interview with Carl James Dunning

Have any of you played in other bands?

im 2 other bands at the moment

The Strange Folk and a cover band called The Dunes

How is it that you started playing music?

ive always listened to music from a very early age.

and it progressed from there really , getting a good few songs

down and then going out and playing them.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you?

my name is carl james dunning , i play acoustic , harmonica , and

write and sing the songs. and im 32 years of age.

Have you had other previous members?

i have 2 other guitraists ( jonny and bowie)

who play lead for me and a bass player called grm

Where are you from? im from England ( north yorkshire )

What's your style of genre?

i dont really class my music as any genre , people say

folk music , so im okay with that.

What inspires you ? 

people inspire me , and the things around me give me

the material i need to write songs.

How often and where do you reherse ? 

i rehearse pretty regular , at home or at backstreet studio

which is where my first album was produced.

How have you developed since you started with the music?

i think ive developed a lot since i started playing

especially my confidence.

i toured france last year and this really helped me. 

What made you decide to make this music?

i love music , and its something everyone can enjoy.

i make it because i enjoy it , its a passion. 

What are your songs about?

my  songs are about me , other people and anything i seee

or happens i tend to write about it.

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics?

i do that myself , i love the writing progress. start with nothing

and spiral into something.

Have you done any covers live? i tend to try stay with originals , but i have done covers , david bowie , bob dylan , ryan adams, tallest man on earth. 

What language do you sing in? i sing in english

What was your first gig like?

my first gig was scarey , they all there.

but eases with time.

Where do you plan to gig the comming year? im touring the south of france this year

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days?

i think records will always be best , but online downloading and streaming is what

is popular. the times change. 

Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today?

the older bands are the best for me without question , there are great new bands

not a scratch from the past.

What have been your biggest obstacles?

im not really a people person , so getting up and palying live

is always a tad scary for me. 

What advice would you give other bands or artists? try to be original as possible , and stick with it.

Do you have any new material?

i have a new EP coming out in the next few weeks

called Another Moon.

What are your web sites?  

www.facebook.com/carljamesdunning

instagram carl_james_dunning

twitter carl_james_d

spotify carl james dunning

youtube www.youtube.com/carljamesdunning

How can people reach you? there a links on my music pages for contact details email , etc

What are your plans for the future?

ive just finished writing my second album , i will be working on that. 

Thank you 

Kommentera här: