusic/
https://insanemusic.bandcamp.com/album/soim-vol-1
How can people reach you? Thru either the band page (which i prefer) or my personal page (would rather not post it on here)
What are your plans for the future? Get more songs written and recorded and gig as much as i can and try and find members for live so I’m not so lonely on stage.
Do you have something to add? Thanks for asking me to do this interview.

 

Kommentera här: