interview with Juan Jimenez

Have you played in other bands? Yes, I played in other bands before.
How is it that you started playing music? When i was young, i did not do well in school, so my parents opted to study something alternative to school and I decided on music, that's when the journey began.
What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? My name is Juan Ramon Jimenez Sierra, I Play the guitar and I'm 35 years old.
Did you make music even when you were young? Since I was 13 I'm making music.
Where are you from? I'm from Xalapa, Veracruz, Mexico
What's your style of genre? I play Rock, but I'm getting into Jazz
What inspires you? God, my wife, my son, the nature that God has given us.
How often and where do you reherse? I try to rehearse everyday if I can at home or whit a friend, but there are situations like work, family, trying to survive in this country makes things difficult I would love to dedicate myself full time  to music but for the moment it is impossible for me, i hope that one day i can achieve.
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? I do not rule out the idea of being run by an agency, only that if it comes to giving I would like theme to be really honest.
Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? I'm not really looking for a label, I do not fit in with their ideas, I prefer to do something that reflects who I really am.
What made you decide to make this music? The feeling of being able to transmit something to other people, that something that is not possible to say with a word, only with music.
Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? I always try to vary, depend the place
When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I don't start selling merchandise yet.
What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I'm old school I love to put a CD on the radio and listen to it, I still remember when I used the walkman to listen to the tapes down the street, but you have to modernize and adapt, I don't really like the idea of having to pay a monthly fee for listening to a large music library, I like to have my own as iTunes used to be before but in short, adapt is the word.
How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? now there are more possibilities to spread your work, we no longer depend on the labels, we as artist can record the album and upload it to the various streaming platforms and that's good.
What do you think of my work? it is quite interesting to take the time to interview several bands around the world, to know their way of seeing and making music, share it with those who started and so learn from each other.
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? It's good to learn from successes and mistakes to try to avoid them as much as possible, that they do not take us unaware of any situation that comes to us in  this great musical career.
Do you have any role models or idols? Of course, it's inconceivable for me to have no musical superheroes, from which we learn the way we play, even the way they perform on stage.
Why do you think that they exist? They transmit knowledge and we learn from each other.
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Of both, there are very good bands in yesterday and today is a matter of searching, they are there, near one
 
What have been your biggest obstacles? the one that in my country does not appreciate the artist as in other countries and is offered support to be able to study and develop his talent, achieving that each artist can live from his art.
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Do not give up, do everything with your heart, in the most honest way possible, the race just begins.
How can people reach you? By facebook, YouTube, Instagram and mail. 
What are your plans for the future? Record a disc, share my way of seeing and making music with others and be able to teach the people who come behind me.
Do you have something to add? Thanks for the interview, it was very entertaining, I hope you succeed in what you do.

Kommentera här: