interview with Vanquisher

Have any of you played in other bands?

Niord: I played in my first band Remnant Pile (together with Michael Hansen, who did our logo!) when I was 15/16 or so. It was some sort of death metal band where I was growling. After that, there was a melodic death metal band calledArchdemon that started up when I was 17/18, where I also did growls. I had a power metal band called Metallion around the same time, which was the first one I sang in. None of the bands really went so far, though, and were never so serious.

Heimdal: Two unknown bands: Ender and Cosmic Fruitsalad.

Horsa: Just one band. And I also played together with some friends when I was a kid.

Wulfhere: Played with a lot bands just for fun throughout the years. I still play in Cosmic Fruitsalad together with Heimdal besides Vanquisher.

Gorm: Vanquisher is the first band for me when it comes to being a full-time member. I’ve played in many unfinished projects and also as a stand in for my uncle’s garage band throughout the years since I was a kid.

How is it that you started playing music?

Niord: By now, I sing, growl, and play guitar. I started with growling, though. I started being in bands and making music because I wanted to express myself somehow. I was always a shy kid growing up, and felt that people didn’t try to understand or listen to me on the rare occasions that I tried to voice my opinion, which was very frustrating. So it was my way of forcing my voice to be heard, you could say.

Heimdal: My family used to listen to lots of rock bands. Mother had played instruments, and so some of my brothers also started playing instruments, which in the end led me to pursue guitar playing. I  started with bands such as Ramones, Nirvana, and Red Hot Chili Peppers. Ultimately, it took off for real when I discovered Megadeth, Death, and Behemoth.

Horsa: I started when I first found my father’s old guitar. I sat down and started playing and have continued playing ever since. My parents often listened to music and my father used to play when he was a teenager, so I grew up with music around me.

Wulfhere: I started playing music because I’ve always had music around me and always liked trying to create my own music.

Gorm: I started around the age of 6/7 thanks to my uncle Jörgen and quickly learned that drums is my weapon of choice. Playing Dio, Kiss and Rainbow covers alongside my uncle’s original songs made me the drummer I am today.

Do you have other interests outside the band?

Niord: I do powerlifting, which I try to keep up 3 times/week; I do artwork (most of our artwork is done by me); I also play guitar and practice my singing and growling outside of the band. I also spend time with my girlfriend, family, and friends, of course.

Heimdal: Video games, playing guitar, music, photography, board games, and spending time with friends.

Horsa: I listen to music, write music, play video games, and hang out with my friends.

Wulfhere: Cultivating chili, photography (mostly of nature), making food, and hanging out with family and friends.

Gorm: As of now, I only have time for work and the band, while trying to squeeze in family and friends amidst all the chaos.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?

The composition of songs vary. The songs on A Demonstration of Power were entirely composed by Heimdal & Niord, although they didn’t dictate the drum playing. Generally, the whole band is involved in the composition process to some extent, although different people lay down the groundwork for the songs. For example, Niord composed most of the rhythm guitars for “Battleborn”, “The Pride of Aquilonia”, and “Storming Venarium”. But Gorm and Heimdal composed the base for the song “Savage Sword”, and Horsa & Heimdal worked together to make the guitar parts for “Trapped on Shamu’s Plain”. So there’s really no ONE person who composes the songs. Vanquisher’s music is a team effort.

Niord writes the lyrics for the songs, although there are some small excerpts that Heimdal has come up with for some songs. Niord is the one who has read all the Conan literature by Robert E. Howard  and therefore handles most of the narrative work in Vanquisher.

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? The music comes first, then the lyrics. Although sometimes there is an idea regarding what the song is going to be about narrative-wise before the song is composed or during the writing process.

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? We try to vary the songs we play live. If we play at a place where we know there are a lot of hardcore heavy metal fans, then we will adjust and try to play more of the intense songs to allow for some headbanging or even moshing. But if we are playing for a softer crowd or one where we know not everyone is into heavy metal that much, we try to include the songs that we feel are the most catchy and might grab people’s attention - to win them over to the Savage Clan!

What have been your biggest obstacles?

Finding members was our first obstacle, among many. Niord, Heimdal, and Wulfhere continuously looked for another guitarist and a drummer for at least 2 years, while rehearsing every week to keep the muscle-memory for the songs up. That was a tiresome wait, because we just wanted to play live and show our music to people, but we couldn’t.

Another big obstacle has been the recording process. We have only been in contact with someone who was able to handle the recording process professionally as a producer when we got in contact with Cederick Forsberg (founder of Blazon Stone - check ‘em out!). Because of this, the single has been recorded two times (except for the drums. We got those right the first time). Since things were not done entirely right the first time, we had to scrap what we had done. Because of that, the single got delayed.

It’s easy to get pissed off about these things, but there has simply been so much bullshit happening to us that we are numb to it by now, hahah!

Kommentera här: