Interview with Lukas Jay

Have any of you played in other bands? I attempted to start a band with my best friend when I was 16 but we had so different artistic and business marketing opinions that we never released anything together. It was going to be called black hair. He taught me how to use garage band and that was the only nice thing he ever did for me.

How is it that you started playing music? My mom had a crappy job at a local ymca and I was never very interested in sports or any of the organized events there. But there was a chapel with a piano and I would hang out in there and read the how to play piano books located under the bench. The next year I joined school orchestra in 8th grade. I played bass. After that a friend of mine taught me guitar. And another taught me stair drum.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Right now I've never worked with anyone in music collaboration successfully; so it’s just me Lukas Jay. I can play Guitar, Bass, Drums, Piano, Sing, Lyric write, music write.

Have you had other previous members? Lukas Jay so far has been a solo project.

Did you make music even when you were young? Yes. In fact you can see some of my stuff from when I was young on my channel lukas jay. you can even see a video of me talking about my young work on my channel. https://youtu.be/3PWj3g2Q5qMthis link is me talking about my old work; then the following 4 posts are work from when I was young.

Where are you from? I was born in Nebraska however I don't remember Nebraska. My family moved to ashland Kentucky when I was 2 then from then on I was back and forth between ashland Kentucky, Daytona beach Florida, and Sebring Florida. I now live in altamonte springs Florida (North orlando area). But I consider my hometown to be Sebring Florida.

What year did the band form? I've been a solo musician since I could strike a chord. But the demo I made when I was young on my youtube channel I think I made in 2013. Don’t hold me to that because I could be wrong; but I think that was the year I made that.

What's your style of genre? Probably pop or Indi rock; but I'm not loyal to any genre. I figure whatever I'm capable of creating is what I made.

What inspires you? making a song and making a smile.

How often and where do you reherse? I don’t really have a schedule to it. And i’ve been trying to make content for so long that now I just get guilty if I haven’t worked on something in too long. i’ll just say to myself “I gotta get some stuff done” then practice the little ideas till it happens.

How have you developed since you started with the music? Well I was learning music since before puberty... so in a sense I was just developing with music.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? A little bit of creative weighting here and there that aren’t lyrics. Some ideas for scripts and books. I'd also love to get into acting. But as selfish as it sounds I have a bit of an addiction to the spotlight; so I have to either star or find another project that I can center around myself.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I don’t feel I have the necessary experience yet to do so. I don't have enough original content to put on a show that an agency would be booking me very well. But as my youtube channel grows and I've published a comfortable amount of original material I'd love to go in that direction.

What made you decide to make this music? It made me happy.

What are your songs about? Some are stories, some are ideas, a couple are even jokes

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? All myself

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Usually lyrics, but if I make a melody that caught my attention too well sometimes I can't help myself but to challenge my poetic mind and create around it.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? No spacific environment but there are environments I do better in. such as a college piano practice room I can do well in.

Have you done any covers live? I have many covers on my youtube channel. And plan to do more

What language do you sing in? English

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? My school talent show my soft-more year of high school was pretty packed. Then I got into playing covers at some coffee shops with just a small handful of people. Other than that I haven’t done a gig live in a wile.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? My talent show was my peers. The coffee shops varied from college to elders.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? When I was doing coffee shops it was a variety of covers.

Do you have a regular place you play live often? Not currently but there are places I know I can play whenever I want.

What was your first gig like? It was my school talent show and I was insainly nervous and forgot to introduce myself.

What was your latest gig? I don’t really remember my last audience. But I have been doing work on my youtube channel.

Have you had to cancel a gig? Not really mostly because they were just open mic nights.

Where have you played live this year? Just youtube uploads.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? I’d love to get into playing as a cruise ship musician.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I haven’t started yet but I'd love to start with shirts, tanks, hoodies, cd’s, records and ,action figures.

Where can people buy your merchandise? When I start probably on amazon or my own website.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? Records in my opinion are a higher quality. But I support downloads; even when you didn’t pay for it. My mentality toward it is... at the end of a conversation with a person you don’t receive a bill and the internet is a public place so why should you get a bill for wanting to listen to me. However I am extremely grateful when someone will pay for a download. Because it means you are acknowledging me for working hard to bring you your entertainment. But I'm not entitled to your dollar unless I sell you something; not words something physical that you can physically hold like a record or a shirt or an action figure.

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Artist have to learn to not be so entitled.

What do you think of my work? Your interviewing skills are very impressive. And you have asked me questions I'd never have thought to ask.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? This interview has definitely given me some new ideas.

Do you have any role models or idols? The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, ed sheeran, John mayor, eminem, nirvana, Michael Jackson

Why do you think that they exist? Because they showed people something they’d never seen before.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes mostly because when they go everyone will notice that something’s missing in music.

What have been your biggest obstacles? Probably teamwork; but not because I don’t want to work well with others. Because I want to create a sense of value for my self in the world of music first and then start working with others. I’d rather be the sole creator of something interesting than be a small gear in an engine that was something awesome. That’s not to say I want to be alone in music forever. I just want to release enough stuff independently for people to know who I am as an artist before people work with me.

What advice would you give other bands or artists? Stick to your vision no matter what.

How do you get psyched for a gig? I guess I try not to think about the fact that I'm about to play for people. I try to pretend like it’s just me in my bedroom.

Do you have any new material? I’ve been tinkering around with some recordings i’ve made on logic and when I'm comfortable with my product i’m going to publish.

What are your web sites? lukas jay on youtube is my channel

How can people reach you? [email protected]

What are your plans for the future? Grow my channel. Create more content. Release my original work.

Do you have something to add? Thank you so much for giving me all these questions

Kommentera här: