interview with Luis Wasques

Have any of you played in other bands? Yeah. I've played in a bunch of bands  since I started. Recently I quit a Hard Rock band called Superstitious. I recorded 2 albums with the band.
How is it that you started playing music? When I was fifteen I started to learn about playing the electric guitar, influenced by bands like Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Bon Jovi and Kiss. I had classes and stuff but at some point I realise that I actually could sing. I've practiced the singing by myself so as time passed by, it turned to be my main activity in any band or project.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? Nowadays I'm focused on my solo work. The project is called simply "Luis Wasques" and I write and play everything you can hear in the songs. I've released 2 albums so far. "Highest Mounts" (2006) and "Behind the Sun" (2008). 
Have you had other previous members? Not in this project. The closest to this are some guest musicians for "Behind the Sun". For the guitar solo of the title track I invited a very skilled brazilian guitar player, Rafael Nery. The guy did a great job.
Did you make music even when you were young? Oh, sure. Since I was fifteen I got plenty of ideas in my mind. It's a never ending flowing.
Where are you from? I'm from São Paulo - Brazil
What year did the band form? The zero mark is 2006, 'cause it's the debut album's year
What's your style of genre? Generally, it's a Heavy Metal style mixed with Hard Rock, always combining strong melodies and heavy guitar lines.
What inspires you? People, places, power of mind and pure heart
How often and where do you reherse? I'm always rehearsing in my personal studio. It happens like once or twice a week.
How have you developed since you started with the music? There was a lot of learning since the beginning. As the years go by, you start to pay attention in the details. Everything is so important. Since a drum cymbal until a keyboard chord, all sounds have the same importance for the successful of a song. Not only the guitars and vocals.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Music is my passion but If I could work as a Fórmula 1 driver, I would (LOL). 
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? Not at all. As the matter of fact, I don't think that this kind of support works as it should nowadays. We have to start to think about different and new ways to spread our music. I have a bunch of crazy ideas in mind. In the right time I want to develop it all.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I'm independent today. I'm not looking for a label like Indiana Jones did with the Lost Ark, but it's not a bad idea if it comes to happen. It would be awesome to have a major label supporting my work, but I'm not intending to delay anything because of that. In or out of a label, I'll keep releasing my albums and stuff.
What made you decide to make this music? The chance to translate my feelings somehow. I'm not a painter, nor a sculptor, but I found in the music a way to express myself.
What are your songs about? I've been writing about various themes. War, love, planet Earth, mind issues,  and even supernatural and other dimension themes, like there will be in the next album.
Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? Myself
Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Always with the music. You can live with a poor lyric in a great music, but the inverse is really a shame.
Do you compose in a certain inviroment? Not at all. Most of the songs come to life while I'm playing in the studio, but is not rare coming with a whole song idea in the middle of a car ride, shower, or anywhere else. Sometimes you just can't plan how things turn to real. Especially 'bout composition.
Have you done any covers live? Oh yeah. I'm also on a Iron Maiden tribute band called The Best Maiden Tribute BR. It's way too fun and it's the best way to keep playing live regularly.
What language do you sing in? English
What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? I'm not on solo gigs nor on a regular tour with my solo work. I have some ideas about presenting live and it will be an alternative way for now. You know, nowadays you can reach so much people online instead of gigging in the next little street pub. I know this is crazy, but I think we're on a turning point for minor artists, as the music industry changed a lot in the last years.
What was your first gig like? Terrible (LOL)
What was your latest gig? It was with the Maiden tribute, at the Falcões Motoclub in Sao Paulo. 10,000 crowd, it was incredible.
Where have you played live this year? Mainly in São Paulo - Brazil
How did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale?I have my 2 solo albums for sell, since their release.
Where can people buy your merchandise? Just ask at Luis Wasques official fan page on Facebook
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? There's no turning back for this situation. We have to learn with that. The stream music apps like Spotify and Weezer are essential for new artists. You simply have to be there. It's easier for the fan to find you there. They won't have to dig all over the internet for an illegal download of your album if it's found on this stream services. The regular album we grew up with is still cool, but nowadays is like a cult artifact, for hardcore fans. It's just that simple.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? There was a huge change, like no other in music history. All the industry is being forced to find new ways to sell music. It's not 'about the end of the industry, but it's 'about THE change.
What do you think of my work? Every single person that shows love by working with rock'n roll will have my eternal respect. You guys are the real saviors of us musicians somehow. Congrats for spreading the rock word.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? It will be very important as I'm talking to a new audience, especially 'because it's a different country from mine.
Do you have any role models or idols? Bruce Dickinson, Sammy Hagar, Bon Jovi, and lots of other legends
Why do you think that they exist? Because of the magic of their music made in the right moment at the right place.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Older bands give us the base of it all. They are the true teachers and references. The new active bands give us the hope, 'cause sure there's a way to make it through, even nowadays.
What have been your biggest obstacles? Poor rock scene in Brazil with lack of opportunities to play live. Since it's not the main music genre in my country, everything gets more difficult at all. 
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Always do what you really love, and don't ever quit creating. If you are true with your music, your audience will be true with you and that's priceless, no matter if you're rookie or master.
How do you get psyched for a gig? Positive thoughts and mind cleaning from outside problems.
Do you have any new material? I'm recording my new album at the moment. It will be released in 2018 and I'm very excited for this. The songs are really strong, and I just can't wait to show them to the fans.
What are your web sites?
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/luiswasquesofficial/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/luiswasques
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/luis-wasques
Site: https://luiswasques.blogspot.com.br
How can people reach you? You can leave a message in the my Facebook fan page
What are your plans for the future? More albums to keep spreading my music all around the world
Do you have something to add? Thank you Robex for the interview and congratulations for your work. It's really impressive. You can count on me anytime you want. I would like to thank my fans also, and say that everything is on the way. You guys just can wait a killer album next year! Keep on following me!

Kommentera här: