interview with Marco Brena

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, we had a lot of experience with other musicians.
How is it that you started playing music? I started singing in a church choir, I was six.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? I use my name, Marco Brena, for all the music I am producing now but I have some musicians that play with me. Expecially for the Marco Brena's Celtic Band that has Werner on flute, Giovanni and Alessandro on percussions.
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, I was lucky to find the way to play instruments because my family did't care of music and of me. It was a difficult situation.
Where are you from? Italy
What year did the band form? Talkin' about the celtic band, 2002
What's your style of genre? With the band we play a kind of celtic music mixed with many other things. As a solois I play........ everything, from piano classics to hard rock but in the last year I made a lot of ambient music.
What inspires you? Everything, from Alfonso X el sabio to Keith Emerson or Ritchie Blackmore through gregorian or medieval music and jazz.
How often and where do you reherse? We play at my home in my private studio and about one time a week.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? I am a music teacher and composer, all my life is into music but I also have IT diploma and electrical skills.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Surely, I am looking for an agency for playing in northern europe. But I want to have a good partnership, not only a service.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I have my music on various labels but still looking for new partnership, I have a lot of music to develop.
What made you decide to make this music? In 1996 I went to London to make an hard rock record with a local band, It was like a new world was opening in front of me. I began to explore the music world at 360 degrees.
What are your songs about? Acient people and future dreams.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? It's always me but helped by the singer. At the moment we need a singer.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Often with the music but not always.
Do you compose in a certain environment? Yes, in my home studio. There I have the instruments that I love and this give me a great inspiration.
Have you done any covers live? Yes, traditional songs and songs from a band called Hedningarna that I like so much.
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? oh, I remember a show that was for only 7/8 persons..... an intimate one LOL, and the maximum was an about 5,000 show.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? I'm happy for this question because I see people really different coming to the show, young boys to old people..... and everyone shaking their head.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? Some songs come to the latest record we have made, some traditional covers are a classic point for us but I like to vary a lot.... also during the show itself, depending by the kind of people is coming to listen and this make my musicians so angry.
What was your first gig like? I was very young, I was playing some Deep Purple songs in front of about 500 people and I was so nervous before going on stage but playing was so funny and spontaneous. At the end I was thinking: I have to stop?? nooo pleaseeee.
What was your latest gig? A couple of moths ago in a festival, now we are working to new material.
Have you had to cancel a gig? Unfortunately yes, due to an asshole singer.
Where have you played live this year? We are doing a selective gig touring into church and castles and this will go on the next year.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I think you mean legal download. oh well, I love the cover, the booklet, pictures and story reading from a record package. Downloading an mp3 song lose all this things, it seems like an hamburgher.....eaten and finished.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The music industry is responsible of this. I mean, for example, look at classical music, they sell cds with the same music by Mozart or Debussy or anyone else at the price of 30/40/50 euros only because of the different conductor. It is a theft.
Do you have any role models or idols? Idols is a word that I ate. Anyway there are a lot of musicians that inspired me: Emerson, Blackmore, Jon Lord, Ian Anderson to acient musicians, this list will be endless.
Why do you think that they exist? Just for our lady the music.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Older bands at all. I mean, there is some good bands also today but we have lost something magic, music experiments and playing with a lot a lot a lot of passion.
What have been your biggest obstacles? My family.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Straight on, if you want your target you have to believe in you and work on your improvement every day.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Concentration and happyness
Do you have any new material? Yes, I am working to a new celtic record and to a piano solo record.
What are your web sites?
You can get my music here:
https://www.facebook.com/Marco.Brena/
https://www.youtube.com/user/marcobrena
https://myspace.com/marcobrena
and looking for Marco Brena in a search engine you will find all the stores that sell my music.
How can people reach you?
https://www.facebook.com/Marco.Brena/
feel free to write to me here.
What are your plans for the future? Music, music and again music. I want to get better and play as much as it is possible.
Do you have something to add? Yes, firstly thank you for this interview, and a big big thank you to all the people around the world that follow me and buy my music. I love you all.

Kommentera här: