Interview with John Schayer

Have any of you played in other bands?

I’ve played with Bob Welch (Fleetwood Mac} Dallas Taylor “(Crosby Stills and Nash, Manasas, Billy Wyman) Sly Stone

Marc Druby:Drummer (Survivor)

Ken Khristian:Guitarist ( Bill Wyman, Joe Hicks, Sly Stone Bobby Womack)

Craig T Fall:Guitarist (Glenn Campbell, Roger Miller and The Beach Boys

David Carlson:Guitarist (Tasmania Devils)

Felicia Rey: Singer ( Various Gospel Groups and session singer)

How is it that you started playing music? I Started singing in the church choir. My family are actors and dancers. My great grandmother raised me while my mother was acting and touring. We would always have musicians or actors singing and dancing around the house late into the night. It was always fun and exciting hearing music being played in the house.

What are your names? / Who plays what? / How old are you? John Charles Schayer . I play guitar bass. Craig Fall plays guitar . Larry Carlson Guitar. Ken Khristian guitar. 
Have you had other previous members? Through the years, yes. 
Did you make music even when you were young? I would bang on the keyboard and dance and sing to the radio. I started late though, around age 20.

Where are you from? Born and raised in Los Angeles

What year did the band form? For this band it’s been happening this last year

What's your style of genre? I’m a rocker but I write all styles. The last two songs that were submitted to the Grammys were in the Americana style

What inspires you? Sometimes words that start coming or a cool progression

How often and where do you reherse? I play everyday and then go to various studios to rehearse

How have you developed since you started with the music? When I first started, it was writing words then trying to add the music. I must have written thousands of horrible lyrics and progressions before I finally felt that I’ve written something good.
Do you have other interests of work outside the band?
I love drawing but music is my thing
Are you looking for a booking agency, and what are your thoughts around that?
I would love to get hooked up with a solid Global Booking Agent 

Are you looking for a label, and what are your thoughts around that? Haven’t been searching for a label, have had offers but waiting for the right situation. Right now I’m independent

What made you decide to make this music? I feel like music choose me. There was never anything else 

What are your songs about? About love and Life

Who does the composing and writes the lyrics? I write the words and the music

Do you start with the music or the lyrics? Sometimes music and sometimes words. It comes when it comes.

Do you compose in a certain inviroment?
I work best getting up around 5 in the morning. 

It’s easier for me in the silence of the morning

Have you done any covers live? Yes more blusey type of songs 

What language do you sing in? English 

What are the least and most people to attend one of your gigs?
I played Sturgis for 4 days 250,000 people

Small Clubs with maybe a 100 people 
What ages are most of your concert attendants? All ages

Do you always play the same songs live, or do you vary? It varies sometimes with the feeling of the crowd

Do you have a regular place you play live often? There is a small club I like to Jam at in Los Angeles. Mostly touring musicians just getting out to play and get together outside of touring 
What was your first gig like? Very scary. Then soon I grew to love playing on stage

What was your latest gig? Great energy solid and fun at a club in Sonoma ! 

Have you had to cancel a gig? Never

Where have you played live this year? This year was spent on recording and Grammy work. I played mostly in small clubs in the Bay Area. The 1st is Monday 
Where do you plan to gig the comming year? USA possibly Europe wherever they want to book me

When did you start to sell merchandise, and what do you have for sale? Putting that together as we speak. 

Where can people buy your merchandise? Putting that all together for the coming year

What do you think about people downloading music instead of buying records now a days? I still love the sound of vinyl. Downloading is the wave of the future

How do you think the music industry have changed because of this? The biggest change is the numbers of artists within a global platform so it’s very very competitive 
What do you think of my work? I have a lot of admiration for people who are avid fans of music and people who are helping artists because of their love of music! 
How do you think and know that this interview will help you in the music business?
I don’t know if this will help me in the music business. I do know that I will reach people through you that I would have never have met. Thank you for that Robex 

Do you have any role models or idols? I’ve always love The Beatles,The Rolling Stones,Bob Dylan and the Motown Artist. Country songwriters have had a strong influence in writing words and melody.  
Why do you think that they exist? I don’t know but I’m glad that they do. 
Is it easier to find inspiration from older bands, or bands that are more active today? Yes there all a great Blue Print for learning

What have been your biggest obstacles? I guess you can say myself. I’m always changing words once there written. Trying to Paint a better, more clear picture
What advice would you give other bands or artists? Find people that groove with you and get your music. Then practice practice practice  and play out for people to get to know you 
How do you get psyched for a gig? Visualize your set before you start
Do you have any new material?
I have about 35 songs I need to record

What are your web sites? Www.johnschayer.com

How can people reach you? My manager [email protected] or [email protected] 

What are your plans for the future? Keep recording and writing new material. Playing live gigs in the US and Europe

Do you have something to add? Robex I want to thank you for this opportunity. I feel honored that your including me on your blog! 

Kommentera här: