interview with SPUTNIK

Have any of you played in other bands? Yes, we all take part in a number of bands here in Saint Petersburg.
How is it that you started playing music? Since I was a young boy I wanted to be a musician. And my sister played the piano. So I started learn music too. When I was fourteen I started play the guitar.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?
Andrey Kazachenko - lead vocal, keyboards, guitar
Sergey Virvich - guitar, keyboards, back vocal
Alex Vasyaev - bass guitar, keyboards, back vocal
Vitalik Vasyaev - drums
Have you had other previous members? No
Did you make music even when you were young? Yes, I play the piano since I was five.
Where are you from? We are from Saint Petersburg, Russia
What year did the band form? In 2015 we had our first gig
What's your style of genre? Alternative rock
What inspires you? All entire life
How often and where do you reherse? We don't rehearse routinely. We do this when we have an upcoming gig or a record.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? As a DIY band we are spending a lot of time to do some management things. It would be just great if somebody who really good enough in showbiz do this job. So we could just write new songs and play music.
What made you decide to make this music? When I decided to fund a band I didn’t understand clearly what kind of music I want to play. I wanted to play classic music, jazz, rock, electronic music and thought I need several bands for all these music directions. But once I realized I have to put it all in one to create a unique project. And it’s about me completely.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Me.
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Music is first most of times.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I like to do this at home alone.
Have you done any covers live? Yes. We got two cover songs by Animal Jazz and Alla Pugacheva.
What language do you sing in? English and Russian.
What ages are most of your concert attendants? 20-30 years old boys and girls.
What was your latest gig? We played about a week ago here in St. Petersburg.
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? We’re planning some gigs in December.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I don’t think somebody is still stealing music. It is much easier to use Spotify or Apple Music.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? Because of digital technologies and the Internet.
Do you have any role models or idols? I think musicians should searching for they own style.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Both
What advice would you give other bands or artists?
Try to do your project professionally.
Do you have any new material? We’re working in two directions. Songs with English and Russian lyrics. And a week ago we released a song and a music video in Russian.
What are your web sites? www.sputnik.band
How can people reach you? You can find our social media accounts links on our website www.sputnik.band

Kommentera här: