interview with Paquidermos

Have any of you played in other bands? We all play in other bands, I think I'm the one who plays in the most bands, in fact today I share two projects with the guitarist, Nano Arauz and the keyboard player Diego Arauz, one is Paquidermos, and the other is with a pianist, composer and singer called Lucia Giles

How is it that you started playing music? I started, as it is said late, at 17 or 18, strangely wanting to play the guitar, but by a twist of fate I was a drummer, and I do not regret it at all. I hope you always liked the music, from a very young age.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

My name is César Garrido, I'm a drummer, and I'm 39 years old
Have you had other previous members? in our band Paquidermos, now a guitar player and two bassists, from the founding members we only stayed, Nano Arauz (guitarist and singer), and Diego Arauz (keyboardist and singer)

Did you make music even when you were young? I actually started late, as they say, at 17 or 18, but I always had a taste for music and art.
Where are you from? I was born in San Miguel de Tucuman, Tucuman, Argentina, but I moved to the city of La Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina to study music, where I currently live.

What year did the band form? Paquidermos, was formed in mid-2009

What's your style of genre? the style is Rock/Pop, a lot of rock, to be pop and a lot of pop to be rock.jajaja

What inspires you? I think what inspires me the most is to play with someone else, the fact of rehearsing and being in contact with other musicians, listening to them and listening to what happens when we play together. Also see other drummers, see and hear what they do and how they do it, also listen to my students grow as musicians.

How often and where do you reherse? luckily a few years ago we have our own rehearsal room and recording studio, we dedicate a lot of time, or at least everything we can to rehearse, if we can rehearse every day, if we can not, at least 3 times a week

How have you developed since you started with the music? My first steps were as a self-taught, then I started to study drums at the ESEA school in Tucuman, then I was given a scholarship to study the career of professional musician at EMU Educational Music, in La Plata, I got my degree and I also took classes with different drummers renowned from Argentina.

Do you have other interests of work outside the band? Yes, I also work as a market auditor.

Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that? The truth is that no, but I am open to any posivilidad that makes our music grow.

What made you decide to make this music? in reality these things are not decided, when you start playing with someone, the music expresses itself, it is the set of experiences of each one, mixed in a single band. I like many musical styles, and I do not fit into any, I do what I get to do.

What are your songs about? They deal with the experiences of lives, of all a little

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? most of the composition, and lyrics of our music is from Nano Arauz, our singer and guitarist, but we complete all the songs, with arrangements and contributions from each one

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? almost always with music, and the lyrics are the ultimate, or sometimes they go at the same time.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment? I think most of it is composed in our room / studio, but it can happen anywhere, when the inspiration requires it. jajaja

Have you done any covers live? with Paquidermos, from time to time we add some cover to the list of songs, but Pats of Paquidermos played together in a tribute to Pink Floyd, so yes, many covers live .. jajajaj

What language do you sing in? we sing in spanish from Argentina, not from spain..jajajaj

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs? the least, about 20 people, and our last show in a theater was about 400 people, if we count a festival that we participated last year, which I calculated was about 8,000 people.

What ages are most of your concert attendants? We have a very varied audience, I think we can count on people from 12 years old up to 40 or 50. We make music very listenable, so to speak.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? we have several lists of songs, according to the type of show that we are going to give, and it depends on if we are presenting a new album, as we are doing now with "CuatroDieciochoYMedio" (418 1/2) our last album

Do you have a regular place you play live often? The truth is that no, we are rotating from place to place, the idea is that we see new people.

What was your first gig like? I was 18 years old and it was with my first band, in the courtyard of my school.

What was your latest gig? last month with Lucia Giles and the band we formed with Nano Arauz and Diego Arauz

Have you had to cancel a gig? luckily until today, not in the only way that cancels a concert, is if the security conditions are not right

Where have you played live this year? well, late last year and the first part of the year I was on tour with Paquidermos, for some provinces of the country, and then from February on tour with Lucia Giles.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? next year, we have an invitation to travel to Colombia, Uruguay and Chile, to some festivals, and of course to continue filming in our country, and then to get fully into the studio to record our next record.

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? I think that since the first show of Paquidermos we sold T-shirts and some demos of the moment. Today we have two discs published professionally, in addition to the usual

Where can people buy your merchandise? for the moment only in our shows, but we plan to offer merchandise of the band online in a few months.

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I'm not against it, I think the music has to be shared, but if it's true that being so easy to get for free, it lost its value as a work of art, but if someone likes what you do, they can support you by making a donation or going to your shows

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? the industry is not the same as before, anyway I think that large corporations destroy the art and the artists, because the contracts that at least I could see, are unfavorable for the musicians, the profits really always take the big ones recordings in this case.

What do you think of my work? I think you should have more people like you, who gives voice to small projects and great musicians, which in this case like ours thousands of kilometers can see and hear our music, and know who we are and what we do with our art.

How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business? I think that anyone who can read this report and just listen to some of our songs or watch some video, and in this way make us known, for us is a great achievement and a step forward in our career as musicians. I think every grain of sand counts, who says that anyone who reads this, likes our music and is so interested in us, that it can open the doors to other countries with new people, new audiences, new experiences.

Do you have any role models or idols? I do not know if I'm an idol, but I like the work of many musicians, as instrumentalists or composers, I think today my greatest inspiration is Dave Grohl, both as a composer and as a musician who defends rock

Why do you think that they exist? simply, because they are people who love what they do and they are perceiberant, they do not rest from doing what they like, and they do not give up.

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? depends on the year you were born .. hahahaha, I do not know if it's easier, I just know that the beginnings of music were plagued by great musicians, and great bands, but for something subsist until today, but of course I think there very good new bands. Who inspires you more or less, depends on the taste of each one.

What have been your biggest obstacles? to overcome myself, to overcome the barrier of believing that you can not do what you love, and of course, the discontents of living in a country where it is very difficult to live from music

What advice would you give other bands or artists? I do not know if I can give advice to others, if I can tell them not to give up, to prepare, to study, to dedicate many hours of rehearsal, to be constructive critics of their music, to be respectful with your audience, to be better music for they will always thank you and not fall into the temptations of ego and fame, that's nothing compared to being happy doing music

How do you get psyched for a gig? a concert for me is like my birthday, hahaha, I prepare all day, I wake up early, I put my instrument to the point, I prepare all things, I notice that everything is correct and that I do not forget anything, I am happy all day , waiting for the moment of the show.

Do you have any new material? if we have our new album called "Cuatro Dieciocho y Medio" (418 1/2) that can be heard on Spotify searching for the user PAQUIDERMOS or on our Facebook page / Paquidermospaginaoficial and an official video on our YouTube channel of the song "Mundo Ampollado" "

What are your web sites? 

At this time our website is undergoing restructuring, but you can find us at www.facebook.com/PaquidermosPaginaOficial

How can people reach you? You can contact me on my personal facebook, which is www.facebook.com/GarridoCesar

What are your plans for the future? continue tirelessly making music, and trying to make us listen to as many people as possible, and take Paquidermos to another level, grow as musicians and as a band. Making music playing the drums is one of the best things that happened to me on the way, I hope to do it for many years more

Do you have something to add? I just want to thank you for giving us this opportunity, I really believe that what you do is super important, and that I nurture the world of under music. It is a pleasure to meet people like you. A big hug and part of all we make Paquidermos from Argentina.

 

Kommentera här: